10
Feb
09

Marathon Maniac #930

dscn10492

dscn076211008474693irurcp7195652344gx879b1r110330994-bc_img_52831

 If you would like to subscribe to this blog and be updated on my newest marathons, go HERE.

Running has really been a beneficial thing in my life.  I tried time and time again to get started with it to no avail.  Finally, once I lost 60 lbs, I went after a lifetime goal of finishing a marathon.  My first marathon finish was the 2007 Portland Marathon.  The pictures above, in clock-wise order from the top are from the: 200 Portland Marathon, Timberline Trail Marathon, Peterson Ridge 60K, White River 50 Miler, and the Orange County Marathon.

Here is my official Marathon Maniacs Page

Since October 2007 I have finished the:

  1. 2007 (Oct.)   Portland Marathon
  2. 2007 (Nov.) Seattle Marathon
  3. 2007 (Dec.)  Christmas Marathon
  4. 2008 (Jan.)   Orange Country Marathon
  5. 2008 (Feb.)  Jed Smith 50K (30 miles)
  6. 2008 (March) Easter Marathon
  7. 2008 (April) Peterson Ridge 60K (37 miles)
  8. 2008 (May)  Strolling Jim 4o miler
  9. 2008 (July)  White River 50 miler
  10. 2008 (Sept)  Timberline Mountain Marathon
  11. 2008 (Oct.)  Portland Marathon
  12. 2009 (Feb)   Valentines Marathon

Doing these races is probably one of the greatest accomplishments in my life.  Audrey really helped get to the finish line in all of these races.  Not only did she help during most of the races, she ran with me all the time while I got ready for them.  It was a great time to talk with each other.  I am also pretty proud that I made it into the Marathon Maniacs club.  You have to run at least 3 marathons in 3  months to qualify.  Running is a great way to escape, get fit, and feel good.  I must admit though, running at mile marker 37 at the 50 miler was pretty tough.  Great life experience.  I learned that a person can endure far more than they ever imagined.  Also remember that I started out only being able to ride a stationary bike for 12 minutes.  If you want to get started with health and running check this out

Get Started Running Here

12 Responses to “Marathon Maniac #930”


  1. December 20, 2008 at 2:11 am

    wow, great accomplishments! 🙂 congrats!

    • 2 run4change
      December 20, 2008 at 4:03 am

      Yes, those runs are some of the greatest experiences that I have had in my life. You would be surprised as to how much a person can learn about themselves over a 40 or 50 mile run. There is just something about the big distance that does not allow you to lie to yourself anymore.

      Thanks again for the comment and have a great night.
      https://run4change.wordpress.com

  2. 3 Teresa
    January 28, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Wow! This has me psyched to keep training. I’ve set a goal to do a 1/2 marathon in June and the Portland Marathon in October — even if I have to walk them. My friends Josh and Karen are planning to do this too. We have all been losing weight over the past year (Josh 100 pounds, Karen 80+ and me 80ish). I’m going to send them to your site so they can get inspired too!

    • 4 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 3:40 pm

      I will be at the Portland Marathon this year to be 100% sure. I love that marathon, it has the best food at the end. HAHA 🙂 Wow, it sounds like you guys have a great group happenin.

  3. February 9, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    You ran Strolling Jim last year? I’m planning on running it this year and have already registered. I had a few questions about the route.

    Thanks,

    Dave
    ashlanddave@gmail.com

  4. 7 Mike
    February 10, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Nice Job. I am not a runner although this blog has made me think twice. I have always heard of the damage it can do to your body, especially if you are overweight. ( I am currently arount 269 and am shooting for 195-2005 by November 11th 2009.)

    I can relate to the not lie to youself comment that you made. I was a Mountian Biker for a couple of years. The climb to the top is difficult to say the least. I made my first trip back to the hills this last weekend after two years off and it was hard. But I pushed through and was rewarded with a great downhill run and the beautiful view that is provided by being on a mountian path that looks over everything. The down hill is easy, the climb up makes you want to turn back in the worst way and if you push through the confidence gained is hard to beat. (Plus the sleep and the food and the general mood is so much better after a long ride. Probably the same with a run.)

    Great inspiration you give on this blog. I can’t say that I will ever be a marathon maniac, but man it is a cool accomplishment that does inspire.

    • 8 run4change
      February 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm

      Running is actually proven to improve joints, muscles, tissues, tendons, etc. I did lose 60 lbs before I started mostly because I was scared to work that hard. HAHAHA. THere are many totally awesome readers here who have started running and are not waiting like I did. They are doing fantastic and I am so proud of them

  5. 9 Angela
    February 11, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Hey buddy! Great to see your list, I was wondering which ones you had done. And though it’s not this post, I always crack up at the photo of the bacon on top of the donut! ha! Great feats run by great feet!

    • 10 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 5:42 pm

      Your middle name must be “COOL”. Yeah, I actually your middle name is the word cool. Thans for the comment and care. Wait till you see the picture of me eating that donut


Leave a Reply

