05
Feb
09

Feeling better, here is my plan to move forward.

Caped MaxI know I was feelin’ pretty bad yesterday, but it is a new day today.  I got through yesterday without going off my program and I did very well with my food and exercise.  I did a 6 mile run at 8:50’s and it felt really good.  Legs a bit tired but it was a nice run on a nice day.  I had a healthy dinner and finished off the night well.  If you want to find out what I am going to do in order to move forward, keep reading.

Here is how I have modified my actions to get better results based on all of your advice and support.

  • I changed my points intake to the maintenance level.  So that moved me from 31 daily points to 35 points.
  • I am now calculating my calories burned during running using the new equations for more accuracy and dividing these calories by 100 to get my points burned.  I will do this until I get a heart rate monitor strap for my watch (maybe on Saturday)
  • I have decided to eat all of my extra 35 points using up 5 points per day all week.  I will not be eating any activity point right now until I get a baseline to go off of.  This will give my exactly what calorie deficit that I am at when I go to weigh in.
  • As my friend Robfitness recommended, I am going to cut back on the diet soda if not cut it out all together.
  • I am no longer going to be using the non-dairy creamer on a regular basis and when I do use it I am going to measure it.  Same goes with olive oil.

There you have it.  I will keep you posted on how things go.  See ya later

18 Responses to “Feeling better, here is my plan to move forward.”


  1. February 5, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Sounds like a good, reasonable plan!

  2. 3 robfitness
    February 5, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Sounds like a very good plan you have set up there my friend. Very realistic and manageable. I know you can do this ans well as you know yourself. Thanks for mentioning me as well. I think the diet soda thing will make a difference. It will be missed but like all things you tackle it right on and before you know it you won’t even miss it.
    Thanks for your advice as well. I will give Cyndee an chance. It’s the only fair thing to do. Who knows I might even do better than I have ever done before.
    Keep up the great job and as always have an awesome day. By the way that’s a pretty good time for the run if you ask me. 🙂

    • 4 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 1:00 pm

      THat time is huge for me. Superman speed HAHAHA 🙂 Thanks Rob. You are going to rock with the new girl She will kick your butt just right I bet. I was just thinking of you because I was fidling for change in my pocket to buy a diet coke. I have not done it YET 🙂

  3. 5 ladlam
    February 5, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    All great changes Jason! I hope you see some good benefits from these tweaks. To be honest though, I would be less concerned about losing weight – you can still lose fat without losing weight!

    • 6 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      Yes this is so true. I am actually going to be taking my body fat % now so that I can have another accurate measure of my maintenance efforts. Gain 4 lbs but stay the same body fat will tell me a lot. Water! 🙂 Thanks man

  4. 7 robfitness
    February 5, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    That’s why I don’t carry money with me. That way I am not tempted to buy one. For the most part it has worked for me. The bad thing is though we have a soda machine at work that actually excepts credit cards. 🙂 Keep up the great work and step away from the soda machine… 🙂

  5. February 5, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I found totally cutting out the diet sodas helped immensely.

    • 10 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 3:00 pm

      None today so far. I think I will be able to do this. No diet pop and trading coffee for tea with out loads of creamer

  6. 11 ladlam
    February 5, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Black coffee! Apparently the caffeine speeds up recovery 😀
    Just re-read your post – 8:50 is quick! You’ll be doing 4 minute mile in no time 😉 How on earth do those guys run that fast for so long anyway?!

    • 12 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 3:40 pm

      You know what Ladlam, I am at a complete 100% loss on how a person can run a 5 min. mile for the entire marathon. It is an absolute amazing physical accomplishment that can only be done by the most gifted individuals. I just can’t comprehend it. It is like a foriegn language or something. I have one other way to explain it but I shouldn’t say it here 🙂

  7. 13 ladlam
    February 5, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Haha it’s incredible isn’t it! I can run at that pace quite comfortably myself… for about 500 meters.

    • 14 run4change
      February 5, 2009 at 4:08 pm

      I hear ya there. I might get half way around the track befor I start saying, ” f%@# d$%!, sh%$, holy %&($” 🙂

  8. 15 athleticme
    February 5, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Jason–I’ve also been trying to quit the diet pop. Mainly because the type I like is loaded with caffeine and I’ve been having a lot of trouble sleeping lately. I did good Monday and Tuesday but went right back to swilling from the diet pop trough yesterday and today. Good luck with that goal, and the next time I want a diet pop I’ll think of you and tell myself “If Jason can quit, I can too.” Sounds like you have a great plan in place and I’m sure you’ll do GREAT!–Teresa

    • 16 run4change
      February 6, 2009 at 6:02 am

      I love how you call it pop. So do I. I have been putting soda lately ’cause everyone else seems to call it that. HAHAHA:)

  9. 17 AmyJoGo
    February 22, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    In college, my friends and I all came from different parts of the country so we all called it something different: Coke, soda, pop, sodie water(?????), etc. It became a huge debate over who was right and who was wrong. In the end, we all agreed to call it a ‘carbonated beverage’.

    Yes. That $15,000/yr was well spent!

    • 18 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 5:00 am

      Carbonated beverage. No that is a compromise. HAHAHA. “Hi, I would like a large carbonated beverage called diet coke aka pop, soda, etc.” HSHAHAHAHA


Leave a Reply

