04
Feb
09

One more thing that got me down

the-biggest-loserI watched the show last night.  After my weigh-in I sat there and pigged out on these bready chip things and watched the show.  I was feeling like poop from my gain.  Yes, I ate because I was mad about it and I gave in to the thought that I will start tomorrow.  I probably didn’t even gain because I was doing bad but who knows.  During the show there was a point where a sister who was at home weighed in and lost only 2 lbs.  She started talking about gaining muscle, being stronger, working hard, etc.  The trainers blasted her for making excuses.  They basically went on to say that it was bull s… that she was saying that stuff because 2 lbs is 2 lbs and that is all the fat that she lost.  Nothing else.

Well, this really crushed me in a way.  At this point I was trying to tell myself that I had retained water because I usually don’t lose ever when I have a long hard run.  I had my own thoughts on why I gained even though I was doing everything right.  So this comment by the trainers really hurt my feelings or hit home.  Not sure exactly which one.  Maybe I am just making excuses and maybe I am really not doing my program very well.  Maybe not.  Oh well.  BYE BYE NOW.

36 Responses to “One more thing that got me down”


  1. 1 CJ
    February 4, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I am sorry you are down a bit. I know the feeling. I watched biggest loser last night too, only I took away from it a little bit different side. Sorry. I just felt like if we have a gain, we should own it, no matter how we got it. We usually know why and our disappointment is in ourselves because we know all the excuses in the world come down to our own actions and our own bodies. I, in now way, am an expert, because obviously I haven’t lost all my weight. But, in my post today, basically I said “Own it”. Its yours, choose to either accept it or to do something about it.

    I am not NOT in no way being lecturing, just sharing an opinion. It hit me hard last night too, because I tend to use excuses. But, after seeing Joelle and then Carla, I decided I refuse to be Joelle and not see what I am doing to myself and everyone around me. (Not saying that’s what you do or are doing at all!)

    Thanks for letting me share my opinion! I love your blog and enjoy sharing in your ups and downs!

    • 2 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 11:52 am

      Thanks very much. I do not take your opinion as offensive what so ever, just so you know. I appreciate it and I will take it to heart. I am “owning” it as I am going to search a little deeper into what I am eating and such. Thanks

  2. February 4, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I watched it too, and for her, she needed that kick. She was making excuses, but in her case two pounds was two pounds. They were also compassionate later understanding that she has 5 kids and it is hard. They worked with her to help her put herself first – something I am all to familiar with not doing until now. So I could relate.

    Anytime I have a gain, I can usually attribute it directly to my eating and lack of being accountable. I am *not* saying this is true for you – just what is true for me. Although, being female, there are times a random +2.4 pops up on the scale and just as rapidly dissapears, if you know what I mean. Every other time, when my weight loss slows, I’m not eating right – too much carbs, not enough veggies and salad and lean meat.

    I also liked that they put things in perspective for the one who had a 12 pound loss in a month – that is a HUGE loss. The numbers they drop at BL are so unrealistic, really. Like Jillian said, it is the Olympics of weight loss.

    You will do fine. It sounds to me like you are still fine tuning the maintenance skills and figuring out what works for you and your body and what doesn’t.

    • 4 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 11:54 am

      I am really trying to look at it the way you said it, “You will do fine. It sounds to me like you are still fine tuning the maintenance skills and figuring out what works for you and your body and what doesn’t.” Just doing some fine tuning. But as I always say, it doesn’t make it that much easier to see the gain. I will be fine and move on in victory. THanks so much for your wonderful words.

  3. February 4, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    This is why I don’t watch TBL.
    It is so unrealistic. I would be absolutely thrilled over the moon to lose 2 pounds. Even in a month!

    Have you read the article about why the scale lies? It’s very good, and helps you remember that weight loss is not linear.
    http://primusweb.com/fitnesspartner/library/weight/scale.htm

    • 6 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 1:14 pm

      Thanks Lori. I love the show and I do realize that it is not realistic. I also don’t want to lose like they do nor did I lose like them while I was losing. I appreciate your support and it is nice to hear from you. I will check out the site. Thanks again

  4. February 4, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    You know, this is one of the reasons I don’t watch Biggest Loser. It is also very unrealistic to think that regular people can lose weight at that rate. We don’t live in that kind of a bubble. Take the show for what it is – entertainment – and leave it at that.

