03
Feb
09

Stop cheating while losing weight once and for all!

cheaterGet rid of your cheating mindset once and for all.  You never have to cheat on your weight loss program again.  Let me explain to you how you can do it.  You might think I am crazy but this is a weight loss journey life saver and life changer.

So often we give up hope and feel guilty because we “cheat”.   In Webster’s dictionary, to cheat means to rob by deceit or to violate the rules dishonestly.  Stay with me here.  Lets say you are doing good on you weight loss program today, then you end up at the mini-mart and you just happen to buy and then eat a wonderful deep friend beef burrito.  Whoa, taboo food!  Not the best choice, but you walk out of the store, get in your car, open your weight watchers book to see how many points are in a deep fried beef burrito, and then you record it towards you daily allowance as you savour the last bite.  Was this “cheating”?  Did you deceive yourself, were you dishonest?  No you weren’t.

Here is one of the greatest secrets that I ever learned about the weight loss journey:  THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS CHEATING IF YOU COUNT IT!

The whole concept is just in our minds.  There is no way we can go forever not eating things we like.  We can’t tell ourselves that we don’t like these things.  We just have to practice moderation and count the points/calories when we do eat these “taboo foods”.  If our burrito takes almost all of our points for the day, we pay the price and eat veggies only for dinner or something.  We make the choice.  Here is a little bullet chart of what a “cheater” isn’t.  Hope you enjoy it.

You’re not cheating if:

  • You count it when you eat it, lick it, taste it, nibble it, etc.
  • Plan ahead to indulge.
  • If you realize that no foods are “illegal”.  When people ask you, “Can you have this/that?”  You tell them yes but that you are choosing not to today because……….
  • If you aren’t lying to yourself about how many points/calories it has.
  • You let yourself truly enjoy moderation in “ALL” foods.

I tell you guys, this truly changed my weight loss paradigm.  We never have to cheat again.  Doesn’t this just open up the whole world of weight loss and help us realize that this thing is livable, doable, attainable.  If we count it then we are not cheating.  If we don’t count it, we are only cheating ouselves.  Nobody around really cares that much so we don’t need to lie to ourselves(not that easy to do I don’t think).  Don’t let the “cheat” you did burden you down with guilt.  That will just start more unhealthy eating.

23 Responses to “Stop cheating while losing weight once and for all!”


  1. February 3, 2009 at 4:47 am

    I love it! You hit the nail on the head again, Jason. Have you contacted WW yet about becoming a leader yet????

    • 2 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 5:35 am

      No, it is just that with my current job there is no possible way I could do it. I would not even be able to get away to go to training. We work 6 days a week. It is mighty encouraging that you mention it though. I would love to have a job where I got to help people

  2. 3 CJ
    February 3, 2009 at 5:33 am

    thanks Jason, I needed this post, especially today. I have had two bad (but not so bad) days. I counted everything and am basically on veggies and water the rest of the week (exaggerated I guess), but I need to let it go, suffer the consequences and realize, I wrote it down, I did enjoy it, and move on.

    Great post!!

    • 4 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 5:36 am

      That is what the journey is all about. We make out choices and live with them. If we don’t like to live with them this time, we try and change it a little bit the next time. Great job on counting it all. 🙂

  3. February 3, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Amen! This “cheating” thing had a hold of me for a few years (at the beginning of my WW journey) and I’m so glad I’m free from it now!! It’s such a downer and added so much additional stress and turmoil to my life that i did not need.

    • 6 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 6:20 am

      It sure does seem to add a lot of craziness to an already fast roller coaster ride huh? 🙂 Thanks for your wonderful contribution.

  4. 7 Kim
    February 3, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Great post yet again Jason! I jsut recently turned down a challenge a friend put out there to not have any junk food until May because it made me obsess over all teh things I couldn’t have! He tried to tell me to flip it and look at all the new foods you are gonna get to try. I still declined. It doesn’t work for me that way yet! and making this all about the food and what I can’t have was NOT working for me at all! I like to think I can have anything I want and I jsut have to decide…is it worth it. I had chocolate yesterday…and it was good….and it was 200 calories! Yummy!!

