20
Feb
09

Weight loss caused loose skin. To remedy with surgery or live with the flap

image credit: img155.imageshack.us

image credit: img155.imageshack.us

I have been thinking more and more about this loose skin subject.  I am seriously considering doing it now.  Not to long ago I posted on this subject and kind of came to the conclusion that I should not get a tummy tuck/abdominoplasty.  I am slowly moving in the direction of getting it done now.  i am tired of seeing the extra fat/skin on my lower stomach.    As I said a couple of days ago, sometimes I have a “good body day” where I don’t mind it so much, but most of the time I just stare at it.  I think about how it hangs there and how I wish it was gone.

So here I am again.  Back at the drawing board trying to decide whether or not to cut off my stomach or not.  I am mostly worried about two major issues.  Well, major issues in my mind at least:

  1. I am so scared of going under with anesthesia
  2. I am worried about not being able to exercise during the recovery and whether or not I will be able to maintain my weight during that period.

Recently, I have been told some things about these two issues from people who have gone through with it.  One person said that they were able to get local anaesthesia instead of going all the way under because they only got the skin removed and had no work done on the abs.  Most women have ab work done because of prior pregnancies, but I don’t have that issue.  This is the thing that really got me thinking about doing the surgery.  The other issue was that all of the people I talked to either stayed the same or lost during the recovery.  Of course they all gained at first from swelling but after the basic 6 week no-exercise rule they lost or stayed the same.  This is looking pretty promising.

Subscribe HERE to make sure you get updates on whether I do the surgery or not!!

I am going to try and get with some doctors about this and discuss what the options are.  If I do it, I would like to do it in October after the Portland Marathon.  I will keep you all posted as to what I learn and how the visits with the doctors go.

If I do go through with it, I will start taking and posting the real pics of my lose skin as to document the change.

26 Responses to “Weight loss caused loose skin. To remedy with surgery or live with the flap”


  1. 1 RobFitness
    February 20, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    No matter what you decide man we still love ya with or without the loose skin. Like I have mentioned before it’s what’s inside of you that matters more than the outside appearance. Inside you have a heart of gold and I know know matter what that will always be there. Since I can’t afford to do something of that nature I’ll forever have to live with the loose skin. I know it’s not any easy decision but whatever you decide you have my support 100%. Also you have to do what’s best for you and only you know that.

    • 2 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 4:33 pm

      Hey thanks Rob. I am not all the way sure, but I am getting close to it. I’ve got Jesus and all, but I am so afraid of going under the sleepy medicine. I mean I will have a panic attack and probably fold and leave the room right before the dude injects me. That is no joke. I did it with my hand surgery. I was gonna leave and I was crying and stuff. HAHAHA Finally the dude said they could do a nerve block instead and all was fine. I was awake during surgery with no pain either.

  2. 3 RobFitness
    February 20, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I can see why you would be scared. I never have had any surgery that I needed any type of anesthesia, just mild pain killers. But the thought of being put to sleep like that I can see can be a bit nerve racking. By the way real men do cry 🙂 Why not just live with the way you are and accept it as part of the journey. Kind of like a war wound from all the weight loss. Since you won’t show the loose skin I guess I can’t yet understand why you would want it done. If your wife accepts and loves you the way you are then why change a good thing that God created.. Like I said whatever you decide you know you’ll have my support. In know way I hope you don’t think I am being judgmental towards you. I hope I don’t come across that way, my friend.

    • 4 run4change
      February 20, 2009 at 5:04 pm

      YOu don’t come across that way at all. This post is the conversation that goes on in my head and I am just sharing it. I am feeling better about getting it taken off, but I am not there yet. HAHA 🙂

  3. 5 athleticme
    February 20, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I worry a lot about the loose skin issue and can totally understand why you are considering it. It never hurts to check things out, talk to the experts, and get all of the facts. I’m sure you will make the best decision for you and I’ll be in your corner whatever you decide.

