07
Feb
09

Run4change Review of The Garmin Forerunner 405

 

image credit:

I final got one.  A GPS enabled techy watch for running.  This watch has all kinds of neat features.  It is the Garmin Forerunner 405.  It is much sleaker than it’s 305 counterpart and that is a big reason that I got it.  The 305 is a watch that you would not want to wear to dinner or something, this one you could.  I only have one watch at a time so I use it for every occasion. Here are a few of the features:

  • GPS tells  you how far and how fast you ran or are running in real time.
  • It tells you the elevations that you climbed and descended.  This important for training for the mountain ultras or my favorite Strolling Jim 40 Miler which has a lot of giant hills.
  • It has a heart rate monitor so I can know how many calories that I have burned and can thus calculate my points most accurately.

Garmin Forerunner

I have used it for one run so far.  I did 6 miles with it yesterday.  It was very accurate and I enjoyed it.  I still have to spend some time to figure it out but I think it is going to be a great addition to the running life.

23 Responses to “Run4change Review of The Garmin Forerunner 405”


  1. 1 Teresa
    February 7, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    That looks uber-cool!

    • 2 run4change
      February 7, 2009 at 3:28 pm

      It is super cool. There are only two buttons becuase the ring that goes around that watch is like a touch “screen”

  2. February 7, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I was just looking at Polar brand watches today, but couldn’t justify spending the money on one that had GPS tracking yet. If I stick with my running longer, then I may have that for a reward for myself. I am dumb, hadn’t even figured out exactly what a Garmin was yet, but going to have to bookmark that handy dandy gadget now.

    • 4 run4change
      February 7, 2009 at 3:31 pm

      I love Polar. THat is what I have been using. You can get a polar with an S1 foot pod for much cheaper than the GPS enabled Polar. I used my garmin yesterday on my normal route at work and they were very close. The polar was off of the garmin by .o1 over a 2.8 mile distance. It was a bummer when I read this but the garmin is not for getting wet. Not good for a pool. The polar you can. The best polar was 480 and the garmin with HRM was 350

  3. February 7, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Ahh….lucky! I’m glad you like it!

    I want a HRM so bad, but don’t have the money yet 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      February 7, 2009 at 7:07 pm

      You will get one at some point and it will be really great. I am excited to use this one for my marathon tomorrow. THanks for stopping by

  4. February 7, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I have the 201 and LOVE it! I bought it at a huge discount when the 405 came out. Yes, I look like I have a computer on my arm; but, for the cost difference, I don’t care about that. The 405 is really pretty, though!

    • 8 run4change
      February 7, 2009 at 8:55 pm

      Awesome. That is the perfect time to buy a special something. When the new model comes out. The old one is always just as good it only looks different. The funniest thing about the “computer on the arm” thing is that when most runners see someone with it they see it as a cool and good thing 🙂 None runners actually might think it is a computer. HAHAHA

  5. February 7, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    What’s the battery life like?

    • 10 run4change
      February 8, 2009 at 5:40 am

      Andrew. The battery is supposed to last 8+ hours while all GPS and timer functions are working at the same time. I have been wearing mine now for three days and I still had 70 % of the battery left.

  6. 11 Angela
    February 8, 2009 at 6:50 am

    Thinking of you today buddy! Run that marathon like you mean it!

  7. February 8, 2009 at 6:58 am

    That be some fancy watch ya got, my friend. How much does something like that run ya?

  8. February 8, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    that one is so much better looking then the 305 that I have. Big, red and squarish…. But I def DO NOT wear it to dinner.

    • 16 run4change
      February 8, 2009 at 7:03 pm

      I read this comment about 5 minutes before I started the marathon. I was laughing and laughing. I have yet to see the redish box at a resturant yet. They did a lot to improve the looks didn’t they.

  9. 17 somedayistoday
    February 8, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    I have the Garmin Forerunner 205 or is it the 305..hmmm….in anycase, I sue it for walking AND bike riding! It’s awesome and I love how it tracks your routes so you can go back to it and try and beat your time. I love the software that uploads it directly to your computer to keep track of everything too! I’m a bit of a techno-geek too!

    • 18 run4change
      February 8, 2009 at 7:06 pm

      HAve not used the software yet since I have a MAC at home. Will start this tomorrow on my PC at work. 🙂 Thanks for your comment

  10. February 8, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    I think it looks pretty nice. I’m in the market… still. I want one for swimming, running, lifting… So I want one that reads with and without the strap and that is waterproof and that doesn’t cost barely anything yet still doesn’t look awful. I just wear the one watch all the time as well. I got a Mio before and it’s awful. No more Mio’s for me.

    • 20 run4change
      February 8, 2009 at 7:54 pm

      forthelife. I didn’t know that they had ones that did not need the strap. Anyway, Polar makes a fitness one that is not based only for runners. It would work good for you and it is one of their less expensive ones. Not sure what the ‘ol budget is, but I know that the fitness one is not to horrible price wise compared to others. Thanks for stopping by.

  11. February 9, 2009 at 6:36 am

    I checked out the 405 when I was considering HRMs for my b-day. I decided that I wanted to have something that I could use in the pool this summer…so I went with a Polar. I honestly was looking at the 405 because we like geocaching and if the GPS had better reviews for use in heavily wooded areas, I probably would have gone with the 405. Guess that I’ll just have to rely on my old Garmin GPS for my geocaching adventures. Talk about crazy…that thing would look AWESOME strapped to my arm. LOL

    • 22 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 6:44 am

      I was really disappointed actually because they did not have the Polar that I wanted. I was going to have to wait for a week or so before I got it so I went with the 405 instead. It was cheaper than the Polar but I have always used Polar. Thanks Jenni for your comment

  12. June 20, 2009 at 1:46 am

    If you are looking your new GPS navigator Store. I recommend you to find your new Garmin GPS Store at our website store. Anyway, you may find product spec., echnical review, accessories and maps update for Garmin 780,765T,755T,255W,360,205W,250,260,260W,265WT,270,760 and others Garmin nuvi information at http://garmingps.geogats.com/garmin-store/


Leave a Reply

