23
Feb
09

I had a baaaaad weight loss, exercise, and health weekend!

image credit: files.blog-city.com

image credit: files.blog-city.com

I did not have a good weekend.  Make sure to take note of the progression from not so bad to ultra bad all because of my stinkin thinkin.  Sure, the good thing was that I was happy and had a wonderful time with my wife, but my food was baaaaaad!  My food adventure started out on Friday night.  On Friday night I went out to eat with my dad which was great but for the day I ate 73 WW points.   I counted all of these points up so I was doing pretty good at that point but I was on the verge of giving up on counting because I had to estimate a lot and I felt that I wasn’t perfect enough in my counting.

Saturday came along and I was excited because it was supposed to be my Saturday off.  I get most of every other Saturday off.  I just go into work to make sure all is well and then leave.  Well, this Saturday all was not well and three people were missing.  I had to stay at work.  I brought no lunch, no water, no nothin.  I was so pissed off about having to be at work I made excuses to be unhealthy.  I went and bought some chew and I ate off the lunch wagon at my lunch time.  Not only that, but I was a total grumpy face to everyone around me.  My lunch cost my 15 points so I decided I was just going to eat and chew all weekend and not care anymore.  Read on to discover the even darker side of the weekend.

Finally, I just said screw it during work and went running.  I ran ten miles and did great on the run.  All went well and I started to feel more positive about the day and my health journey.  After the run I went home and got ready to go skiing.  My wife had packed nice and healthy WW food for me to eat on the way up to the mountianand plenty of good snacks.  We skied for hours and had a wonderful time together.  I stayed on plan the whole time there.  However, when I got home I at about 10 mint oreo cookies from Trader Joes.  They were so good and luckily I stopped at 10.  HAHAHA

On Sunday I slept in with my wife and we went to church.  I had a 16 mile run planned for Sunday.  I just run home from church and my wife drives home.  THE RUN WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT FOR ME!!!  I made it nine miles and called my wife to come and pick me up.  This was the first DNF (did not finish) that I can remember.  I just could not go on.  I made it 10.5 miles by the time my wife got there but my legs were very tired, and I just wanted to cry.  I probably could have made it but it felt injury laden rather than just “hard” if that makes sense.  I don’t want to get injured so I called it quits.  I was still in a pretty good mood but inside I was just saying, “Screw it.!!  Today I eat what I want and I don’t count sh…”

I did not count anything except what I ate before church.  I had some cookies at church, a salad bar buffet for lunch where I ate pizza, bread, lots of Ceasar Salad, and two bowls of ice cream loaded with peanuts.  I ate more oreos when I got home.  I chewed tobacco all day.  For dinner I ate two chile verde burritos from Trader Joes with loads of cheddar cheese which I have not eaten for months and months.  After that I ate more cookies, popcorn, and other stuff that I cannot recall anymore.

Recap of the progression:

  • All was well on Friday and I went out to eat some very rich food.  The day cost me 73 points but I had the extra points and AP’s available for it.
  • After eating the dinner I started to “give up” in my mind by saying it was to confusing to try and estimate all that I ate and that maybe I won’t be counting this weekend.
  • Saturday I got emotionally upset because of work and even though I started out healthy I fell off the deep end of food and stuff.  I bought some chew and stopped counting all together.
  • After work I got back on track with a run and healthy eating all night until I got home and chowed some oreas.
  • Sunday’s run was a DNF and I just gave up completely and did not count anything I ate for the rest of the day and gave myself the liberty to eat whatever I wanted.

Today I am back on track as normal and will take responsibility for what the scale says on Tuesday.  I will eat a bit less today and tomorrow to try and make up for the “mess” but it mostly likely won’t help.  We will see.  Welcome to the dark side of the moon. HAHAHAHA 🙂

39 Responses to “I had a baaaaad weight loss, exercise, and health weekend!”


  1. February 23, 2009 at 10:24 am

    these days happen to the best of us! make sure to not eat UNDER your daily points – at least eat those so you won’t end up super hungry tomorrow.

    deprivation is not the answer to an indulgence.

    • 2 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 10:25 am

      I just moved my daily point to the “lose weight” amound of points instead of the maintenance points. Thanks for your comment and support Brandi

  2. 3 Kim
    February 23, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Whoa! I was wondering how you were doing yesterday! It is crazy how one negative thought can send us into a spiral of unknown proprtions! SO sorry you had a rough weekend, but I am glad you are back on track. I too am afraid for the scale tomorrow. But like you, I will own it, unless it is by some miracle, a loss, in which case..all praise to God cuz I had ntohing to do with it!

