09
Feb
09

My 12th marathon report!

 

Race Headquaters

Race Headquarters

 

Minutes before the start

Minutes before the start

The marathon went well.  It was a very hard marathon for me mentally.  I had two pretty big ruff patches.  One between miles 16-18 and another between miles 24-26.2.  It was a good experience though and once again I learned that I could push more than I thought.  I also got two blisters.  You would never guess where either I bet.  I got one on each collar bone. HAHAHAHA  I had my Ipod, a bag of my fueling stuff, two gels, a hat, and an ear cover thing in my jacket pockets.  The extra weight of the miles just rubbed my skin off.  It started to bother me around mile 15 but I have had this before so I knew it was not big deal.

I set a PR in this marathon too.  I beat my last best time by around 6 minutes I think.  Another reason why this was a hard marathon was that I pushed my pace WAY more than I ever do.  I am usually a very casual marathoner who just wants to finish with no consideration for time but this time I found out my conditioning was better than I thought.  Especially since I had my heart rate monitor on.  I couldn’t believe the change conditioning wise that I have made since I last used my lost HRM.  It was shocking to me that during the entire race my average heart rate was only 75% of my maximum heart rate.  Now that is aerobic exercise. 🙂 Before, while running on a 5:30 marathon my average heart rate was more like 85%.

I also did not get finished fast enough to get any donuts or sandwiches.  That sucked.  Pretty much everything was gone and I had to get an XXL shirt too.  I laughed about it in front of the lady because she has no idea that this was way to small only a short time ago. HAHAHA.  She was a GRUMP.  Now I am going to list what I ate after the marathon and then put done the statistics of the race.

FOOD RIGHT AFTER I FINISHED

One regular coke= 3 points

One special advertisement juice= 2 points

Doritos=  10 points

FOOD AFTER I GOT HOME

Sushi (nigiri)= 7 points

Two WW cookies=  2 points

Movie popcorn (yes, I went to the movies and just bought the corn. 🙂 )=  9 points

Pretzels and cool whip free=  2 points

One whole yet tiny WW candy bar thing=  2 points

MARATHON STATS

Warm-up: First 3 miles @ 10:35 pace with walk breaks every mile for about .1 miles.  Average heart rate was 145 / 77% of max.
15 mile test: 15 miles @ 8:57 pace.  Walk breaks for .05 miles every 2 miles.  Average heart rate was 145 / 76% of max.
Cool down: Last  8.2 miles @ 9:52 pace.  Walks breaks when  ever I wanted to and on large/longer hills.  Average heart rate was 142 / 74% of max.

Total calories burned:  3643

Total time for the marathon: 4:06

57 Responses to “My 12th marathon report!”


  1. 1 Teresa
    February 9, 2009 at 9:41 am

    WTG Jason! Thanks for sharing. Just reading through this makes me want to try harder with my training so that I can actually do a marathon this year! And … I so want to get a cool HRM like you now too.

    I volunteer at the finish line aid station at a local marathon every year. I always feel bad for those who come in after the food has dwindled. I even got the nick-name “string cheese” due to a related incident one time (I’ll have to tell you the story another time). I wish I’d been one of the helpers at this marathon–I’d have hid a donut for you!

  2. 3 the Zookeeper
    February 9, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Congrats on a fantastic race! It must have been a small race, judging by the race hq and by the fact that so few shirts were left even after a 4-hour finish. Was it lonely on the road? Was it well supported?

    If you don’t mind my asking, how did you fuel during the race itself, and the evening before? I’m shocked at how little you ate afterwards. I always find I am ravenous the day of a long run–sometimes even the day after. Maybe it’s a function of my body type, or the way I’m fueling in the days before the run. I suppose practice and experience will tell, but I hope you don’t mind my picking your brain. Tell me if you’d rather I do so via email.

    • 4 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 9:50 am

      Zoo- I will go through all of these Q’s via an email if that is ok. The boss wants to talk to me at work right now. HAHAHA:)

  3. February 9, 2009 at 9:49 am

    WTG!!!

    Great race report, Rockstar!!!

    And, a great race!

  4. February 9, 2009 at 9:59 am

    HA! All my running friends and I call each other “Rockstar” after a race!!!

    Because, we are!

    🙂

  5. February 9, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Congratulations!! You really have some drive- running in the rain and pushing yourself that hard! You must be really proud of yourself, especially after setting a person record too! You’re definitely an inspiration.

