15
Feb
09

A beautiful run. I love me a good sunset.

Sunset

I love a wonderful sunset, especially when I am on one of my weekly runs.  I just seems to turn a normal run into an epic adventure where I experience life in a different and more “living” way.  It brings me to the moment, that specific moment, where I am not thinking of the past nor the future, just thanking God for that next step.  That next intake of O2, that next swing of my arm.  It is a magical moment.

I am so thankful for that run.  I couldn’t run before.  Now I can.  Amen to that. HAHAHA 🙂  Do you guys ever have your “moments” like these.

22 Responses to “A beautiful run. I love me a good sunset.”


  1. February 15, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Pretty Picture! I am a sucker for a beautiful sunset. I have LOTS of pictures of sunsets. I think I’m going to have to do a post on just pictures of my favorite sunsets!

    • 2 run4change
      February 15, 2009 at 5:22 am

      When you do that post, make sure to comment on my blog and leave the link. I don’t want to miss that post. I loooooove sunsets

  2. 3 darrellnurse
    February 15, 2009 at 5:10 am

    I have blogged about runs like these. I love those runs where you make a spiritual connection of some sort. The day, the pace, the moment…. all perfect and you are full of Thanks.
    Wonderful entry and beautiful picture, thank you so much.
    Darrell

  3. 5 Sarah
    February 15, 2009 at 5:47 am

    Another great story, its wonderful to have moments like this.

  4. February 15, 2009 at 5:48 am

    I had a moment like that at the gym on Friday while on the treadmill. I’m starting to run a little now, I was looking at my reflection in the TV that I had turned off, I was listening to a song called breathe, which was talking about breathing through all the hard stuff you are going through, and then it hit me. I looked at my reflection and could tell for the first time that I was getting thinner. I could tell while I was jogging. Then I was thinking, Oh my gosh I’m jogging. Then I just started crying right then and there on the treadmill in the middle of the gym. It was a huge break through for me. Very surreal. I felt like I was watching this all take place on TV. Hard to explain.

    Along with the awesome moment came fear about becoming thin. I’m scared of the unknown. I’m scared of changing. Jason, I was just wondering if you could maybe do a post about being scared of being thin. I would love to know your feedback on that topic, if others have felt the same way, and how you all deal with it. Just an idea. I blogged about my fears today.

    For those of you wondering I have lost 29.2 pounds. 21.2 of it since November 8th.
    BELIEVE IN YOUR ABILITIES, NEVER QUIT, and YOU WILL SUCCEED. That quote was said to me by my great Weight Watchers leader, Kirk. I think about it all the time.

    Have a blessed Sunday.

  5. February 15, 2009 at 6:11 am

    I L-O-V-E sunsets! So much so that I remember each and every sunset I have ever seen from my vacations. I say vacations because I don’t take the time to watch too many of them in my daily life. Thanks for the reminder! I’m going to purposely run outside today and at the time when I can see the sun set. I’m envisioning the beauty of it all right now.

  6. February 15, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Not while running, yet, but I will! That’s a gorgeous sunset. 🙂

  7. February 15, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Most days I run outside I have a moment like this.

    • 14 run4change
      February 15, 2009 at 5:56 pm

      That is one of the best things about running outside. I just go back from skiing and i felt the same way up on the mountain

  8. 15 robfitness
    February 15, 2009 at 10:37 am

    What a great picture there and very serene. God oh I love a great sunrise and sunset, both are awesome gifts that God has given us and I am blessed each day that I am able to view the beauty that He has created. Being out in it is so awesome, since I just did a run outside at dusk ans when the sunset over the Las Vegas valley, a site to cherish that’s for sure.
    Hope you had an awesome Sunday and that you enjoyed all that you set out to do today. Man, I’m proud of you!

    • 16 run4change
      February 15, 2009 at 5:58 pm

      I bet they are great in vegas. I found that in Texas they were far superior than here. To many mountains and trees blocking. Texas was flat so they were HUGE

  9. 17 cecile
    February 15, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I felt like that this morning, after church I was straightening out my garage when I walked outside and picked up limbs and pinecombs that were on the ground. The sun was shinning, it was beautiful and lo and behold I noticed my little daffodils were poking through the ground.
    It felt so good to see spring aroung the corner. It will be so nice to get back out side to garden rather than clean house!

  10. February 16, 2009 at 5:05 am

    Hey doing a week of sunset pictures! You told me to let you know!! 🙂 Go on over to my blog and take a look.

  11. February 16, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Beautiful picture! I have to get back to where I love running again. The marathon yesterday was grueling. I was feeling like I never wanted to put on a pair of running shoes again.

    This picture reminds me of all I do love about running.

    Thanks!

    • 22 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 7:26 am

      I think that is so common of a feeling in the races we do. We push and it takes a lot of the fun out of it. That is why I have done pretty much all my races very casually. Anyway, I have said the same thing many times but after a little break the desire comes back


Leave a Reply