  5. 9 robfitness
    February 4, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    No Bye Bye now… Get your butt back here brother 🙂 You know I truly understand all that you are going through. It’s tough when you gain some weight, especially if you think that you have done everything right. I agree with other and it’s nice to see that you do “own” the gain. That’s what I finally had to do with the huge gain that I made. It was all my fault and I only had myself to blame. Just know that it will be OK and as we progress further and further into our journey our eating habits will always need to be tweaked in a bit. What worked for you a couple months ago, just might not be what your body needs this month. So please stop being hard on yourself. I have all the faith and confidence in you that you will turn this gain into something a lot more positive.
    On another note and this is from my trainer as well. You did say that you drink some diet soda right. first of all that does contain a lot of sodium and maybe if you cut that out of your plan you’ll body will then continue to lose more. I cut that out of my diet at one point and ended up losing 15 pounds that month. Then once I went back at it and started drinking I gained back 10 of those pounds. Now this isn’t from my latest gain, this did happen several months ago. Just a thought man and just trying to be a helpful friend as well.

    • 10 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      I thought of the diet soda thing. i was considering letting it go, but sooooooooooooo hard it will be. Haven’t had any today though. 🙂

  6. 11 robfitness
    February 4, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I agree it is soooooooooooooooooooooooo hard man, but I know you have the strength to do it. Great job in not having any today. See you can do it 🙂 I just get tired of water, water and water, but I do add in some nice flavorful green tea in the mix, but oh how I miss the flavor of my Diet Mt. Dew.

  7. February 4, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Am I wierd…?? I didn’t eat lunch today…so now I am eating dinner before spin class…where I will burn about 1200 calories..but I am gonna attempt 2 back to back classes….so I prepareed a 2nd dinner to take with me and eat while watching lost tongiht with friends….I think with all my exercise today I might be burning almost 3000 calories cuz I also did Pilates and ran/walked 1 mile! Here is teh wierd part..I am excited…I get 2 dinners!! LOL not really…but it feels like it!

  8. February 4, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    I’m sorry you’re feeling down, but that’s part of the journey and we need to learn to handle it without pigging out…tomorrow is another day, and hopefully you’ll feel better to tackle it. I know that nothing helps when you’re feeling like this way, but we’re here for you. About the biggest loser, sometimes people need a kick in the butt in order to move on to the next level.

    • 16 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 3:19 pm

      I am over it now. I am not feeling to bad and I have a plan of action. The plan does not include piging out so that is a victory right there. Looki that, I am already winning. 🙂

  9. 17 CJ
    February 4, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Glad to hear you are “over it”. You have done so well, and days like these are to be expected. It may just be your body re-adjusting or re-setting. You know more than any of us that its what you choose to do now, right? You are already winning, like you said! No one says we can have a down day now and again!!! You are human, aren’t you??? Don’t tell me you’re superman!! LOL Maybe you are! Look how much weight you’ve lost afterall!

    • 18 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 4:07 pm

      How so very kind of you. And nope, not superman. HAHAHAHA:) Just a regular guy who struggles like everyone else. I am moving on now and it will be fun!!

  10. February 4, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    First off.. I have to say that the gal that lost 2 lbs lost two pounds. It’s not a bad thing. IN the matter of fact in the scheme of weight loss it is VERY normal to lose 1/2 lb a week! There is nothing wrong with that, I say good for her!
    I do agree that we shouldn’t make excuses, however I talked to two trainers at the gym today, one of which did my body fat composition the old fashioned way with the calipers, it was almost 4% lower than what the charts say and even the trainer was amazed with those results and said looking at me she would have never known that I was so toned under my layers of extra skin(which I also don’t freely expose especially at the gym) so I am not sure that what was said is entirely accurate.
    I was told by a doc I used to have that only 50% of every pound I lose is actually fat, the other half is lean muscle, hence why it is so important to exercise and build muscle as we lose to maintain what we have. This would explain why when we lose and then gain, we become bigger at the same weight…. something to ponder on anywhow!
    hang in there somedays are hard.. Don’t beat yourself up.. if you weigh yourself 5 times throughout the day you will see about a 5 lb difference between the times. It’s normal… we have to account for some of that!
    No excuses.. get back on plan and don’t look back…

    • 20 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 4:29 pm

      Awesome comment Carrie. THank you very much. I am back on plan and not looking back. For sure for sure for sure. Who knows why I gained, but I did find some little things that I could fine tune to make the program better. Thanks for your support