    Keep pressing in….you are DOING this THANG!!

    • 4 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 10:26 am

      HAHAHAHA, Kim you got that so right. I own it if I gain but this week if I lose God gets all the gloray. Thanks

  3. 5 AmyJoGo
    February 23, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Keep on keepin’ on.

    You had a hard time this week. We all do. Don’t be so stinkin’ hard on yourself. Give yourself some of that grace and mercy that you’ve so freely given to us when we mess up.

    And good for you that you at least made the effort to work out this weekend! So many of us would have just said to heck with the workout period. You did workout.

    Your body is a machine because you’ve turned it into one. But at the same time you are human and consequently make errors in judgement. Don’t lose sight of the joy that got you to this point. Do you think it’s possible that you’re so focused on losing those extra 7 pounds that you’ve lost sight of the joy you have for running or more important, the joy you have now that you’re the healtiest you’ve ever been?

    ~Amy

    • 6 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 10:48 am

      I do lose sight at times. The times are not that lengthy though. That day and a half was really it. I even had “the sight” during that time I just decided to ignore it. HAHAHA 🙂

  4. February 23, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Yep. That sounds like a bad “food” weekend. The good news is that you really are in control…and you can decide to make different choices today, and moving forward. You have already proven that you can do it ~ so you will be fine. Be blessed! SAM

    • 8 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 11:47 am

      Thanks Sam. I will be fine. You are right. I am rollin just fine today. Feelin good too. Not weighed down with guilt either. 🙂

  5. 9 athleticme
    February 23, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Its amazing how one or two bad things combine to push us into a huge spiral. But–looking at the good side, you were able to get back on track fairly quickly. I’ve known a downward spiral like that to last weeks. Every time we go through something like that, I think we learn something that helps us the next time we are faced with similar circumstance. The fact that you were willing to share this with us says everything about taking responsibility and owning it. You are a great example, Jason!

    • 10 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks my friend. I am owning it and I thought sharing would help the readers and me at the same time. i know it certainly won’t do any good keeping it inside 🙂

  6. February 23, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Amen…I will pray that for you, to be able to just rollin on doing GREAT today, and that you have no guilt. You are great at owning what you create ~ which means you can create something different…keep on keepin on. Ciao! SAM

  7. February 23, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    i still think you are a very inspiring human being. Thanks for the honesty.

  8. February 23, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    A DNF is very tough. I had two during my marathon training. It was ITB related. The 1st time, I stopped at mile 12.75 of a 23 mile run. This was a smart move; and, I recovered fairly quickly.

    The 2nd time I was determined to go on. It was a 26 mile run. I should have stopped at mile 10; I kept going to mile 20. At that point, I could not even walk anymore. The result? I was out of running for 4 weeks!!!

    So, good for you for stopping when you felt that injury was lurking. It was a wise decision.

    • 16 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 1:45 pm

      Thanks so much for those words. I thought it was a good idea but was not 100% about it. Thank you for the confirmation.

  9. 17 ladlam
    February 23, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Wow this post made me crave some sugar hardcore. Bummer about the weekend Jason, but the new week has started and no doubt you’ll do better than ever. Keep it up.

  10. February 23, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Sorry to hear you had such a rough weekend. Glad to hear you are back on track. I’m looking forward to our upcoming cruise but also a bit anxious because I won’t be able to count all my calories like normal.

    • 20 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 3:07 pm

      It is hard to do when away, but on a cruise there are really actually lots of good choices. HAHAHA Make the right choices is the hard part becuase the good chioce is sitting next to the bad choice. It is like a biggest loser temptation.

  11. 21 afatgirl
    February 23, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I think we all have rough weekends like that. I think that’s part of why I love the Blog-o-sphere so much; a way to hold myself accountable. Like if I admit my bad days to the world, somehow I can make a better choice next time.

  12. 23 donna
    February 23, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Hey Jason,what did you tell me when I messed up,you said “Accident” and that I would be alright and you know what I am.So I say right back at you my friend because I know positively you will be ok.Were all entitled to screw ups just dont let it happen again,haaaaaaaaaaaa.

