05
Feb
09

Do you ever fudge? Read this to see why I gained weight!

peanut-butter-fudgeThe cat is out of the bag.  I confessed it to my sister already so now it is your turn.  Lucky you huh!!  You may laugh, you may cry, you may say “Crap!!  I do that too!!”  So due to my weight gain at the last WI, I did some searching and recollecting on my food intake.  Oh yeah, I found a few little big fudges that I constantly do.  Not sure if they made me gain but they sure could have.

On this blog and on the WW boards, many many people recommended that I eat more.  But through my research into my gain I learned that eating more may not be the “final” answer.  I wondered if I should eat more but I also found out that I was eating more than I was documenting.  Thus the “FUDGE”.  The truth is that I am not sure how much I was eating but I am sure that I was eating more than I was counting.  I also found out from some very wonderful links and equations that I may have been over stating the number of points I was getting for exercise.  Not that I did this on purpose, but the WW online is a bit general in these activity calculations for running so I learned more accurate ways to do it.  I realized on this that I was not getting as many AP’s as I thought.  Read on to find out how I was fudging the heck out of things. HAHAHA

  • Non-dairy creamer-  I drink a lot of coffee.  I have always counted my coffee as two points for as long as I can remember.  I always knew on the inside that it was more though.  One table spoon of non-dairy creamer is one point.  I just do a free pour into my giant coffee cup. coffee cup I estimate that I put at least a 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of the creamer in.  That is anywhere from 2-8 points a day that I was not counting.  It doesn’t stop there though.  I drank that for the first half of my drive to work and then stopped at Circle K to fill up again.  There I filled up, added some international delights french vanilla creamer and more non-dairy.  This could be an additional 3-10 points a day not counted. This “fudge” category alone could have given me anywhere from 35-105 points per week that I did not count or 2100-6300 calories.
  • Olive oil-  This is another thing that I never counted from the beginning of WW.  Well, sometimes I did count it, and I always lost weight when I did.  Olive oil packs a lot of points/cals.  This could have added up to 21-49 points per week that I was not counting or 2100-4900 calories.
  • Bites, nibbles, and tastes-  Of course there are always this little bites that I take that I never count.  I don’t even know where to start as far as estimating the impact of these.  But I do know that they have an impact on my intake.
  • Exercise points–  My long run gave me 36 points using the WW calculator using the jogging category.  After using the Runner’s world equation for calculating calories burned during a run or walk, I realized that this was way off.  The new calculation gave me 27 points.  That is a big difference but the new way is more accurate.

So with the “fudgy” foods combined with the inaccurate activity tracking, I could have been eating more than I was expending.  Lets take the highs for an example.

6300 (creamers) + 4900 (olive oil) + 1000 (bites)= 12,200 calories.

I burned around 5000 calories last week exercising.  That is 50 point worth.  I ate all my daily points, all my 35 points anf 50 of my activity points.  So instead of having 20-30 activity points left over, I could have actually eaten all of my activity points not counting my “fudgies” which would have put me possible 12,000 calories in the plus.  If there is 3500 calories per pound of fat this would have put me at a 3.428 lb gain. 

I guess I found out my problem huh?

32 Responses to “Do you ever fudge? Read this to see why I gained weight!”


  1. February 5, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Raising hand and waving it around wildly over here. I’m not on WW, but I have my own food plan, which is sort of similar to mid 1980s WW. At first I was really good about weighing and measuring things and sticking to it to a “T.” But I’m finding that as my typical blood glucose levels have gotten into the range I want to be, my tendency to “fudge” has gone up, and I’ve been bobbing around at the same weight for the past few weeks. Oh, I do write 95% of everything down. (The 5% exceptions are occasions, like this past weekend when our friend came over and we started munching on the cheese and sausages, I end up guesstimating.) I know that when I don’t weigh and measure regularly, though, I experience “portion creep.”

    I’d say that coffee creamer, sugar free candies, and nuts are my biggest “fudges” lately. One thing I did before, and am going to start doing again, is use my spare coffee scoop to measure creamer. One of those *is* 1/4 cup, but what I do is fill it 1/4-1/2 way up with my creamer (which is 1-2 Tbsp.) and then the rest of the way with unsweetened almond milk (which is only 40 calories for an entire cup). (The almond milk give is a nice flavor.) Maybe I need to start “training” myself to take my coffee without anything in it. Or go back to my habit of switching to tea after that first cup of coffee.

  2. February 5, 2009 at 10:03 am

    One word – really??? Bravo – you really did go through all that to find out your gain. Good for you. Wow, you are quite the investigator. I think this is a common mistake for a lot of us – overestimating activity points and underestimating food points. I know I’ve fudged many times before!

  3. February 5, 2009 at 10:15 am

    those little things add up fast! I went through a phase after I hit lifetime where I stopped being so careful about the little things, and it definitely backfired!

    It’s taken me 3 years to get back to maintaining on a regular basis.

  4. February 5, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Jason, I echo the other sentiments and congratulate you for figuring it out. You are not alone or unique. I do the same thing. Weeks where I’ve had a gain, I had to go back and look at my tracking, and it’s usually that I wasn’t tracking well, or fudging as you put it. I slack off because I get tired. I don’t count *everything* and then my weight loss slows or reverses. I think it slows because I don’t eat my activity or weekly points. That gives me the fudge room so I can relax and not count the creamer. I use CoffeeMate Original and probably use about 1/4 cup a day. I guess that gets absorbed by the fudge room I leave with not eating my weekly points.

    When I first started WW I used this analogy: If I don’t keep track of my spending – ATM withdrawals or purchases, checks written – I inevitably forget something and whoa! I’m overdrawn. That hurts. So I have to do the same thing with my eating. I have to keep track of everything or whoa! I’ve gained. And that hurts far worse than a $35 overdrawn check charge.