  6. February 9, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Congrats on your PR!

    And movie popcorn -now THAT’s good post-race food. Yum. ;o)

    • 14 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 10:44 am

      When I do a race, I almost always get real movie popcorn but with no butter. it just tastes better from the movies. 🙂

  7. February 9, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Hoooray!!!! You are a rockstar!!!

  8. February 9, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Great job! “She was a GRUMP” made me laugh out loud for some reason…cracked me up. Anyway good job on your TWELFTH marathon and your PR!!

    • 18 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 10:46 am

      She really was. I was extremely nice to her. I always try to kill the “GRUMPS” with kindness. HAHAHAHA:) She looked like she had a long night or something. I was not the only one she grumpy too.

  9. February 9, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Great job on the PR. That is crazy you got blisters on your collar bones. You just never know with long distance running where the trouble is going to be. You report made me all excited about running my marathon on Sunday. Well, I was already excited, but this just gets me going even more. Good job.

    • 20 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 10:55 am

      Awesome Janice. i am glad you could get a little more pumped up. You are going to do great. One step after the other 🙂

  10. 21 Cheryl
    February 9, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Great job Jason! Way to go. Isn’t is interesting the unexpected number of places a person can get blisters/chafing? You are such an inspiration! Keep it up buddy!

    • 22 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 11:53 am

      It is interesting isn’t it. I also got a tiny tiny bit of chafing on my inner legs where my skin is a bit loose. I have stopped using anything to prevent it to make that area stronger. 🙂

  11. 23 redballoon
    February 9, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Congratulations! I just found your blog recently and I love the comparisons between the old you and the new you and all the insight. The guts you have. Wow. It is truly inspiring to someone like me with 30 lbs of fat and all these years (I’ll be 50 this year) weighing even more heavily on me and making it ever harder to get motivated though I WANT to. To be in good enough shape to run a marathon like you have. That would be awesome. Again, congratulations.

    • 24 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 12:34 pm

      THanks redballon. You can certainly completely change things up even though you are going to be 50 this year. At this last marathon there was a guy in his late 70’s doing his 350th marathon. WOW 🙂

  12. February 9, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Graet job Jason! My friends keep trying to get me to commit to a 5k in May! I keep ignoring them and refusing to commit to something I am not sure I am gonna do again tomorrow….But secretly, I kind of want to but am scared I won’t be able to by then…we will see!!!

    • 26 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      You can do it! Kim you are exercising and getting more and more fit all the time. You could do it. Of course if you don’t want to then you don’t have to. You are the captain 🙂

  13. February 9, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    By the way…..how do you get work done? I am wondering if your full time job is blogginf and responding to comments!!! You are great at it!

    • 28 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 1:55 pm

      Pretty much. I feel bad that I only have two posts going up today. Trying to think of something else to post but I can’t do it. Mind not working :):)

  14. 29 Shannon
    February 9, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Congrats on #12!! You truly are an inspiration! It makes me want to push to do a full marathon this year…I better do the half first!!

    • 30 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 2:09 pm

      Go for it. I have never run a half marathon to be totally honest. I just went for it. HAHAHA 🙂 I want to do one with my wife though. She has done two and I think it would be fun.

  15. 31 ladlam
    February 9, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Awesome job Jason! What are you crediting your increase in conditioning to?
    Must be great to have such a huge calorie deficit and be able to eat some of those not-so-healthy foods without having to worry too much 😀

    • 32 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      I credit the increase in conditioning to one thing Mr. Ladlam. Long slow running. Long slow and easy running. Easily paced where I took walk breaks every 6 minutes for 1 minute. Also because I am new to running. Everyone increases faster in the start and for me only having run for like 1.5 years, that is pretty knew.

  16. 33 robfitness
    February 9, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    What an awesome job man and congrats on your PR as well. God it looks so beautiful up there. I sure miss my visits up there. Use to fly up there 3-4 times a year to visit some friends. Was it harder to run a race with few people compared to running with much much more? You continue to inspire me more and more. I can hardly wait to do my triathlon in April. That will surely be my biggest accomplishment to date, physical wise. Then I have a Olympic Triathlon that I am doing in October. See what your motivation, determination and perseverance has done to me? 🙂 It’s like it contagious..:-) Have a awesome day, my friend. Glad you took some pictures to share with us.

