20
Feb
09

Good body day. Feelin’ skinny

Me JasonDo you ever have a good hair day? HAHAHA  What about a good body day?  Do you ever have those tiny moments where you see yourself and say, “Wow, I look pretty good today!!”  Today is one of those days for me.  I got out of bed this morning and walked to the bathroom to brush my teeth, low and behold the mirror was in full effect.

Usually I am like, “UGH”.  But today was a good body day.  A day were my body image probably matched up to reality.  I looked OK to myself.  I was really excited actually.  With the three pounds lost and 7 more to go, I am seeing a bit more abs in my mirror image.  My chest seemed to look less boobyish.  My arms looked just that little bit more defined.  Mostly though it was my stomach that made me feel good.  It just looked better and felt smaller.

I have the suspicion that this is how I usually look in the mirror and that the change was in my mind.  I am not saying that only in my mind did I look OK, what I am saying is that I only look BAD in my mind rather than in reality.  Weird body image issues which I am sure many of you can relate to. 

So I am feeling good mentally and physically today.  How are you?  Do you ever have those ‘Good body” days?

31 Responses to “Good body day. Feelin’ skinny”


  1. 1 somedayistoday
    February 20, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I love those “good body” days….and I have a long way to go before I have a “good body”! It’s been a while, about 2 weeks since I’ve felt good and liked the way I looked that day.

  2. February 20, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Jason, funny that you would write about having a “good body” day. Just on Wednesday this week I wrote on my blog, that I was feeling particularly “cute” that day…funny how we try to take care of ourselves, and know that we are doing better, but we only have “good body” days every once in awhile. I say we should have good body days, every day…Own where we are in the process and keep moving forward. Have a great weekend and thanks for your blog ~ you are light in the world of darkness. Smile, SAM

    • 4 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 10:06 am

      You know, your comment meant a lot to me right now and it really touched me. I am so glad that the blog helps.

  3. February 20, 2009 at 10:44 am

    oh yea, I have those days. I don’t know what makes them happen or what keeps them away, but I love the days when everything comes together.

  4. 7 RobFitness
    February 20, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Those Good Body Days” . I think I remember having one of those days myself 🙂 Let me think.. Oh yea the other day i was at the gym an of course there are mirrors every where. By the way what’s with that? 🙂 Well anyways I was walking past this one huge wall mirror by the stationary bikes and happened to glimpse at it and had to take a second look because I really didn’t recognize who it was, and it was ME. I didn’t realize that I look that good and slimmer. 🙂 What a nice feeling that was. I know I will have more days like that, but for now I’ll always remember that one day when I had trouble, for a moment, recognizing who I was. It was quite refreshing.

    • 8 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 11:15 am

      I think they put those mirrors in to make us think we look fat so we keep on going to the gym. 🙂 Only problem is that they usually scare everyone off by the three month mark. HAHAHA Tough business to be in I bet. Short term customers. I does feel good huh 🙂

  5. 9 Ms Oblivious
    February 20, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Body issues are awful! No matter what other people think of us, it is hard to see it sometimes. That’s so great! ps – I think I have a crush on your chin dimple.

  6. February 20, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Ya, I do have good body image days. I do think it’s in the mind. Doesn’t always apply to what I have on. Sometimes I feel fat in clothes that on other days make me feel skinny. What’s with that? LOL. I hate gyms because of the mirrors – or the glass at night reflecting like a mirror. LOL. I felt ten pounds heavier last night than I do today too. Strange.

    • 12 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 11:25 am

      Oh ya, the glass at night warps it really bad. 🙂 I remember looking like a bloated batman riding the eliptical one night. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by

  7. 13 RobFitness
    February 20, 2009 at 11:32 am

    I think Jason needs a bit of a shave though. Is it that cold there or is your razor broken 🙂

    • 14 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 11:35 am

      I get that from my dad and bro all the time 🙂 My wife like the stubble so that is how I keep it. I have a little razor that keeps it short. Just havn’t done it for a couple of days.

  8. 15 RobFitness
    February 20, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Same here dude. I hear that quite a bit from my Dad as well and still do when I visit him. Would love to have my goatee back but work only allows me to have a mustache. No beards or other facial hair is not allowed. The plus though, I have a job when others aren’t as blessed right now. My prayers to go out to those people. Sorry to get off the subject a bit.

  9. 17 lissa10279
    February 20, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    That’s awesome, Jason!!! What a huge step! I have to admit, I haven’t had one of those days in years now. But when I first lost weight and was learning to appreciate my leaner frame, I would run my hands over my hips and notice the bones popping out … I got a high from that, sadly.

    Now that I’ve gained some weight and “evened out,” per se, I can feel them but can’t see them. And I’m not really ok with that. I liked looking lean, but certainly not skinny.

    The danger for me, personally, with the “body love” approach is it is all or nothing. I love my body or hate it. So it’s a struggle to find balance where I can look in the mirror and not nit-pick but also not get a high off the reflection, either.

    I’m still “me” staring back.

    • 18 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 1:12 pm

      Such a good point. It is not easy to find the balance. I tend to be like you in that way. All or nothing like. Thanks for stopping by and contributing to the post and blog. Have a wonderful day

  10. 19 cecile
    February 20, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I also felt like that today. I don’t mean the mirror part but the sun was shinning and all of a sudden your whole attitude changes. (I love your stubbles, but I’d love you even if you had tatto’s and piercings)

  11. 21 maggieapril
    February 20, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    “My chest seemed to look less boobyish.” HA!

    After an 88 pound loss, mine too, these days. But for me, that is NOT a good thing!

    • 22 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 1:20 pm

      HAHAHAHA. funny. I am so proud of you for that 88. Man that is a lot of weight. Thanks for the comment. My moobies hurt so I must go now. 🙂

  12. 23 athleticme
    February 20, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    I haven’t had a good body day where the mirror is concerned in, well, a really long time. I occasionally have a good body day when considering what I’m able to do now that I haven’t for a long time and I’m looking forward to the day when the mirror catches up. 🙂

  13. 25 Candice
    February 20, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    This is funny because before even knowing what your post was about, I thought (no disrespect to your wife or my fiance) Jason looks really cute in this picture!

  14. February 21, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Yep, I have those days. It’s weird how some days you feel good about yourself and not others. Glad today was a good one for you!

    • 28 run4change
      February 21, 2009 at 9:03 am

      Thans Teresa for your encouragement. It is nice to have the good ones sometimes. I am sure they will become more prevelant.

  15. February 21, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Looking a little less boobyish is always a good thing, eh? You made me smile.


Leave a Reply

