16
Feb
09

Food, exercise, and blog encouragement

Caped MaxTo start off, I want to say thank you to each and every person who visits, reads, and comments on this blog.  You guys have no idea how encouraging you have been to me since I started this place.  The love, encouragement, advice, information, and cheering on that takes place here, not just towards me but also towards other readers, is amazing.  Run4change got it’s 3000th comment this weekend.  WOW!  Matt, at Running with Strength happened to be #3000.  Thanks Matt

Now on to the food and exercise.  I did good on my program this weekend but I was on the very edge of going off on a junk food binge.  I wanted to soo bad.  It was not so much a craving but a yearning to rebel completely against WW and self-control.  After “discussing” the difficult patch with some of you and also some people on the WW boards, I was able to break through and make the right choice:  STAY ON PROGRAM AND EAT HEALTHY.

I just did not have enough time on Saturday to do any exercise but I think I made up for it on Sunday.  I went skiing with my wife, brother, and his wife on Sunday morning.  What a wonderful time it was.  We skiied pretty much all day with a small lunch break.  I brought a lunch so I was good on the food.  When we got home I went out for a 12 mile run which was also spectacular because the weather here was perfect.  Little bit cool and sunny.  I loved the run.  It was refreshing and happy.  I am having a bit of pain in my right knee which scares the heck out of me and I am going to take it very easy for a couple of days to see where it goes.  I don’t want to get injured so time off now will reduce time off later if I get really hurt.  Never had knee issues so this is a surprise.  I ended Sunday with good, healthy eating and a movie with my wife.

How was your weekend on the healthy journey?

24 Responses to “Food, exercise, and blog encouragement”


  1. 1 somedayistoday
    February 16, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I had a pretty bad weekend…I’m hoping to get to the gym today and put the last 3 to 4 days behind me…

    • 2 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 10:02 am

      That is the perfect attitude to have. Great job. Get that junk behinds us and move on. What a great comment. Thank you for that. I really needed to hear this as I tend to dwell on the ‘junk” more than I should

  2. 3 LT
    February 16, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Wow, J – sounds like a great time on Sunday. I am so jealous that you get to ski! I’ve never been and would love to try it. Plus a 12-mile run? You probably exercise more than anyone I know. I didn’t get a lick of it in this weekend. BUT I did get my eating back under control. Yeah!

    • 4 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 10:04 am

      LT, I hope you never stopping coming. You are such an encouragement to me. Thanks for leaving a comment. Great job on getting the eating back under control. It can be quite a task sometimes to do that.

  3. 5 Teresa
    February 16, 2009 at 10:20 am

    My weekend? Not so good. I have an unhealthy relationship with sugar cookies. As it was valentines day, they were everywhere–taunting me with their creamy pink frosting and various shades of yummy sprinkles. I was not as strong as I would have hoped to be. 🙂 (and I washed them down with a lot of bubbly, fizzy POP)

    • 6 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 10:22 am

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA 🙂 Big ‘ol fizzy POP. AAAHHHHHHHH! We all have an unhealthy relationship with sugar cookies. I know I do. My sister makes these special ones for christmas. Give me 100 and I’ll eat 100. I love em. Not alone.

  4. 7 ladyc0005
    February 16, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Congratulations on making it through. Your Sunday sounded great! I used to love skiing! I miss it – I plan to ski when I get in better physical condition. I did not have such a great weekend eating (General Tso’s take out on Saturday with Hubby) but did manage to loose 1.5 lbs.
    Take Care
    Cheryl

    • 8 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 10:38 am

      Woooohoooooo!!!:) Great job on losing 1.5 That is awesome. I am loooove General Tso very very much. It is my favorite chinese food dish.

  5. February 16, 2009 at 11:17 am

    My weekend was not too good. Got a little worried (read:extremely anxious) about some things and comforted myself with food. The only saving grace was that we didn’t have much food in the house and I wasn’t going to the store. Today’s a new day.

    So glad you had victory this weekend! That’s awesome!

