13
Feb
09

Want to feel full? Try this run4change food staple!

I have a food in my arsenal that will get me from hungry to satisfied in only 5 minutes.  It is nutritious and tasty.  It is the ugly and under-rated sweet potato.  This one food has produced more satisfaction than almost any other food that I eat (healthy food that is HAHA ).

There are many ways that you can cook it, but most people think of it as a holiday for only.  Oh the wonderful sweet potato.  It is so much more than a holiday dish.  I microwave them for 5 minutes, slice ’em up, spray some stuff on it that is so good that I can’t believe it’s not butter, add some salt and pepper, and I am good to go.  Filling, sweetish, carby, lovely.  It is only 3-4 points on WW too.  I also bake them with a very thin coating of olive oil (my favorite, but more time consuming method).  This renders the potato into a soft and delicate delight.  Another way I do it is the old microwave method but then I slice it long ways and thin.  Then I fry the slices in a pan with spray or olive oil and it turns into a fry of sorts.  Great change on the texture front.  Here are some other recipes to try out on the this run4change staple food:

General Benifits,  Health and Nutrition Information

sweet_potato_wedges2Super powered sweet potato wedges

 

 

 

sweet-potatoes1_smalltangerine-mashed-

Tangerine Mashed Sweet Potatoes

 

 

 

I will forever have a relationship with the sweet potato.  You should give it a shot too maybe.  Have you eaten them much?  What do you think about them?  If you do try ’em, let me know what you think.

31 Responses to “Want to feel full? Try this run4change food staple!”


  1. February 13, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Hey, you and me both, Jason. I love ’em straight out of the microwave like a baked potato with drizzle of olive oil and a teensy bit of salt. I also like to add some veges on top and the wedges are delicious! Oh, I couldn’t agree with you more on the filling factor, too.

    • 2 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 5:08 am

      Thanks LTer. Most people I know that it is weird that I eat them a lot but I really like them. Got one in my lunch today

  2. 3 darrellnurse
    February 13, 2009 at 5:07 am

    Good morning Handsome…. Good post! I love sweet potatoes and try to eat them very frequently!
    Its often an unsung hero of a vegetable that people forget about.
    Have a wonderful day….
    Darrell

    • 4 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 5:09 am

      THanks. Unsung hero to be sure. I really don’t know of anybody who even considers them as an option. At least not in person, there are people here obviously. HAHAHA THanks Darrell 🙂

  3. 5 maggieapril
    February 13, 2009 at 5:41 am

    I love them sliced very thin potato-chip-style, brushed with a tiny bit of olive oil, sprinkled with sea salt and cumin and baked in a 400 degree oven until brown. (They don’t need to be flipped, but if you do more than one pan at a time you will want to rotate the pans shelf to shelf and front to back after 10-15 minutes.) They cook quick toward the end so keep a close eye on them as they start to brown. Yum!!

    • 6 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 5:43 am

      I will have to try it like that. Olive oil is always a tasty addition to. My only problem is not counting the oil.:)

    • 7 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 6:07 am

      maggieapril. Do you cook the sweet’s before you slice or just slice ’em raw and then cook?

  4. February 13, 2009 at 5:51 am

    I have recently learned that I enjoy the sweet potato…am looking forward to trying some of the suggestions listed. May have to run to the store and get a sweet potato, now. Smile. Have a great day ~ and have a great Valentine’s Day…remembering that the love you have for yourself is most important. Hugs! SAM

    • 9 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 5:52 am

      Thanks Sam. As always, you are refreshing and encouraging. Try out that sweet potato in lots of ways. It is good

  5. 10 lissa10279
    February 13, 2009 at 6:52 am

    I make baked sweet potato fries all the time (garlic, paprika, salt/pepper, toss in EVOO, voila)! My husband is from El Salvador and sweet potatoes are a dessert there so for him, it’s weird to eat them this way so I usually make him regular “fries” and me sweet potato “fries.”

    • 11 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 7:03 am

      HAHAHAHA, that is why I love them so much. They are kind of like a desser to me too. I can see where he is coming from though. Just a different meaning for a food can make it weird for people. Like some people can’t eat breakfast for dinner but I love it. 🙂

  6. February 13, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Love em! I boil em and eat em plain. They are so nummy!

  7. February 13, 2009 at 8:26 am

    I love sweet potatoes!

  8. 16 Teresa
    February 13, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Sweet potato–My Favorite. I roast mine and mash them and then sprinkle them with a little brown sugar and top with walnuts. YUM! its fun to see how others like them. I’ll definitely be trying them in some new ways.

  9. 18 cecile
    February 13, 2009 at 9:26 am

    I also love that sweet potato! yumm yumm

  10. February 13, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Try doing the same for fresh beets: scrub the beets, quarter them, and roast with olive oil, salt and pepper. I never liked them much (probably because I’d only had them canned), but I roasted some recently to put in some borscht, and WOW! Were they tasty, both alone and in the soup.

  11. 22 robfitness
    February 13, 2009 at 10:37 am

    You know I never liked , or should I say never tried, sweet potatoes until my trainer suggested them about a year ago. Even then i was very skeptical in trying them. then one day I bought some and microwaved them and since I don’t eat dairy I decided to put some chunky salsa on it and the rest is history. It was at that moment that i fell in love with them. That’s right I’m in love 🙂 Not aw eek goes by that I don’t either bake or microwave one and have then with my chicken. I’ll have to give your suggestions a try as well. After all variety is the spice of life. Thanks again for an awesome post. Then again why wouldn’t it be awesome, cause your are equally as well. I’ll e-mail you a bit about the video. I am surprised you like it. Personally I can’t stand looking at it. I just don’t like the way I sound, act or look. if that’s how i come across on a video I hate to see what people think of me in person. I’m still very critical of myself.

    • 23 run4change
      February 13, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Yeah, it seems normal for people like us to be a bit critical of ourselves. i did like the video though. I eat my sweet’s with chicken all the time too. In fact, I would take more pictures of my dinner if I didn’t eat the same stuff all the time. HAHAHA Convinience I guess. Thanks Rob.

  12. 24 maggieapril
    February 13, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    To answer your question, Jason,I just slice them raw. As thin as you can get them. I use a mandoline (this one – http://www.amazon.com/Borner-V-1001-Swissmar-V-Slicer-Plus/dp/B0000632QE/ref=pd_bbs_1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1234560647&sr=8-1). The funny thing is that I never liked baked sweet potatoes, but love them as fries or chips.

    Nice tip on the beets – always looking for veggie ideas.

  13. February 16, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Hey. I just made a yummy sweet potato as part of my yummy dinner ~ It was great. Even got my hubby to try a bite ~ thanks for the suggestion! I eat them during the holidays, but hadnt really thought about eating as part of my regular food consumption! Smile ~ SAM

  14. 28 julieinmaine
    February 19, 2009 at 5:08 am

    they are a staple for me too! I microwave them, cut into chunks and eat with a green veggie and garlic salt. YUM!

  15. 30 Leah
    March 11, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Sweet Potatoes are my friend! I love them baked and topped w/ plain nonfat greek yogurt, baked w/ lemon juice and agave nectar, mashed up like mashed potatoes, or baked sweet potato fries!


Leave a Reply