    • 34 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 2:25 pm

      Thanks Rob. In a way it is harder because you can just quit and walk and nobody knows you are walking HAHAHA. In the big races you have people all around every second of it. But then, you still see a ton of people walk or breaking down and not making it too. I don’t find running alone a bad thing or more difficult. I am a loner. So it does not bother me. You are going to do great on your races too. You just wait and see.

  17. 35 lissa10279
    February 9, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Been out of town, but catching up now. Congrats on your marathon and your PR!

    • 36 run4change
      February 9, 2009 at 6:44 pm

      Hope you had a good time. i saw that you were very tired. 🙂 It is crazy to try and catch up on blog world after a leave isn’t it.

  18. 37 Sarah
    February 9, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Congratulations!! Great review of your times and heartrate and good eats too. Way to go!

  19. February 9, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Fantastic effort Jason.

    Shame about the donuts and shirt!

  20. 41 Mike
    February 9, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Congratulations on number 12, you have to be proud of the effort. Way to go man!!!!!

    Great posts, I really enjoy all that you have to say and the information and tips are outstanding.

    My wife and I are both working to get back to our ideal weight after yo-yo gains and losses over the past 10 years. Previously she has had success with WW and has a great working knowledge. I always thougt WW was a plan for her until I found your site. From what I can tell we have a lot in common so after reading your site for several weeks I deceded to join my wife. So a big thanks to you because between the two of you I have found a plan that works and best of all we do it togehter. Shoot, even after this short time my kids are counting points for us.

    I find WW to be a great for forming new habits and believe it will be a great plan to bring lasting lifestyle changes. The big bonus is that I can still enjoy actually eating, and nothing is off limits, it just comes with a price so I need to choose well. You are also so right about the I will start on Monday mindset. That was so me but not anymore. Your tips are very helpful and the way that your write is great so please keep up the great work you are making a difference.

    Mike

    • 42 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 4:56 am

      Hello Mike. I am glad that you have been enjoying the blog and getting some inspiration for your journey. Thanks a lot for leaving a comment. Comments like yours make the whole blogging thing a lot more fun. Great job on getting to the starting line. You and your wife will do great on WW

  21. 43 Angela
    February 10, 2009 at 3:46 am

    YOU RULE! Why are there already 38 comments and this just popped into my inbox 30 seconds ago? Hmmmmm….wow I am amazed at this entire post, the calories burned, the times, the ding-dong lady with the XXL t-shirt. Only happy people should be able to work those things! Great job bro! Just for that, I’m doing another spin class today in your honor. 🙂

    • 44 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 4:57 am

      Good job Angela. Go kick some skinny butt. 🙂 I think there is a problem with the feed burner people. It has shown that i have no subscribers anymore and I know that this is not true. Not sure exactly what is happening there.

  22. 45 Ms Oblivious
    February 10, 2009 at 7:18 am

    I keep coming back to your blog! Wow!!! A 12th Marathon under your belt. That must feel amazing… do you think if you could go back in time to the old you, would he ever imagine you running one marathon let alone a dozen? Thanks for being so inspiring!

    • 46 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 7:36 am

      Thanks so much or coming by to visit. It is great to read comments like yours. I have always wanted to do a marathon, but of course I put it out of my mind for YEARS because I was just to big. I could hardly tie my own dang shoes 🙂 Each time I do a marathon I think, “Wow, I did it. That once big old obese dude is a new person. I did it again. Wow!” It really is an amazing sense of accomplishment and running the marathons adds such a richness to the whole thing for me. THanks again

  23. 47 Angela
    February 10, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Spinning class completed! This is the first time I have ever been to this time slot, and this instructor did a 75 minute class instead of the normal 50! My legs were one huge charlie horse when I left, but I earned 17 AP’s. Here’s to you buddy!

  24. 49 Angela
    February 10, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Not today! 🙂 Maybe tomorrow, I’m trying the 6am.

  25. February 10, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Great job on your run! Too bad no donuts for you. I only have donuts on my long run days. I should make a tshirt to wear that says “I run for donuts”. Me and the tshirts, I know.. Good job on your race!

    • 52 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 9:01 pm

      I will most assuredly remember this so I can make a shirt like that. That is sooooo cool because I love the heck out of some donuts.

  26. 53 Mike
    February 12, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    So my wife and I were just looking at your Marathon list and she had me check out the link to Valentine and the funny thing was that it was right here in our hometown.What a small world we live in.


Leave a Reply

