17
Feb
09

Enticing tamales and a good alternative. Food post

Tamales

I love Mexican Food.  It is by far my favorite type of food.  A friend of mine gave me a couple of pounds of tamales the other day.  These are real and authentic tamales.  Nothing fake or anything, truly hand-made.  They were really tasty and they are the precise reason why I ended up eating to many of my points the other day.   In my weight watchers points book, two of these relatively small yummies pack 9 points.  Now that is a lot of points because for most people two tamales is not going to end up giving you that “satisfied” feeling in the tummy even though they are yummy.

I have been trying to post about some alternatives to the food we like.  Real life things that we can eat that will replace the stuff that we like that don’t help us stay healthy.  These tamales were great, but since I had several pounds of them I was tempted all day long to eat more than just two.  Is there a more healthy way to prepare these so that we can enjoy a few more?

Here is are some alternative recipes for tamales that will give you a few extra servings to enjoy.

Chicken and Red Chili Tamales:  2 points each instead of four

Weight Watchers Chicken Tamale Pie:  4 points per serving.  Almost the same points but slightly larger serving.

There are not a ton of options for low calorie tamales as they lend themselves to be a bit on the heavy side.  That is why they are so tasty 🙂  Here is another pic of the whole batch of the grease laden yummies.  I shared them with everyone and gave the remainder away.

Tamales 2

10 Responses to “Enticing tamales and a good alternative. Food post”


  1. February 17, 2009 at 8:38 am

    I’ve made that weight watchers chicken tamale pie, and it was pretty tasty. I spend a lot of time playing the “Eat this, not that” game too, but I’ve found that I like some of the “alternatives” even better than the originals.

    Those tamales look so yummy!

    • 2 run4change
      February 17, 2009 at 8:40 am

      Sweetie, that is always the most welcome bonus isn’t it. When the healthy alternative tastes better and is more enjoyable than the original. Thanks for stopping by. I love you blog and love it when you come by and comment

  2. 3 robfitness
    February 17, 2009 at 9:49 am

    And you never thought of that instead of eating so many you could have sent some to me here in Las Vegas. 🙂 They do look good though. I have to be honest though, never even tried one! They just didn’t look right to em. Then again, looks are deceiving right. After all what’s important is what is in the inside compared to what the outer looks like, right? Another great post my friend…

    • 4 run4change
      February 17, 2009 at 9:57 am

      HAHAHAHAHA, I only ate two but you are right about tamales having their true essence on the inside. good note. Thanks Rob. We’re nice shredded beef, onions, peppers, cheese, etc. on the inside. HAHA Maybe it is a good thing we can’t see that part

  3. February 17, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Homemade, real tamales are so good. I don’t know that there is a good alternative to keep you from eating more than two other than to keep the rest in another place. 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      February 17, 2009 at 9:01 pm

      THanks Steve for stopping by and leaving a comment. Leaving the extras in another place is certainly the best way 🙂

  4. 7 AmyJoGo
    February 22, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I’m originally from New Mexico and LOoooOOOVE tamales. Seriously, I’m a girl and I could easily eat a dozen a day. You should try making them yourself. We do it every Christmas and it’s not that hard though it is a bit time consuming. Most storebrand tamales are made with pork or beef and NOT the lean sides of pork or beef either. So, if you’re going to do tamales, go with chicken. Season the heck out of it with red chile powder, garlic, onion, S & P. When you’re ready to do the masa (the yummy corn based coating), look for the masa mix that does not have lard or make your own with a combo of cornmeal, flour, water, baking powder(or soda…I get them confused!).

    Wow. The bad thing about these foodie blogs is how HUNGRY they make me.

    ~amy

    • 8 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 4:57 am

      AMy- HAHAHAHA. I know. The food pics on the blogs always make me want to eat whether the food is healthy or not it doesn’t matter. 🙂

  5. 9 AmyJoGo
    February 22, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Ok…I’m a dork. For some reason the alternative links you posted didn’t show up on my screen until after I’d already commented. You’re on the right track with that first recipe alternative, though I’ve never heard of adding cinnamon or cloves to tamales. Bet it would taste good though!

    Oh yeah, we also have something called dulce tamales. Totally not good for everyday consumption, but it’s corn masa mixed with coconut flakes and a little sweetened condensed milk to make a paste. then you chop up nuts (pecans, walnuts, almonds and macadamias), add more coconut and a little more sweetened condensed milk. roll it into a corn husk and steam as usual.

    Alright. Got new shoes today and really need to break them in now that I’m having phantom food cravings so I’m walking away from the blog. 😉

    ~amy


Leave a Reply

