11
Feb
09

Weight loss at last! This week’s weigh in.

weigh-in-002I almost got kicked out of Weight Watchers yesterday.  I talked to the leader when my meeting was over to ask for her advice on how I should proceed with my program to lose weight.  She saw that my doctors goal was 210 pounds and she had a small panic attack.  She told me that I was not allowed to be more tha 5 lbs under my doctors goal.  I found this amusing.  I ended up losing one pound last night and was relieved to finally get a loss.  Here is what she recommend that I do:

  • Eat all my daily points at the maintenance level.  This is 35 points for me.
  • Eat all my weekly 35 points
  • Leave my activity points alone unless I get more than 8 in one day.  On these days I should eat some of my activity points for that day to keep my metabolism up and running.  She said that Weight Watchers recommends this if a person gets more that 8 AP’s in a day.

So my plan worked for this week.  I have never lost weight on the weigh-in directly after a marathon so I predict a weight loss next week also.  I ended up eating about 7 of my AP’s for the week actually but that left me with exactly 34 AP’s uneaten which adds up to 3400-3500 calories which then translates into approximately 1 pound.  It all made sense and it worked out as I planned it would.  I will stick to the same plan this week.  We will see what happens.

Back to the story about getting kicked out of WW.  As I said, they all had a panic attack because it was the first time they noticed I was way under my goal weight.  I told them my personal goal was 178 but they resisted it really hard at first.  They finally gave in though when they realized that the WW upper limit goal weight is 195 for my category.  They decided I was ok and that they would use that weight instead of my 210 doctors goal.  The doctor actually set my goal weight at 155 which would mean that i need to still lose 33 pounds. HAHAHAHAHAHA 🙂  That is insane and I told him so.  That is way to skinny so he gave me 210 so that I could get lifetime and not have to pay more easily.  I weighed 187.2 last night.  I want to lose 9.2 lbs more and then hover around that 178 mark for as long as I can.

38 Responses to “Weight loss at last! This week’s weigh in.”


  1. February 11, 2009 at 10:17 am

    You rock! I’m glad you didn’t get kicked out. You are an inspiration, that is for sure! I guess I’ll have to go to my doctor soon to figure out what my goal is going to be.

    • 2 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 10:20 am

      Thans little miss. Someone else was thinking I got kicked out because I got naked so that I would lose at least how much my clothes weigh. HAHAHAHA 🙂 Thanks for you support

  2. February 11, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Sounds like a good plan. Congrats on your loss!

    • 4 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 12:01 pm

      THanks Beadie. I think it will work pretty well. We will see I guess as time goes on. Thank you very much for visiting me and for your support. 🙂

  3. February 11, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    155 seems a bit skeletonish to me!

    • 6 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 12:03 pm

      ISH!!! HAHAHAHA That doctor was crazy man. I would be at like .08% body fat at 155 lbs. Thanks for the laugh. So true though. Bad doc.

  4. February 11, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Sounds like a good plan!

  5. 8 lissa10279
    February 11, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Congrats and I think it’s good you stood up for yourself. That 155 sounds sickening to me for a man!

    • 9 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 12:39 pm

      HAHAHAHA, that is what my wife said too. She is like 130 or so and she thought that it was not cool to lay next to a 155’r. HAHAHAHA thanks

  6. 10 Mike
    February 11, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Way to go. If you were 155 a strong wind could blow you away. I like your goal better.

    • 11 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      I think I was like 2 years old the last time I weighed 155 🙂 Don’t think I’ll see that weight for a while. HAAHHHAAAHA

  7. February 11, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Congratulations man! It’s so gratifying when things go according to plan! Well done for standing your ground too with your goals – they are YOUR goals, and so long as you’re healthy then that’s all that matters.
    Congrats again!

  8. 14 ladlam
    February 11, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Haha they almost kicked you out for that?! Are they scared you’ll blame them for developing anorexia or something? You don’t look like you’re going that way to me!
    I wouldn’t laugh too hard, I used to train with a guy that was a fair bit taller than me that was 155lbs. He was lean as hell, but damn he could kick hard!

    • 15 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      HAHAHA. I be he was lean. Ripped probably. 🙂 You know your ripped when you can see the veins over your abs. 🙂 THanks man

  9. 16 robfitness
    February 11, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Wow.. that’s pretty awesome that you finally did get a weight loss after your big run. So that was another first fro you or that it just doesn’t happen a lot? Either way great job done, both in you marathon and your weight loss for the week. I didn’t realize that WW had a policy to kick you out for being to thing. Does that have to do with what Ladlam mentioned.? Are they afraid of you developing an eatinM problem, in reverse? Your are equally awesome , bro and thanks again for the comment about “my Great Feeling”

    • 17 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 3:17 pm

      Basically what the leader said did make sense. She told me that usually doctors give a weight goal for medical reasons and those medical reasons are important to the doctor. WW doesn’t want the liability for helping you go against doctors orders. My doctor wanted me at 155 but I researched the issue, took my body fat %, then took all my info. back to him and showed him that if I only lost fat like I was supposed too, I would only have like 1% body fat at 155. I suppose I could have made it there if I lost a lot of muscle but that would be a bad thing. So he gave me 210 as a goal so that I would become lifetime member and not have to pay for WW anymore.