  4. 7 darrellnurse
    February 20, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Jason…. you are pretty every day!!
    You are a very handsome man.
    As for the surgery do it!! My ex boy friend lost tons of weight like you did and his abdomen looked IDENTICAL to yours after he lost weight. He had the surgery and never looked back!
    Do it Jason, you will have no regrets….
    Best of Luck
    Darrell

  5. February 20, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Hey Jason,

    I’m with Rob on this one. No matter what you decide I’ll be here for you too. I’ve had this conversation often with my husband. He says that he’ll love me not matter what, but that he wants me to be able to love myself as well and if we are in a spot where we can afford the surgery and I want it he will support me. So that brings me to the question of your lovely wife? What does she have to say about the procedure? Does she want you to do it? Is she afraid of you having the surgery? What are her thoughts? I know ultimately that it is your choice, but I am wondering her opinion.

    You are an incredible person and have accomplished so much. If this will help you to continue on in your journey than go for it. I will be praying for you that Christ will give you peace about what needs to be done regarding this surgery and that you will be led to the right doctors.

    Take care my friend,
    Melissa

    • 10 run4change
      February 21, 2009 at 4:45 am

      I’ll be on the journey regardless of getting my stomach cut off or not. Audrey is excited for me if that is what I want to do. She knows the risks but she is not worried about the surgery part as she is not a worrier like me at all 🙂

  6. February 20, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    If I had the money…I would do it in a heartbeat…without a second thought! By the time I get to that point, I want to be able to wear a bathing suit and not worry about it…and ultimately I dont ever want to be self conscious with my husband, whoever he may be! I am sure he will love me regardless….but still…

  7. February 20, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    dang I didn’t finish my thoughts….whatever you decide for you though Jason….YOU get to decide. I don’t think anyone will think any more or less of you if you do or don’t do it. Ultimately, you live with the skin or not!

  8. 15 Candice
    February 20, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Since you think about it/look at it all the time, I say get it done. I do understand your concerns with going under and the six weeks of no exercise however. I would be more concerned with the 6 weeks off, but you know yourself enough to know that you are not going to become a couch potato as a result of this procedure.

    • 16 run4change
      February 21, 2009 at 4:46 am

      That was very encouraging Candic. I hope and pray that I would not become a couch potato. I don’t think I will but it is a fear

  9. February 20, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I would never go under for cosmestic reasons. Local maybe but still…

  10. 19 donna
    February 20, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Hi Jason,I wanted to tell you something that maybe will ease your mind a little about being put under in surgery.You know I am a very large person and Ive always had the mindset that because of my size that anethesia is not safe for me and in reality being very large it really is a bigger risk.So I believe that is what is on your mind too,but you dont have to have that fear any longer because you are slim now and the risk is very low for you thank God.I say have the surgery because it will make you more comfortable in many ways and you deserve to be good to yourself,you earned it.So close your eyes and relax.

  11. 21 ladlam
    February 21, 2009 at 3:26 am

    Jason does the loose skin not tighten over time? I can definitely understand why you’d want it gone, but if it happens naturally I know I personally would much rather just wait for it to happen!
    And I hope you don’t make such a big decision based on whether you’ll lose a teeny bit of weight afterwards or not, surely you’re trim enough now to not be needing to make that sort of decision.

    • 22 run4change
      February 21, 2009 at 4:50 am

      I will give it about 9 more months ladlam. It has not gotten any smaller at all since hitting goal weight. I don’t want to get it taken off for weight reason at all. I am not conerned one bit with how much weight it will take off. I have wondered how much it would take off but I am sure it would be minimal.

  12. 23 ladlam
    February 21, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    That’s good to hear Jason. I’m sure I would have a bit of trouble putting up with it myself if it didn’t eventually stretch back to normal on it’s own!

  13. 25 rhonda
    February 23, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Hey Jason! I can understand your fears when it comes to the surgery. You’ve come so far and have worked so hard. I think if this is what will make you feel and look better, then by all means go for it. I would probably research the doctors thoroughly and talk to people who’ve had it done first. I say why not? I think this would be very good for your self esteem!
    Good luck in whatever you decide.


Leave a Reply

