02
Feb
09

Weight loss miracle: I’m wearing my 8th grade graduation shirt!!

Me wearing my 8th grade graduation shirt

My wife thought I should do a post with this picture of me in my 8th grade graduation sweatshirt.  That’s right, I am actually wearing a shirt that fit me about 20 years ago.

I like to put it on when I am feeling fat or bad about myself and my weight loss efforts.  It is good for us to have things like this that can remind us beyond any shadow of a doubt that we have accomplished a huge thing.  This shirt does that for me. It is amazing that I can wear this shirt.

What do you use?  Before and after pics are great too.  If you are just starting, take some.  I know that you don’t want to take any, but when you lose that weight and you feel like you look the same as you did before; those pics will come in handy.  We need concrete proof sometimes.  We have an uncanny ability to forget where we have come from.  This is one reason why I think I and so many others revert back to our old ways.  We don’t believe the changes that we have made, we think they are not real “for us”.  Even when you look at this blog, you might think that it is so real for me, but when I look at your blogs it seems more real for you and not so much for me.  That probably didn’t make sense.  Anyway, have a good day everyone.

Oh yeah, try and remember today how far you have come.  Whether it is 10 lbs., 50 lbs., 100 lbs., or 200 lbs., we have all made a difference in our lives.  For ourselves, for our families.

24 Responses to “Weight loss miracle: I’m wearing my 8th grade graduation shirt!!”


  1. February 2, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Jason, that’s awesome! You are so right about remembering how far we have come. It’s easy to forget that when we are in the middle of a breakdown. Great reminder for us all.

  2. February 2, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Wow. Yall must have been super cool to have a graduation sweatshirt…we didnt have those when I was a kid…smile (I am just a little older than you…) I have pants that I am shrinking into ~ have already reached my first goal of being able to wear the pants I wore just after my wedding two years ago ~ now…I am enjoying wearing them ~ and looking forward to them being too big and shrinking into the next pair I have saved from a few years ago. Keep posting, you are so helpful ~ thanks for all the time you put into your blog. smile, SAM

    • 4 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 5:54 am

      Thanks for your time to comment on my blog. I appreciate it. By the way, fantastic job on your trip. sounds like you just did perfect as far as staying on track with eating. Not easy on the road that is for sure. Keep up the good work.

  3. 5 lissa10279
    February 2, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Very cool!!

  4. February 2, 2009 at 7:23 am

    It really is a good thing to stop and reflect on how far we’ve come. Especially when our own refections in the mirror lie to us.
    🙂

  5. February 2, 2009 at 7:55 am

    I can so relate to you. Not about the 8th grade shirt because I don’t have anything left from then it was TOO long ago. However, I have my HUGE jeans and every once in awhile I put them on, just to realize the big difference! I have a photo of my oldest son standing in those jeans with me!(from a few years ago)
    Thanks for sharing more of your success!

    • 10 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 7:57 am

      Hey thanks Carrie. That is great that you have the jeans. It is so neat to have these things around at just the right time.

  6. February 2, 2009 at 8:19 am

    I have a dress that I wore when I was 17 and had a 23″ waist. I doubt I’ll ever get there, but I may get close, and it’s a good reminder for me that I wasn’t supposed to be fat. Also, yesterday I went through my closet and threw out all my “fat” clothes. Even sweaters that sort of still fit, but that I wore when I was at my heaviest (they stretch, dontchaknow? 😉 ) They remind me that I was fat and to wear them would make me think I still am fat. So I have them in bags ready to go to the charity truck this week. I also created a page on my blog where I put my before and after pics, and I printed out the pics that were life-changing for me – the impetus for me to start this journey – and I carry those in my purse.

    Doesn’t it feel fab when you can fit into something like that? I got into a smaller size of pants this weekend too!

    • 12 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 8:22 am

      It does feel great and you have done such a wonderful job Little Miss. keep up the great work. I also bagged up all of my clothes. i gave some to people at work and the rest to the good will. Thanks for you sharing

  7. 13 Teresa
    February 2, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Great post, Jason! I’m one who has a really hard time realizing the changes I’ve made on a daily basis. I still see the same person when I look in the mirror. My before and after pictures have helped me a lot on days when I’m feeling like I’ve made no progress. Another thing I like to do is what I call “closet shopping.” I have a closet full of various sizes that i haven’t been able to part with. Occasionally I will just spend an hour or so trying on all of the things in my closet that haven’t fit for a long time. Its a big boost when I find a few things that I couldn’t wear a few months ago and they fit! I’m sporting a coat that has been in my closet for 12 years, just waiting for me to lose some weight. The other side of that coin is that I need to be sure to get rid of my “fat” clothes when they no longer fit. I don’t ever want to go closet shopping and find that they fit again. 🙂

    • 14 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 8:34 am

      Good reverse way of looking at the closet shopping. Get the fat ones out so we never have to go “shopping’ for them again 🙂 I really enjoyed your comment and keep up the great work. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. February 2, 2009 at 8:35 am

    That’s awesome Jason! I’m looking forward to seeing those same changes for me. It’s hard to have patience when I want those drastic changes right now! But I’m trying to take time to celebrate the small victories this time around and I think documenting them in my blog is going to help me down the road. Thanks for sharing! Blessings…Jen

    • 16 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 8:43 am

      I am big on documentation. It is a big part of my job and I carry it over to other areas of life too. You are doing really really good and I am glad that you are trying to stay away from relying on drastic changes. It is so hard to do, but in the long run it is so much better.

  9. February 2, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Great Post jason! For the most part I don’t see a ton of changes yet. But it helps going and picking up that 30 LB weight every so often….and if I am lucky….every once in a while, like today, as I am running past the mirrored walls, I look up and see something like what might be the beginnings of a collar bone someday??? 🙂 And it is incredibly encouraging!

    Oh Snap!! I didn’t tell you I started running on teh track yesterday….2 mile run walks yestreday and today…run a lap, walk a lap…it was cool…I will be posting about it on my blog soon! Very cool story that involved eye contact soon to come:-)

    • 18 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 11:40 am

      Great job Kim. I ran this weekend too. I made sure to say hello to every single person. HAHA 🙂 Keep up the good work. It is funny who so many of us want to see collar bone or hip bone. HAHA

  10. February 2, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    What a great feeling! Congrats!

    A few months ago, I tried on a dress that I wore to my SIL’s wedding BEFORE children. It fit and I looked HOT! Now, I just need a reason to wear it again. Maybe I’ll go grocery shopping in it! LOL

  11. February 3, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I made a 20×20 poster out of the first three “before” pics on my website. I take it with me to WW whenever I’m celebrating a milestone, like the night I hit Goal. I also kept one pair of jeans and one top from my biggest size. It makes a big difference to me to have something tangible like that whenever I look down and see nothing but fat. Fat stomach, fat thighs. My husband says that I am still seeing what WAS, not what IS.

    • 22 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 11:24 am

      What WAS and not what IS. So very real right there. Good job on having the tangibles around for emergency body image help. Keep up the good work. THanks for your contribution and great ideas for things to keep us looking at the IS


Leave a Reply

