12
Feb
09

This foodie post is for Mike. Dinner last night

This whole plate was 4 points

This whole plate was 4 points

Ok Mike, here is a post about some of the food that I eat.  This pic is of my dinner last night.  One cup of “Better ‘n Eggs”, 15 pieces of small potatoes wedges, veggies, and an Alternative Bagel.  It was a filling assortment of food and I really enjoyed it.  A very fast meal that took me about 10 minutes to prepare but got me full and satisfied.   At only 4 points, it is a good emergency “go to” if you don’t have many points left for the evening time.

Eggs beaters, bagles, greek seasoning

Here are the special ingredients by themselves.  The alternative bagels are 1 point each and are a great way to go for a carb.  The egg stuff is 2 point per cup.  I always use the Cavenders Greek Seasoning as my spice up for potatoes.  I love the Greek Seasoning.  I also use it for all meat that I cook whether it be chicken, beef, or pork.

Salsa

One of the first things that I do when I get home is open the fridge and snack on the salsa that I have at the present time.  It is not always this kind, but I always try to have some on hand.  I eat it plain with a spoon right from the container.  This little gem helps get something in my stomach before so I don’t snack away during my dinner time preparations.  Salsa is an invaluable resource for my WW journey.  I eat it pretty much every day.  It does not last long in my house.  I also need to keep the chips out of the house or I will default to chips and salsa instead of just salsa thereby adding way more points than needed.

So coupled with these items that I ate last night, I also ate one banana, a giant shake that my sister invented that is only 4 points but extremely delicious and splurgy.  With these after dinner snacks my points eaten once I got home were 10.  Not to bad for having a huge amount of food.

21 Responses to “This foodie post is for Mike. Dinner last night”


  1. February 12, 2009 at 9:43 am

    I love those bagels! What a great example of how doing Weight Watchers doesn’t mean you have to go hungry or eat bird size portions of food. Don’t we all love eating volumes of food? *raises hand and waves wildly*

  2. February 12, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I’ve never been able to find those bagels, but I do like the 100 calorie Thomas ones, and they are only 1 pt, too.

    Nice BIG plate of food 🙂

  3. 5 Katie
    February 12, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I love your food posts! Your potatoes from the last post my husband declared as his “new favorite” 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 10:56 am

      My wife likes them too. I just love ’em. I could eat them every day but I try to change things up a tiny bit 🙂

  4. 7 Katie
    February 12, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Oh and I need that recipe for the 4 point drink! 🙂

    • 8 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 11:00 am

      I will try and get that too you. Maybe I will even do a post on it. I am not one for shakes and drinks, etc, but this is “to me” like I am drinking a chocolate milk shake and then we add sugar free syrups to flavor as desired. Mint/choco and peanut butter. Hmmm Hmmm good:)

  5. 9 Mike
    February 12, 2009 at 11:52 am

    You are the man!!!! Thanks for remembering.

    I am going to use the salsa trick before dinner, never crossed my mind but it is a great idea. Do you ever make it from scratch? If not I will see if my wife will share her super secret reciepe, you will find it hard to have anything else after. I am trying to sweet talk her into making a batch tonight as a matter of fact.

    Solid and quick meal and lots of it which is key. I hope that you do a post on the shake as well.

    Please keep the meal posts comming.

  6. 11 Mike
    February 12, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    My wife and I work togehter so she is here and is going to help me give you the salsa recepe. She tells me there is not really a recipe it is more of a process that you make to your taste.

    Ingredients that you will need.

    1 Sweet Onion
    2-3 limes
    1-bunch Cilantro
    2-Pasilla peppers
    1- Jalapeno pepper
    4-5 Tomatoes
    Sea Salt, Pepper and some chopped garlic to taste. ( you will want to taste and add these ingredients a couple of times to get it the way that you want it.)

    Place all of the peppers in a covered fry pan and simmer them turing them often to keep them from burning. (This is going to make your house smell great) When the skins of the peppers are starting to come off place them in a small paper bag while you prepare the other ingredients. (This will coninue to cook them in the bag so that the skin will come off easily)

    Chop the onion into small pieces, chop the tomatoes, chop the top half of the Cilantro and comibine these ingredients. Add the lime juice to taste. (we usually all three) Add the spices and garlic to the mix.

    Next cut the tops off the peppers and remove the seeds (careful of what you touch until you wash your hands because the seeds are where the heat is and it WILL burn a bit if you touch your eyes etc.) Most of the skin should come off easily and it is not a big deal if some is left.

    Once you have done this combine the peppers with the rest of the mix and you are done. Very Fresh, Very good salsa. It will cost you a bit more than the bottled stuff but it is worth it. It will only keep for about 5 days tops so it is good that you cna’t keep the stuff around. At our house it is usually gone by the next day at lunch, even the big batches.

    This will be a good sized batch. It is great on all meats, with chips and over veggies and potatoes and of course by itself straight from the bowl. ( We are stealing that tip.)

    Also, pour a good amount into your scrambbled eggs and let it simmer. this is called Egg Chili.

    Take Care and I hope you like the salsa.

    • 12 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 12:33 pm

      HAHAHA, gone by the next day. Now that’s what I am talking about. Thank you so much. Can I post this as a reader submitted secret recipe.

  7. 13 robfitness
    February 12, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Thanks a lot man! I wasn’t hungry till you posted that picture of all that delicious food 🙂 Now i need to make something as well. probably will have some grilled chicken with hot peppers, salsa, horseradish, broccoli and green beans. There now I feel better and full 🙂
    Your really giving me some great ideas of what new to make because I am getting bored with my same ole food everyday so thanks for sharing your chef’s delight. You’re almost to the point of convincing me to be a WW as well 🙂
    Keep up the great work as always and happy eating….

  8. 15 Mike
    February 12, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Sure thing please feel free to post it and I hope that you guys like it as much as Kathy and I do. It is a little work but it is worth it.

    • 16 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 3:37 pm

      I will do it. I will give you all the credit too. I love salsa so much that this recipe is so relevant to what keeps me on track. You da man!! 🙂

  9. 17 Mike
    February 12, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Right on, I was telling Kathy that by shairng her salsa making tip that not only you but a whole bunch of other good people could pick up a great addition. The cool thing is that becasue it is so good it almost feels like something that should off limits and yet it can be a staple instead.

    Please give all the credit to Kathy, she will get a kick out of it and she is the one that makes it happen, without her I could have not even consider making it.

    She has been reading some of your posts with me and likes the blog.

    • 18 run4change
      February 12, 2009 at 3:56 pm

      BWA HA HA HA. I love to eat stuff that seems like it should be off limits. Oh yeah baby!!!!:) That is my kind of food, especially since it is absolutely yummy yet “free” as far as points go. Although I think I might eat enough of it once I make to count for something. HAAHAHHAHAAHAHA

  10. 19 Mike
    February 12, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Oh yeah we have a bet going of what your salsa post will look like, she has seen enough of your posts that she put together her guess. I am going to be interested to read it.

  11. 21 Mike
    February 12, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    I am with you the stuff that is free but tastes like big points rocks. No chance of having to count it even if you eat a whole bowl, you can just pretend it is a free veggie soup.

    Your going to have to cook it in your eggs or the egg stuff above, put the egg chile with a bagel and some spray butter and sugar fee jelly and watch out.


Leave a Reply

