18
Feb
09

I watched biggest loser last night

the-biggest-loserSince I was at my sister’s house for dinner last night, we watched Biggest Loser.  I am really enjoying this season of the show as there appears to be a bit more heart involved in it.  You can never be absolutely sure if people are being genuine since it is a game and being loving and nice could just be a tactical move.  As I watched the show I pondered on a couple of things that are relevant to my own journey.

I wanted to share those thoughts quickly with you because I feel they were a big part of my success.

 

 

 

  • It is very difficult to do great on your own, but you are on your own.  Last night’s show displayed a lot of care between opponents.  They helped each other up the mountain and cheered each other on.  This is all good.  Jillian said to one of the girls who was having a hard time that she WAS on her own.  This was interesting.  Despite people helping us and cheering us on, we are very much on our own journey.  Nobody can make the decision to eat right or go work out for us.  They can urge us in the right direction but the can’t make us.  Our success is up to us in each choice we make.
  • It is important to learn that you can do more than you thought you could. I thought of this during the rowing machine challenge.  It is obvious that several of the people just don’t believe they can do it.  This takes time to develop.  After running my first ultra marathon I learned that I and others can do  a lot more than we think.
  • Despite being injured, you can still lose weight.  I got this from the dad who has the hurt knee.  He cannot exercise at the level that everyone else can but he lost 7 pounds for the week.  So even if we are busy, injured, or for some other reason can’t exercise for the optimal amount of time; we can still lose weight with proper eating and doing what we can.

Those are the neat things I was pondering on.  It is so nice to have all of you to support me and I love to support you.  Thanks for reading and remember that in each situation we all have to make the best choice for our health.

20 Responses to “I watched biggest loser last night”


  1. 1 somedayistoday
    February 18, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Those are the exact same things I observed in last nights show as well. We are all in this together but it’s up to us to make it happen…support and encouragement are essential to success of us doing thing on our own!

  2. 3 robfitness
    February 18, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    It looks like I missed another great episode there. I too know that it is up to me to ultimately change and do what I need to do to be successful. Having you and all the other guys and gals on here to support and encourage me is a great added bonus that really does help me on this journey and I am forever grateful for you and the others. A really good post again and it really did tie in to what we talked about earlier today so thanks for helping me realize so much.
    I had a nice 15 mile bike run too. My butt doesn’t hurt but my “boy’s do 🙂 Toke a fall as well and hurt my right wrist and blooded up me knee. I will survive though because I am a fighter. 🙂
    Thanks again Man!

    • 4 run4change
      February 18, 2009 at 3:45 pm

      HAHAHAHEHEHEHEHEH. Funny funny funny. 🙂 I was thinking about trying to ride a bike again. if not for exercise, itwould be fun. I always loved riding a bike but I had a horrible situation where a lady lied that I hit her on my bicycle and sued me to take care of her wages for the rest of her life. I will have to tell you about it sometime. I got sued for riding a freakin bike. She said I hit her and permenantly disabled her so badly that she couldn’t even do a desk job. She went to the doctors and they said all was good but a week later another doctor said she was disabled. Very bad. Haven’t been on a bike since.

  3. 5 robfitness
    February 18, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    After what you went through I guess I’d be a bit traumatized and not to anxious about getting on a bike again. I can hardly imagine how one can do that much damage to another person from riding a bike. I guess there is scam artist out there looking for an opportunity. I ride for the training but I do enjoy it as fun as well. So give it some thought and give it a try if your up to it. It’s another great way that you and your wife can spend some fun times together and get in a bit of exercise as well. A great way to bond with one another as well.

    • 6 run4change
      February 18, 2009 at 4:10 pm

      I may just give it a shot. Who knows, knowing me I will probably get addicted and up at the Ironman Hawaii finish line with you at 16:59 screaming like a crazy man that I did it. HAHAHAHA

  4. 7 robfitness
    February 18, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    You crack me up, man 🙂 Sound like a plan to me. I’ll be there. Or we could do a d2 man relay wer I do the biking and you do the running. We would surely win. I have this vision in my head now of you and your arms all waving saying “I did it..I did it” Like in the Rocky movies.

  5. February 18, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I said exactly what you wrote (maybe not exact words but thoughts) to my Mom on the phone today when we were talking about the show… I think just like you about the show and about weight loss.. We are on our own. We NEED support however, still we need to make our own choices about what is most important to us.
    Health or 5 minutes of a good taste in our mouths…I have learned there are foods that taste good AND are good for us (well me)!
    Thanks for sharing Jason.

  6. 11 Rhonda
    February 18, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    That’s a really great post! You’re right, too. It is just us ~alone. I’m feeling very motivated. Thanks Jason. 😉

    • 12 run4change
      February 18, 2009 at 9:38 pm

      That is great that you are now motivated. Very cool. Keep on keeping on and thanks for stopping by and commenting

  7. February 19, 2009 at 4:16 am

    *epic music and slow motion camera shots*

    • 14 run4change
      February 19, 2009 at 5:49 am

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. YOu got p4. I think of you every single time I see the show now after that comment you made. HAHA

  8. 15 Angela
    February 19, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Thanks Jason. You’re like my own personal Apostle, please compile these journal entries into a Runners Bible. As I sit here with ice on my knee, seething because I have to lay off the running, I can’t help feeling like the one sitting on the curb watching all my friends running by. Thanks for the hundredth reminder that this isn’t about being perfect or running a 50-miler. Just please forgive the little pout as I bike instead of run for a few weeks. *sniff sniff*

    • 16 run4change
      February 19, 2009 at 6:59 am

      You will be alright. I also just sent you an email that I am pretty sure will make you laugh praise Gog. 🙂 The bike will work the calories off too. Don’t you worry.

  9. February 20, 2009 at 12:17 am

    I liked the no gym access for all but 2 teams. Jillian went old school aerobics and Bob got very creative with what was around them. Yet it was one of those 2 teams with gym access that was below the yellow line. Very motivating show and you have some great take aways.


Leave a Reply

