16
Feb
09

Interesting article about endurance training, heart rate, and running

Just a short post to point anyone interested in articles about training for long-distance endurance events.  The article talks about a Hawaii Ironman Triathlete who advocates a particular heart rate goal for training runs.  I found the article useful as well as interesting.  Here is the link:

Do long miles at low heart rate build a better engine

4 Responses to “Interesting article about endurance training, heart rate, and running”


  1. February 16, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Hmm…a bit of a naysayer. I’ve been trying the low hr thing for a while now and I suspect it’s made me slower. We’ll know for sure after my Half Marathon this weekend.

    • 2 run4change
      February 16, 2009 at 3:15 pm

      HA! I found it a good read. I am sure that you will do great in your half marathon. Good luck. Slow running never did make me slower, but I was pretty out of shape when I started too. Maybe just running period will make you faster.

  2. February 16, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I didn’t understand a lot of the technical talk in the article, but I have been keeping my heart rate as low as I can for the past month or so of my running. I figure, what can it hurt, right? I’m running slow, but my heart rate is low. I figure I can build my endurance to the running by keep the HR low. I’ll sprint for only a couple of minutes towards the end of my run. Other than that, I keep it slow and low.

    P.S. I ran 10K yesterday. Just around the neighborhood. But I proved to myself that I can run a 10K if I want to. My pace time was slow, though. But at least I did it and I feel great about it!


Leave a Reply