  13. February 23, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Oh yes, I’ve so been there! Quite recently in fact… Just continue doing the right thing, instead of trying the “fix” the damage. Good luck!

  14. February 24, 2009 at 2:52 am

    Hey Jason,

    Sorry you had such a rough weekend. Thank you for sharing. As you know I had a horrible Saturday that could have turned into a bad week, but with help from people like you I made a turn around. You had a couple of bad days, but you turned around and are doing great now. Keep it up. We are all here for you just like you are here for us.

    I always appreciate your honesty on here. It helps me know that I am not alone. I wasn’t going to write my experience on my blog because I was afraid of what people thought, but then I realized that my blog is for me to journal my journey, so I did just that and was honest and maybe like you I can let someone else know that they are not alone.

    You rock my friend. I am forever grateful for you.

    Take care,
    Melissa

  15. February 24, 2009 at 2:57 am

    This reminds me of a Miley Cyrus song called Nobody’s Perfect and yes I do know Miley Cyrus songs because I have an 11 year old and 9 year old.

    Here are just a few of the lyrics:

    Everybody makes mistakes…Everybody has those days…Everbody knows what, what I’m talkin’ bout…Everybody gets that way.

    Nobody’s perfect!
    I gotta work it!
    Again and again ’till I get it right
    Nobody’s perfect!
    You live and you learn it!
    And if I mess it up sometimes…
    Nobody’s perfect

  16. February 24, 2009 at 7:08 am

    haha I am well acquainted with the “dark side” !!! thank you for sharing. Does it make it easier to have these days when you know you can blog about them and get support?

    hang in there!!

  17. 33 Sheila
    February 24, 2009 at 10:29 am

    As usual I am so happy I opened up my notice that there is activity on your site…

    My comments echo what everyone else have written consoling and congratulating you but what I’m REALLY interested in is this: I feel the same as you do about eating unplanned for/off-plan food. ONE difference between us is that you curb these binges (hope you don’t mind me using that word for your eating) and get back to business. I have/do not. I was on an excellent, OP roll for 11 days, tracking, counting, working out and then I blew it…I have now succeeded in eating crazy horrible for TEN DAYS!

    I set a short-term goal for myself to be 15-20 lbs down in 11 weeks before I go take a RRCA trainer workshop in MD. I am MORTIFIED to think of my giant butt sitting on the floor doing group work in pants that are best worn only when standing! (Never mind what I’m sure all the participants will think when I, heavy for a runner on a good day, am now 40 lbs over THAT weight)…

    JUST WHAT IS IT that makes you re-start when you have a good hearty lapse (that I haven’t harnessed to stop MY roll to be able to get back to healthy living)?

    Now as I re-read this, I described your eating/chewing as a lapse. Maybe it isn’t. I have to wonder if I’d really call it that if you ran as much as you did/skied on those days. I sit on the couch when I do my destructive eating….Hmmm.

    • 34 run4change
      February 24, 2009 at 10:45 am

      Thank you so much for your comment. I really enjoyed reading it and I took no offense what so ever to the way you worded my eating, etc. I would call it a binge too. and lapse. As pink floyd would say “A momentary lapse of reason” I am going to do a post on this subject to your honor. When I am done with it I will email it to you so that you can get a sneak peak at it.

  18. 35 Sheila
    February 24, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Wonderful! After reading the sneak preview I’m certain that your posted reply will be WELL appreciated by your blog devotees. Thanks Jason!

  19. 37 Angela
    February 25, 2009 at 5:57 am

    Every single time you blog I realize that you truly are the male version of me. One seemingly insignificant event lays waste, and I punish myself for days. I hurt my knee because I was running too much. (my addictive personality flaring again) I started new job training so I hadn’t been able to make it to the gym in 6 days. So the 6th day I didn’t eat, drank 2 Starbucks coffees, smoked a half pack of cigarettes, took some pills, ate a poptart, and just laid in a pile for 3 hours. Why? It was my first moment to myself in 6 days. Instead of using that time to go to the gym and workout, fix a yummy fresh stir fry, and read a book, I was punishing myself for not going to the gym for those 6 days.

    “Hello? Is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me. Is there anyone home?”….

    • 38 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 6:10 am

      I love that song and listen to it on at least a weekly basis. Oddly enough, I love running to it. HAHAHAHA. Thanks for sharing your honesty and encouraging me all at the same time. You rock big time. Thanks again. You’ll be alright. Keep up the good work


Leave a Reply