  11. 21 mkh
    February 4, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Bummer about the weight gain, but try to keep it in perspective and not obsess over it. It’s just temporary! Beware of overtraining, too–you are now an elite athlete and do a fairly extraordinary amount of exercise. That’s awesome, but overtraining is real and can be very detrimental to your physical and emotional health. You’ve had such an amazing journey and inspire and motivate so many people; remember to be proud of yourself no matter what the scale says.
    A famous Buddhist axiom, which I never really figured out until I made goal and WW lifetime (and now I’m back starting over):
    Before enlightenment, chop wood and carry water. After enlightenment, chop wood and carry water.
    Just count your points, eat enough of your APs, and don’t beat yourself up. Cheers!

    • 22 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 7:16 pm

      Very informative comment. I liked it a lot. I am aware of overtraining and it’s dangers. This is a big reason that i stopped training the way I used to. THanks a lot for your encouragement.

  12. February 4, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    Sorry you are feeling bummed. I know the feeling. I started working out, and gained 4 pounds. I didn’t change my eating, and I didn’t expect to loose wieght, but I sure didn’t expect to gain it either.

    http://akhomeschoolfun.wordpress.com/ pointed me at your blog. I’m starting to train for a 5K, using the couch to 5K program. She said you might have some pointers. I’ll look around your blog and be inspired. You can check me out at http://manysmallchanges.blogspot.com.

    Best of luck!

    • 24 run4change
      February 4, 2009 at 8:08 pm

      Welcome to run4change manysmalls 🙂 So nice to have you. Thanks for your comment. Feel free to use the contact form to ask any type of question you may be curious about. It is no problem at all. Couch to 5K is awesome and you will do great using it. I would be happy to give you any pointers that I can. See you soon 🙂

  13. 25 Shannon
    February 4, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Oh Jason I feel for you! I had a gain and then stayed the same for 3 weeks! I then reevaluated what I was eating in regards to my exercise. I had increased my mileage and added some strength training. I then decided to start adding in more calories and bam lost 5 pounds the next weigh in. I know it is frustrating and am glad you share your ups and downs. It doesn’t make me feel so alone in my own struggles!!
    Next week is a new and fresh week! Look forward and not back! I am trying that in the new year, you know the mind over matter technique!! LOL Have a good week!

    • 26 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 4:56 am

      Shannon, I will be eating more of the right foods now. I am pretty sure that I was eating enough, especially looking back and seeing my “fudgy” areas. Thanks for your support and have a good Thursday

  14. February 4, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Everyone knows The Biggest Loser is not about health.

    • 28 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 4:59 am

      HAHA. It is an interesting show for sure. It definitely is not a realistic scenario, but it is entertaining and some of them do keep it off and change forever. SO FAR 🙂

  15. February 5, 2009 at 5:12 am

    I’m not ignoring you. Just super busy. Take care, Melissa

    • 30 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 5:14 am

      Wonderful to hear from you. I was getting worried that I got you mad or something. Great to know that is not true. Thanks for keeping in touch and have fun teaching. 🙂

  16. 31 Angela
    February 5, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I am a drama queen. Always have been. TBL is high drama for ratings. I love to watch Jillian scream at people because it’s entertaining for me, and that’s the kind of trainer I need sometimes. But other times, I need the sensitive, teary eyed Bob. It’s too bad they can’t sense our daily battles and customize TBL to our needs. (hmmmm, a new kind of TiVo?) Anyway, I find it very interesting that just a few days ago I resigned myself to stop putting so much emphasis on the number on the scale. Yet this week I lost more than I did in the entire month of January. You taught me that this journey is about wellness, and that at any size we can acheive our goal. You’re not a number. You’re a healthy young man. You inspire me every single day!

    • 32 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 6:56 am

      Blessed I am to have you Angela coming here and pouring out the encouragement. Thanks much. Yo quiero agradecerte por to obra en me vida. (I just wanted to tell you I appreciate your help in my life) HAHAHAHAHAHA 🙂

  17. 33 Angela
    February 5, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Wow, I don’t even know what to say to that. Mostly because it doesn’t make any sense! tee hee….Vaya bien!

  18. February 5, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    From reading blogs this week has been blah for a lot of us, me included, so you’re definitely not alone. I guess we all need to buckle down and get back on track again. No more excuses. We all know what to do, so let’s just do it! Here’s to a better week to come.


Leave a Reply