    • 10 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 11:18 am

      Thans for sharing. The more people comment the more I realize that we are all in this together as far as having the same kind of struggle

  6. 11 Matt
    February 16, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Glad I could be your 3000th comment! My weekend went ALMOST as planned. I scheduled ahead for my long run to be on Valentine’s Day, which burns about 1000 calories. I only went over by about 300 calories on V-Day, but ate a little less on Sunday to make up for it. Lost a pound on my weigh in this morning =)

  7. February 16, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I just love your site Jason. As someone who is just getting started I feel like I can always come here for a dose of motivation and inspiration. I know I can do this too. 🙂

    • 14 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      Congratu-freakin-lations on getting to the starting line. You are doing such a good job and you always are so encouraging on BTL. I love it when you leave comments for me. You keep up the good work and you wil make it to goal and feel great. THanks for stopping by and reading. i am glad that you get inspiration here.

  8. February 16, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Gosh you rock! The fact that despite everything you still think like I do makes me
    believe that I could make all the GREAT choices that YOU DO. Hope Hope Hope!

    As for the knee issues, I would venture to say it will get better with rest. Since you were skiing I’m sure you just put it through the wringer more than other cross-training/running. Hope after a bit of rest you’re as good as new!

  9. February 16, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Hey jason, My weekend was good. I had 1 tiny piece of cake on SUnday and felt sooo sick afterward. I have not had that much sugar in abot 6 months….my body did not appreciate it. At my going away party, “my boys” had fresh berries and natural almonds for snacks and when someone brought sugar cookies, I passed!

    For those chocoalte lovers, I was given a small tin of Godiva dark chocolate pearls. 8 pieces are only 25 calories….totally takes care of teh chocolate craving and doenst kill you on calories! Plus dark chocolate is better for you anyway!

    Now for a question. Today I ran outside for teh first time. Ran a mile over to a friends house, visited her and her new baby and ran back. It was incredibly hard. Much harder than running at the track. I found it difficult to tell how far I was running before walking but “felt” like it was jsut a short distance. My breathing also seemed like I got winded much quicker. Not sure if that is the cold michigan air or what. Did you experience this when you started running outside as opposed to indoors on a track?

    • 18 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 7:45 pm

      When you say track do actually mean A track or a treadmill. Either way, all the indoor tracks that I have seen are carpet or a rubbery material. These materials are softer and cause less impact on the legs I think. Running outside is a little more impact plus you have all the unknowns: wind, sun, rain, the elements basically. It also could have just been mental since you had now way of gauging how far you had run. That can be hard sometimes, not knowing. I have always found that it was harder to run outside than inside, but I got used to outside now I don’t want to run inside and running outside is now no longer harder than inside.

  10. February 16, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    I did sprints on teh treadmill and in the last couple weeks began running on the track as well. I can see teh elements and teh runnig surface making a difference. I also thought of the mental aspect…glad to know it isn’t jsut me sucking bad or just not wanting to do it! Thanks!

    • 20 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 8:30 pm

      Definitely not just you. I have felt that way too and I am sure, no, in fact I AM SURE that others have felt the same way

  11. 21 Mellissa
    February 16, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    My weekend was GREAT!! I haven’t missed a day of working out since last Thursday. That’s when I met with my trainer and I have wanted to be at the gym everyday. I thought that I might miss on Sunday and was bummed, but I was able to make it and try out my new running shoes. Eating was good. We went out on Valentine’s Day and I ate Bison with a plain sweet potato with steamed broccoli no butter. It was great. Sunday I overdid it a little bit at Taco Bell, but not so bad and went to the gym afterwards, so worked it off. I feel really great about my week last week and heading into this week. I look forward to what lies ahead.

    Good job staying on track this weekend. The weekends are always hard. My weigh in is on Saturday morning, so I usually want to eat whatever on Saturdays, but I have now gotten out of the habit of doing that. Everyday counts and we cannot take a day off of eating healthy.

    Thanks for your encouragement always on here. You are the best.

    • 22 run4change
      February 17, 2009 at 5:39 am

      Thanks for sharing your great successes with us. i appreciate that. I love to see fellow partners on the journey doing well. And thank you for your encouragement

  12. February 17, 2009 at 10:26 am

    And thank YOU for your blog. It’s encouragement to me in my pursuit of fitness.


Leave a Reply