      If you go below WW goal weight, that is more like what ladlam is talking about. They have a BMI range that they want you in. Mine I think is like 160-195 or something close. To go below the lower limit is not considered healthy so they will cancel your membership if you insist on going lower than the lowest healthy BMI.

    • 18 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      And oh ya, thanks a lot for being the first one to participate in the contest. It meant a lot to me. I appreciate it.

  10. 19 robfitness
    February 11, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Thanks for the explanation on that. I’m glad that they excepted your view point on that. So are you a lifetime member and if so how long have you been that. Can you still get kicked out if you are a lifetime member? Just curious about this in case I join up with my Mama. If I do decide to forgo the personal trainer I think I will still need that accountability factor and believe I can get that at WW. So you ALMOST shed a tear 🙂 Come on admit it.. you actually did, didn’t you 🙂 I know I was getting emotional writing it and I could have written a lot more because once my feelings come out there is no stopping me.
    It was a honor being the first to post. I am surprised though usually that doesn’t happen. I guess others are still writing. I am sure that many will follow real soon. I just had the day off and had a lot of free time to blog, comment and other stuff. I also appreciate all that you do here to help, support and encourage others.. Your site I know has really help out many and for that I and I am sure others are so blessed to have you as a big part of our community.

    • 20 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 4:30 pm

      Thanks Rob. Yes, you can still get kicked out I think. I have been lifetime since Dec. 2007 I think. Maybe a tear came out. HAHAHAHA

  11. 21 Candice
    February 11, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Congrats on the loss. Next week will be even more rewarding.

    • 22 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 5:19 am

      I am thinking it just might be. If I don’t usually lose right after a marathon but this time I did, I could do really good this week. Thanks a lot Candice for stopping by and giving me some encouragement

  12. February 12, 2009 at 9:59 am

    WTG on the weight loss!!!

    I have a male friend who weighs 155. He is a marathoner and does not seem too skinny to me. We are all different in respect to body type and what is the best weight for us.

    • 24 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 10:05 am

      Maybe he is shorter than me. My dad is also down there pretty low like your friend but he seems normal too. Weird how things work out, you are right.

  13. 25 charleshbaker
    February 12, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I may have missed this in another post or elsewhere on your site, but how tall are you?

    • 26 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 1:16 pm

      Charles. I have been to the Dr.’s twice in the last year. Once I was 6’1″ and the other 6’2″. I have always thought I was 6’2″. So that is what I go by.

  14. 27 charleshbaker
    February 12, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I’m 5.9. My max weight according to the charts is 168, but I haven’t weighed that little since I was a sophomore in high school. I lifted weights like a wild man for football and by the time I graduated I was 205 with relatively low body fat. I can’t imagine being in the 160s again.

    • 28 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      HAHAHAHA. I actually thought that same way. I never thought I would be able to go below 215 because that is what I weighed about when I graduated, but now I do actually weigh the same as I did when I was a sophmore.

  15. 29 charleshbaker
    February 12, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    How much muscle have you shed? Do you have any idea what your body composition percentages are now as compared to say 195? If you lose 10 more pounds how much of that do you think will be fat? At 6.2 187 there couldn’t be that much fat on your body could there?

    let’s see, if you’re at 10% bodyfat that would be about 18.7 pounds, so I guess you could lose another 9. So, 9.7 pounds bodyfat at a weight of 178, that’s 5.4% bodyfat. That’s getting down in competition bodybuilder body fat percentages.

    • 30 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 3:22 pm

      Ok Charles, I am not exact probably but pretty acurrate I would say. I remember at about 179 I was 11% body fat. So here it is, let me know what you think please. This is an interesting conversation we are having.

      Starting lbs: 307 with 51% body fat.
      Starting fat lbs: 156.5
      Starting Muscle lbs: 150.5

      Current weight: 187.2 with 15.% body fat
      Current fat lbs: 28
      Current muscle lbs: 159.2

      I want to lose 9 lbs
      Predicted lbs: 178.2
      Predicted fat lbs: 19
      Predicted muscle lbs: 159
      Predicted body fat: 10.6 %

  16. 31 charleshbaker
    February 13, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Sorry, dude! I went off line last night. I took my son to basketball practice and then later had to pick my wife up from work. We’re making due with one vehicle right now and it get’s tricky at times. I did check off to be notified via email when this comment thread was updated.

    I underestimated your current body fat percentages. With those numbers your goal seems very reasonable. BTW, you look leaner than the numbers! I was just hoping you weren’t gonna be sacrificing hard won muscle mass in pursuit of an elusive numerical goal. I should have known better 🙂 Thanks for sharing. My scale which measures body fat via electrical impedance died. I’ll have to get a new one, I’m just using a plain old $14 Wal-Mart special right now 😉

    • 32 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 6:34 am

      I use the same type of scale. Check the % everyday and than take the average over a week as my body fat %. Thanks a lot for the feedback. I really appreciate man

  17. 33 charleshbaker
    February 13, 2009 at 6:41 am

    @Jason a Wal-Mart special or one with electrical impedance?

  18. 36 charleshbaker
    February 13, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Man that is too funny!!!


Leave a Reply

