10
Feb
09

And the winner is! Contest #1 Results

Contest TimeThe votes are in and the first contest is over.  Ideas came from everywhere and they were fun and enjoyable to read.  I am so appreciative of all your participation in the contest.  I will be announcing the winner in this post.  This contest idea will be used for contest #2.  I will talk about contest #2 in another post.  The winner of this contest is an awesome, fun, and smart woman.  She makes me laugh and I really enjoy reading her blog.  Her name is Vani and she’s a beautiful person who wants to get fit for free. HAHAH 🙂  

Here are the top 4 ideas:

Contest idea 11 26% (10 votes)

How about submitting a pic with a short description: “Why I felt amazing here.” It could be a way to focus on times when we FELT great regardless of size/appearance. (Fitforfree)

Contest idea 3 18% (7 votes)

you could have people write essays about how they are helping others through their weight loss, how someone else has helped them, what charities they have done races for, etc. etc. You could keep it short by telling them they have to write it in 250 words or less or whatever number you pick.  (mommymeepa)

Contest idea 4 18% (7 votes)

I love to write haikus. you could have a fitness haiku contest. A haiku is a poem that has 5 syllables in the first line, 7 in the second, and 5 in the last. They do not have to rhyme. For example:Jason has lost weight
He was a very big boy
Now he inspires  (mommymeepa)

Contest idea 15 13% (5 votes)

My idea actually came from one of your posts. I really liked the tilapia with veggies and potates you put together that was low points, large portion. I do best when I have large portions even if its mostly veggies. Just works best for me. I think the contest should be creating a low point, filling and visually appetizing meal. People can get really creative and each meal idea has to have a picture with it. I LOVE to cook and finding creative substitutions can sometimes be wearisome. It would be fun to see how creative people will be plus it will give your readers good ideas to ward off the boredom that comes with watching EVERY LITTLE THING THAT GOES INTO OUR MOUTHS. Sorry, its been a long day. Hope people will like this!
(jen)

Alright Vani, it is time for you to give up the ‘ol address to me so I can mail out the writing journal to you.  Great job and fun idea.  You were voted by your fellow bloggers as having the best idea for my next contest.  I am going to use it and it is gonna be great.  Thanks for your participation everyone.

22 Responses to “And the winner is! Contest #1 Results”


  1. February 10, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Congratulations, Vani! What a fantastic idea for a contest. I hope you get good use of your new journal. Jason – you are awesome for thinking of this idea. What fun!

    • 2 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 4:58 am

      Lter,thanks for your enthusiasm. I am so happy that you liked the contest. It sure makes me fell good. Have a great day

  2. February 10, 2009 at 5:17 am

    A haiku for Vani

    Vani you rocked it
    Your idea is so cool
    When is the contest?

    • 4 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 5:21 am

      I think I will start the contest on Monday probably. I am not sure exactly how people will submit their pics. Any ideas? THanks for coming over meepa

  3. February 10, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Awesome!

    Congrats Vani!!!

  4. February 10, 2009 at 6:44 am

    you guys are the best. I have SO MANY journals, though!! Jason, you should give it to runner-up or a random contestant!

  5. February 10, 2009 at 6:55 am

    Jason…do most of your readers have their own blogs? If so, we could simply do our own blog post with a picture and description of why we felt great. Then we could leave a link to the post in your comments for the contest.

    • 10 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 6:58 am

      Amen to that. That makes it so easy in my little feable mind. Thanks. So you are saying this: i do a contest post, tell all about what the contest is and the prize, instruct everyone who wants to participate to do post on their blog and give me the link to it in the comments on my post. Sound good?

  6. February 10, 2009 at 7:16 am

    That would make it easiest on you Jason. Otherwise we would have to email them to you, then you would have to post them, which could take a lot of work on your part!

    Are we voting again on the winner or are you picking the winner this time?

    • 12 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 7:18 am

      I am thinking of chosing the winner using a random #’s generator. That would be easiest or most fair I guess.

  7. 13 somedayistoday
    February 10, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Great contest! I think we should all vote on the posts again…that’s my vote..hahaha!

  8. February 10, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Since we can’t submit pics on comments (that I’m aware of) should we do a blog post on our blog and link by way of comments? Or is there some alternate way like doing the little essay portion and a link to the pic or… I don’t know. Just tossing some ideas around :).

    • 16 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 12:32 pm

      Yes, you are right. When I do the next contest for the special T-shirt. I will instruct everyone to do a post with a pic on their own blogs and the put a link in the comment section of my post.

  9. February 10, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Hey — just a suggestion (and I’m so thrilled that you’re moving forward with this!) — it would be great if non-bloggers could contribute, too, so maybe they could send photos/captions to you via email and you could do a big post with their stories?

    • 18 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 1:36 pm

      Great idea. I thought of this too as to not leave even one person out. I will definitely do this so that non-bloggers can participate also.

  10. 19 donna
    February 10, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Congrats Vani,that was my favorite too!Good work.

  11. February 11, 2009 at 8:48 am

    If Vani doesn’t want the journal, I’ll take it. Thanks so much Vani. That was so sweet of you.


Leave a Reply

