19
Feb
09

Health Benifits of weight loss & the health risks of obesity: “WEIGH” your options

Winter runner

Fat guy with the "fat" mind 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TO LEARN MORE ABOUT LOSING WEIGHT AND THE WEIGHT LOSS JOURNEY.  SUBSCRIBE HERE.

I just got a hankering to do a simple post on the health benefits of weight loss and the health risks associated with being obese.  Not everyone who wants to lose weight is considered obese, but I was when I started so that is the angle that i am going to take.  When I was over-weight, I didn’t need anyone to tell me.  I could obviously see it, feel, and hate it just as easily as anyone could.  I was always breathing hard, couldn’t tie my shoes easily, constantly pulling my shirt away from my stomach, and trying to avoid the mirrors.  The main reason I wanted to lose weight was that I felt so emotionally bad about my weight.  I never really even considered the health risks associated with being obese.

Many of us have toed the starting line of our weight loss journeys in an attempt to look better.  There is nothing wrong with this at all.  Anything that gets us to the starting line will eventually give us all the benefits of weight loss.  If you are trying to decide whether you should start the journey or not, here are some risks associate with not starting as well as some benefits associated with starting.  If you are on the journey or maybe just trying to maintain, read on to be encouraged about what you are accomplishing in your life and in your body.

Here are some of the risks associate with being over-weight/obese that I got from About.Com’s weight loss section and the Center for desease control:

  • High blood cholesterol, dyslipidemia
  • Insulin resistance, glucose intolerance
  • Congestive heart failure
  • Cholescystitis and cholelithiasis
  • Gout
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Some types of cancer (such as endometrial, breast, prostate, and colon)
  • Complications of pregnancy
  • Poor female reproductive health (such as menstrual irregularities, infertility, irregular ovulation)
  • Bladder control problems (such as stress incontinence)
  • Psychological disorders (such as depression, eating disorders, distorted body image, and low self- esteem)
  • Here are the benefits of weight loss as referenced from the above resources:

  • Increased energy level
  • Lower your cholesterol levels
  • Reduce your blood pressure
  • Reduced aches and pains
  • Improved mobility
  • Improve your breathing
  • Help you sleep better and wake more rested
  • Prevention of angina, chest pain caused by decreased oxygen to the heart
  • Decreases your risk of sudden death from heart disease or stroke
  • Prevention of Type 2 diabetes
  • Improved blood sugar levels
  • I hope that this little tid bit of information will help those of you wondering if you should start the weight loss journey.  Maybe these pro’s & con’s will allow you to weigh your options in a more knowledgeable way.  Good luck and keep on keeping on.

    11 Responses to “Health Benifits of weight loss & the health risks of obesity: “WEIGH” your options”


    1. February 19, 2009 at 4:09 am

      Thanks for the reminder. One thing that Weight Watchers does that I love is have you set a 10% of your weight goal, so I started at 306 pounds, so my first goal was/is 30 pounds. It has been proven just losing 10% of your weight starts reversing the bad affects that you listed above and then it only gets better from there. I know that this Saturday I will have lost my 10% goal, so I am very happy and can tell already that I am feeling better. I am very blessed that, even though obese, I never had any of the above mentioned problems and I am glad that I am doing something now, so that I won’t EVER have these problems. I just wish my mom would have learned all this. She died at 53 from cancer, but she also died Obese. I often wonder if she would have taken better care of herself and lost the weight if she would still be with us. If you are just thinking about starting out please take that first step. We are here for you. If you think Weight Watchers is the way to go you will find so much support there. Don’t be embarrassed. You can do it. You are worth it and you deserve it. Come along on this journey with us.

      • 2 run4change
        February 19, 2009 at 5:48 am

        What a wonderful and encouraging comment Melissa. Thank you for contributing and making the atmosphere here loving, accepting, and inspiring.

    2. February 19, 2009 at 4:14 am

      I still pull my shirt away from my stomach and avoid mirrors.

    3. February 19, 2009 at 4:57 am

      Jason your pictures still amaze me. You have the best attitude. I guess you have two ‘fans’ called rebecca so I thought I would distinguish myself in the name box. I notice you got us confused last week! 🙂 Great post! Keep the pictures coming! When I am on the treadmill I often think of the picture of you running in the sun at a marathon. One of the ones on your story page. So keep ’em coming! I visualize them for motivation!

      • 6 run4change
        February 19, 2009 at 5:51 am

        OOPS:) Sorry about that. It can get confusing sometimes when I have a lot of comments come in and there are same names involved. I like your idea. Thank you so much for the encouragement I truly appreciate it Rebecca of fatfitnessfood 🙂

    4. February 19, 2009 at 7:46 am

      great post, and great reminder! It’s easy to forget how many health benefits we give ourselves when we take care of ourselves.

      • 8 run4change
        February 19, 2009 at 7:50 am

        It is wonderful that just making some simply but amazing lifestyle changes can produce such huge benifits.

    5. 9 Teresa
      February 19, 2009 at 9:37 am

      Fabulous post. I often need a reminder of the reason why I’m on this journey. I’ve lost 88 pounds, but recently gained 23 back, and this is an excellent reminder of why I don’t want to be going in the wrong direction. Even though I still have a long way to go (120ish pounds) I have seen amazing health related benefits with the weight I’ve lost. I’m not longer taking oral diabetic medications and my A1C is hanging steady at 5.6, my cholesterol has improved greatly (with a drop from 222 to 96 in triglycerides), I’ve been told I can taper off my blood pressure meds, etc.

      And — I noticed just the other night while I was shoveling some very heavy snow how much easier it was to do so than it was last year. I did in 20 minutes what would have taken me almost an hour just a year ago — and IT FELT GREAT!


    Leave a Reply