    • 8 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 7:09 am

      You hit it right on. We can eat whatever we want, and if we are in this for the long haul, we have to be honest. And honestly, I can’t say that I will never eat junk food again. Duh!!! I like it. It is good. It is not bad for you in moderation. And I am going to dable in the things that are junky that I can dable in without going off the deep end. Some foods are problem foods for me. Those, when I eat them, I just get enough to eat and then not have anymore.

  5. February 3, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Heya, thanks for the comment on my blog and encouragement! I just posted a new one at the same time you were commenting saying I actually managed to lose a bit. Phew.

    I think getting rid of the cheating (and for me, sneaking) mentality has made all the difference in the world. I don’t feel compelled to binge on “forbidden” foods and then “start over.” It’s just a constant one foot in front of the other, being accountable thing now. Slow, but I’ll get there 🙂

    • 10 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 7:50 am

      Great job Alexia. What an awesome perspective to have. You will definitely make it to goal with a perspective like that. Keep up the good work and I am glad that you lost a little weight. That must feel nice.

  6. February 3, 2009 at 8:30 am

    I love this mentality and am slowly adapting it to my own lifestyle. We only live once, and why deprive ourselves of things we enjoy? Instead of eliminating it from our diet altogether, it’s worth it to try to change the way we feel about those “forbidden” foods and find a way to enjoy them. We can’t change our current culture and environment, and most of the socializing we do includes food and drinks. Finding a healthy balance is hard work, but the payoff is worth the struggle.

    • 12 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 8:32 am

      I totally agree with you Kristen. It is kind of like giving up but growing at the same time. Like, “Let’s face it. We are going to eat this stuff. We let it ruin our weight loss program all together. We can eat it moderately and grow emotionally at the same time” 🙂

  7. February 3, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Another great point. Just factor whatever you want to eat into your plan.

    • 14 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 8:50 am

      Short and concise. You always get right to the point my man! 🙂 Good comment, “Just factor whatever you want to eat into your plan.”

  8. February 3, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Good perspective. I am going to remember this and implement it. Thanks for the insight!

  9. 17 donna
    February 3, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Hey Jason you need to write a book seriously,that is something I never thought about doing or even that I could do.You know it has always been well you cant eat that because of the calories or fat or its just not considered on your diet and its taboo.I love this theory because it makes me think I am just like everyone else thats eating whatever they desire,only I have to be accountable for what I eat and just be sure and count it.Its going to take some work on my brain to make me understand that I am not cheating.Its ok.Thank you so much for this insight as usual.

    • 18 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 10:17 am

      Writting a book, interestingly enough, is something that I have wanted to do since I was in sixth grade. But as time and grown up world has taken over, I have left that dream behind. Maybe I should once again think about this dream. Thanks for your encouragement and I am glad that this post could help you move on towards happier health that is less filled with guilt and self beatings. 🙂

  10. 19 lissa10279
    February 3, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Great post, Jason. I think the problem for so many of us is how some foods are stigmaized as “good” or “bad” so when we eat something a-typical of us, we feel “bad” about it. But it’s just food!

    Like I LOVE cheesecake … but unlike before where I’d eat a slice … now I can make a slice (like from the Cheesecake Factory) last 4-5 days … it’s just about moderation, not banning.

    Great insight — no cheating!! 🙂

    • 20 run4change
      February 3, 2009 at 8:57 pm

      Thank you lissa, I appreciate your contribution. It is so true that we stigmatize food. That is on the extreme side that lends itself to unhealthyness it seams. Thanks again for stopping by.

  11. February 6, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    This post inspired me to stop cheating. Do you sometimes find you are too awesome? Like so awesome it is tiring? I find you to be that awesome.

    Even when I don’t post replies I am reading your blog every day at lunch at work. Thanks for your persistance and constancy.

    • 22 run4change
      February 6, 2009 at 4:10 pm

      p4, you are awesome too. I am so happy to hear that you are reading the blog. I think you are totally great. You keep it up my fiesty friend. I must go to sleep now because I am so awesome that I am sleepy. HAHAHA :):):):)


Leave a Reply