    Ha! I just thought of another analogy. Take that “fudge” and slap it on my hips. That’s where it will go and what will happen when I don’t track!

    Thank you for reminding me to go online and track my food this week!

  5. February 5, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Good for you for figuring it out!!!

    Knowing this puts you back in control of your weight gain and loss.

    Knowledge is power in everything.

  6. 11 maggieapril
    February 5, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Good thing I read the whole post. I was thinking, “Fudge?! No wonder he gained weight if he’s eating fudge all the time!” (The picture distracted me – I bet that’s peanut butter fudge – yum!)

    I haven’t tried Almond Breeze before but I do see it mentioned a lot. Let us know if you do give it a try.

  7. February 5, 2009 at 11:39 am

    That danged coffee creamer! I’ve thought the same thing as Pubsgal about maybe just giving it up but haven’t made it there yet but gosh at 2tbsp per cup X 3 cups per day for me that adds up. And that’s a lot of food I can eat instead. Ugh. So yah I can see how the cursed coffee creamer played a part in biting ya. Although her idea of replacing a cup or 2 with tea might be something I can do…. hmmm.

    Anyways I think you did some great honest, investigative work. I think it makes total sense. I can’t wait to hear what next week brings for ya.

    Onward!

    • 14 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 11:48 am

      Thanks a lot. I think I may try the tea thing too. Not sure exactly how I am going to do this one for the long term

  8. February 5, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Almond milk is popping up all over the place now; look for it in your grocery store, where they stock the soy and rice milks. (If your regular grocery store doesn’t carry it, check a place like Whole Foods or other health food store.) I’ve only tried the unsweetened varieties; I like the vanilla but the chocolate is not chocolatey enough for my palate. It’s a little watery on its own for coffee use, but it supplements creamers quite nicely.

  9. February 5, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Oh, and for those going the tea route, I recommend finding a flavored one you like. I’m partial to Good Earth original (it helps when I have a sugar craving-tastes sweet but no sugar). But there are so many tasty ones out there. I like peppermint tea, too.

  10. 19 donna
    February 5, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    They have almond milk at trader joes,do you have a tj’s where you live?.I dont like coffee but I like the almond milk cause its tasty and has very little cals.Hey Jason dont put any more of those fudge pictures up,that is just so cruel!

    • 20 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 8:14 pm

      I got your comment over my blackberry while I was eating sushi. Trader Joes was right next door. I bought some and I am have some right now as I do this reply. Thanks Donna, it is yummy

  11. 21 donna
    February 5, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Double trouble,ha,ha.

  12. 22 athleticme
    February 5, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I’m the queen of the “BLT” so I know all about “fudging” and not counting a lot of things. That is part of the reason why I am sometimes so resistant to logging my food. When I log it, I realize how much I am really eating and then I can’t get away with those tasty little extras that I try to convince myself don’t matter. Good post and a good reminder for me that I need to be a bit more vigilant about writing everything down.–Teresa

    PS–where can I get some of that fudge in the picture? Looks mighty good!

    • 23 run4change
      February 6, 2009 at 6:03 am

      THe “BLT” is a tuff one to deal with I agree. Keep up your good work. That fudge does look yummy doesn’t it

  13. 24 Angela
    February 6, 2009 at 6:51 am

    You said “fudgy foods!” ha ha ha! Ahhh love the sense of humor. I am a number crunching geeky type, so this post was one of my all time favorites. I love to see the numbers, because that shows me in a practical way just why it is that I lost/gained. This is such a great peek into the ways we lie to ourselves. Have you considered switching to powdered Coffee Mate? A full tablespoon is 1/2 point. I made that switch and it helps, because I use an actual tablespoon to add it to my coffee. Even with 2 full tbsp the whole cup is 1 point. I add Splenda and like it quite well. Oh, and you can buy almond milk at Trader Joe’s, highly recommend the chocolate. Mmmmmm!

    • 25 run4change
      February 6, 2009 at 6:56 am

      Got the milk, Vanilla, and it is faaaaaaaaaaaaaaabulous. HAHAHA 🙂 I use the powdered kind and always have. I like it best for some reason. I just keep pouring and pouring and pouring and pouring and pourning and pouring and pouring. I considered inventing a robot to pour it for me so I could take a shower will it was adding creamer to my coffee. HAHA that is how much I used. 🙂

  14. February 6, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Thank you SO MUCH for posting this. It helped me put this week’s ww gain in perspective.

    • 27 run4change
      February 6, 2009 at 9:31 am

      You’re welcome fit. These things happen and our journey is an ever changing one at that. Thanks for your support and commenting on my blog

  15. 28 ladyc0005
    February 6, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    This was a great post. I know I don’t always count when I taste food as I cook, don’t always measure my olive oil and try to eye ball it. I tend not to log my points when I go overboard when in fact that’s exactly when I should be doing it! The link to the calories burned was also great. Thanks again – this helped to get back on track.
    Cheryl

    • 29 run4change
      February 6, 2009 at 10:26 pm

      THanks Ladyc, it is so common and most of us if not all of us do this. Thanks for sharing and you are doing a great job. Keep on keepin’ on

  16. 30 lissa10279
    February 9, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Eye opening isn’t it?! :)You’re still doing amazing. And BLTs (bites/licks/tastes) are tough … but necessary to count 🙂

    • 31 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 6:55 pm

      THanks. BLT’s. I was pretty sure that’s what it meant but not 100% sure. HAHAHAHA Glad you cleared that one up once and for all. 🙂


Leave a Reply

