12
Feb
09

My contest submission: Why I felt amazing here!

Red mountain

Don’t worry!  I won’t steal anyone’s shirt from them.  I just thought I would do a submission so that I could share my little picture in time.  Here I am on a hike during a vacation that my wife and I took to Red Mountain Spa in St. George Utah.  Every morning they had hikes that the people could go on.  There were three levels of difficulty.  I could only do level one. 

Although at this point in my life I was not feeling the best about myself, those feelings all drifted away at the moment of this picture.  I was feeling so blessed to be able to walk in the warm air of the morning as we climbed the hills of red sand rock.  The vast expanse of sky and terrain just made you feel a part of something bigger.  I was with my wife whom I am hopelessly in love with and who was nice enough to do a level on hike with me even though she could have been on a my fun and challenging hike.  I am red faced, but I look happy.  HAHAHAHA

20 Responses to “My contest submission: Why I felt amazing here!”


  1. February 12, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    what an awesome picture and story! Thanks for sharing

  2. 3 robfitness
    February 12, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Yes, that was and continues to be very inspiring story. To me there is nothing more beautiful then being outdoors in such a breath taking area. Been there once and was in awe with the beauty of it. Since you were with the love of your life that just adds to that great feeling, doesn’t it. Oh how we all can change and make a big difference in our lives. Thanks for sharing Jason 🙂

  3. February 12, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Yea! So glad you decided to participate and join in. This is a great pic and story!

  4. February 12, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    seriously, that pictures and the story behind it is so awesome. Thanks for sharing it with us. I love St George Utah. I have run that marathon three times and 2 of them have qualified me for Boston. I sure miss Utah, all though the part I am from (North) looks different, it is nice to see a little shot of my home state.

    • 8 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 1:52 pm

      I wish I could run fast enough to qualify. 🙂 Thanks for your encouragement. Maybe you could do a submission for the contest? 🙂 It is a beautiful place. It was my favorite vacation of all time

  5. February 12, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Great picture, great story – but we almost don’t even need the story! It’s written all over your face that you’re awestruck, inspired, happy in a way that only being outdoors and in the presence of natural wonders can do. What a cool trip. Have you thought about going back? I bet they’d have to create a whole new level for the new super fit you!

    • 10 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 4:48 pm

      That is very nice of you. Yes, I think about going back all the time. I just cannot express how wonderful that vacation was. It would be much better now because I actually would be able/want to do so many more things.

  6. 11 Sarah
    February 14, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Fantastic picture and love your story, thanks for sharing.

  7. February 21, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Yes, you look very happy! Well done!


Leave a Reply

