02
Feb
09

Agonizing Sunday: Difficult long run but some goooood eatin’

dscn06122I had an agonizingly difficult long run on Sunday.  I really had to battle it out within my mind to get the job done.  At mile 2 my legs began to feel sore again so I had to go another 21 miles with the thought, “I can’t believe I have to go for so long on sore legs.  Man I have a ways to go!!”  That is par for the course though.  This is what long runs are for in the first place.  They get you out there to train your muscles AND mind.  These runs are supposed to mentally tax you a little.  I made it all 23 miles though and was happy to be finished.  I hit 23 miles at the end of my road that leads to my house and had a nice 1/2 mile walk home.

The week is over now and I want to put my intake and output on the blog today.  I ate all my daily points, all my 35 extra points, and all but about 20 or so of my activity points.  I earned 69 activity points all together for the week and 36 of those I earned yesterday during my long run.  So guess what that meant?  Goooood eatin’ for Sunday afternoon.  I went out to eat at the place that I will post about later this week.  I had the same thing and it was good.  I enjoyed it thoroughly.  Later on in the day I got a personal sized bag of the salt and pepper chips to share with my wife and pumpkin bread thing from Starbucks.  It was all pretty good but my stomach felt upset by the time I went to bed.  To much rich food I guess. 

On the grand scheme of things I did well this week again.  I should hopefully lose a litte on my weigh-in Tuesday.  I have not weighed for two weeks now so I am looking forward to seeing what happens.  I also may do a marathon this Sunday at this park that is about an hour away.  It is a laid back marathon with around 50 participants at the most.  They are usually pretty fun though.

Hear more about my agonizing long runs and weight loss blunders by subscribing HERE

12 Responses to “Agonizing Sunday: Difficult long run but some goooood eatin’”


  1. 1 robfitness
    February 2, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Hey Jason..
    Just wanted to say that I sent you an e-mail! Man I am so proud of you for this and all your accomplishments in life. Your are living proof that once you set your mind to it and with God’s strength you can overcome life’s struggles. Keep up the great work and be proud!

  2. 3 ladlam
    February 2, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    That’s a seriously long run Jason! I always find if my legs are a bit sore they complain for the first mile or so, then they get in the rhythm and don’t start to hurt again until towards the end of the run…
    I’m amazed that you’re still concentrating so hard on your weight too, considering how trim you look!

    • 4 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 2:47 pm

      Well thank you ladlam. Gotta keep the ‘ol lbs under control you know. I see like at any moment I could just go off and forget to come back for a year and then be 50 lbs heavier :). Thanks for your encouragement.

  3. February 2, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Wow. You are so awesome. How cool it must be to be able to decide to do a marathon on a whim!! You are a rockstar!!!

    • 6 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 2:56 pm

      Thanks Beadie. One of my running goals is to stay in shape enough to be able to run a “comfortably paced” marathon at any moment. Thanks for your encouragement.

  4. February 2, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Hey there :). Swinging by to get my blog fix. WOW! Lots to catch up on. One of these years I’d love to do a marathon.
    The pic of you in your 8th grade sweat shirt is pretty neat.
    There was something else, but I forget. I’ll have to come back again when I find my brain and remember what it was :).

    • 8 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 7:11 pm

      I bet you would do great in a marathon. Thanks for coming by to catch up. Sorry to put so much out there all at once an all, but I get excited sometimes and just post post post. HAHAHA:) Don’t forget to come back and tell me what you forgot.

  5. February 2, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Gotta love those long runs eh. I’m not near the level you are yet but I’ll get there. 😉 Just out of interest how long did it take you?

  6. February 4, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I’m back, but only to say I still don’t remember! It is officially gone from my brain. Post away :). I just have limited time with college and work so I might fall a little behind here and there. On lunch and hoping to get in a blog or two to catch up on again!


Leave a Reply

