23
Feb
09

Stomach rash: Dermatological contact infection

stomachrash

not my stomach

Before I lost my weight, I used to get this rash all the time.  I think it was because my stomach hung down or something.  The doctor called it a dermatological contact infection.  I hated it and I made me feel even more fat and embarrassed.  Since I am here and constantly talking to others on the weight loss journey like I am, I thought now would be a good time to bring it up.  I always hid the fact that I got this rash but now I am wondering if anyone else has had this happen to them.  

Any of you guys ever get anything like this?  I have never gotten this since I lost weight.  I am wondering if it was due to my stomach hanging down or just some freak thing.

 Here are some links to learn more about it:

Causes, incedence, risk factors

Dermatitis

Any of you guys ever get anything like this?  I have never gotten this since I lost weight.  I am wondering if it was due to my stomach hanging down or just some freak thing.

38 Responses to “Stomach rash: Dermatological contact infection”


  1. February 23, 2009 at 4:48 am

    I used to get yeast infections under my fat flap. They would start by being a little itchy and if I didn’t do something about them, I would end up with itchy, weeping sores in short order. It was horrible. Using powder–even medicated powder–just made everything worse for me. Through trial and error, I finally developed a daily skin care regimen that has kept all those issues under control. Now that I’ve lost 150 pounds, I have to continue to follow the skin care regimen I developed because of the skin flap. No big deal for me, really. I mean, I’d be doing the same thing whether I was fat or not, right? So I’ll gladly take the loose skin!

    • 2 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 5:03 am

      Thanks for the contribution. I always wondered if that happened to other people. I don’t have a problem with it now, but I sure did back then.

  2. 3 Angela
    February 23, 2009 at 5:15 am

    I don’t know why, but I always find the strangest things to chuckle at when you post. Today, it was the caption “not my stomach.” Ohhhhhhhhhhhh my goodness you are a trip!

    • 4 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 5:19 am

      I may be a trip but I am no longer a “tripper” Bwa HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my friend.

  3. February 23, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Yep – had that rash, especially during the summer. Very painful. I don’t get it any more.

  4. February 23, 2009 at 6:04 am

    I think the other ladies will attest that we used to get it under our breasts, accompanied by a musty smell. Very sexy! I recently heard that it helps to spray colloidal silver on the rash.

    As for myself, I haven’t lost a lot of weight yet, but I’m eating much, much healthier and I haven’t had this kind of rash since the previous summer.

    • 8 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 6:06 am

      I got it in the summer’s too. Winter was not to bad. I always tried to tuck my shirt in under the flap and then in my pants to try and help. 🙂

  5. February 23, 2009 at 6:44 am

    Yep, I get it. I don’t get it nearly as bed as my husband; but I get it. Especially in the heat and, living in San Dieog, you can imagine how much heat there is.

  6. February 23, 2009 at 8:59 am

    umm yep…in fact…JUST THE OTHER DAY, I was thinking, WOw Ihaven’t had one of those obnoxiously annoying things in a long time, coincidence? or weight loss related? I am thinking coincidence since I still have the skin:skin contact. I was actually wondering when the next one would come.

    If I get one now…I’m gonna blame you Jason for bringing my thoughts to the spoken er umm written world….which usually makes things more real 🙂

  7. February 23, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Hanlie-I know the under the breast thing, too. Unfortunatly for me, it doesn’t go away with weightloss, (I can only pray for a chance at a reduction once I’m at goal weight).

    I forgot to mention that I found a great relief for this is cornstarch based powder. It really helps me keep it in control.

    For the ladies, I also find that under the breasts a swipe of Degree deoderant also helps. It doesn’t solve it, but it makes it much easier to manage.

  8. 15 AmyJoGo
    February 23, 2009 at 10:39 am

    I get it too. Mainly in the summer. I’ve found that letting that area air out helps a lot…so you might (*cringe*) want to take some time to lay nekkid on the bed(after a shower) so air can circulate freely.

    Since it’s a yeast infection, I try to avoid a lot of sugar especially when I can feel one of these coming on. Sugar turns into yeast.

    • 16 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 10:46 am

      I tried to let it “air out” to back in the day. Thank God I don’t get the rash anymore but the air did seem to help some. I did not realize that this was a common occurance. Although it doesn’t happen to me now, I thought I was the only one at the time and was really embarrased about it. Wish I would have know before. 🙂

  9. 17 athleticme
    February 23, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Oh, yes. The lovely rash. I agree with Jenni–a swipe of an antiperspirant/deodorant is helpful. I worry that this will remain an issue for me even after the weight loss due to all of the sagging skin that I assume will still be hanging around. grrrrrr

    • 18 run4change
      February 23, 2009 at 12:11 pm

      I don’t know. I think when it is more flappish it is lighter and maybe won’t cause as much of a problem. I used deoderant on my belly for years to help with the rash. It worked forever but at some poin (don’t remember what point though) it didn’t help anymore.

  10. 19 Amy
    April 5, 2009 at 7:16 am

    I just developed this rash recently and glad to see I’m not alone. I have never had this before so does anyone know the best way to get rid of it once it occurs. I’ve been trying to use lotion, but that doesn’t seem to be cutting it. I’m losing weight and feeling great right now, but this rash is really annoying. Anyone have any helpful hints? Thanks!

    • 20 run4change
      April 5, 2009 at 10:17 am

      Regular moisturizing lotion will not help it. The doctor gave me a special cream to put on it. I also believe that an athletes foot cream will work sometimes. Mine did not go away with that but others say it works. I needed a more powerful one from the doc.

  11. 21 Unknown.
    May 13, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Yeah, I have this I want it to go away so bad. Errrr it itches all the time. Glad to know its not somthing worse though.

  12. 22 Phil
    May 25, 2009 at 6:13 am

    Ive had this rash for a couple of weeks now and im trying to get rid of it… its coinciding with a nasty heat rash on my inner thights… its been a while since ive lost any weight and im a little too heavy where im siting right now… i also work outside all day every day and its been in the 80’s and 90’s… and it doesnt seem to be helping the situation. Any tips would be helpful

  13. June 16, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    I was curious what my stomach rash was, so I Google image searched the keywords and saw this site. I believe your right, and mine looks identical to the pic. I’m so glad it’s only that. Great to know, thanks! Now I better hit the ab lounger up.

  14. 24 Ed
    July 29, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Gawd bless you for posting this and for all of your who responded, especially with remedies. Glad to know I’m not alone and it’s not something worse! This just started for me several weeks ago and I was getting worried. never used to get it till I gained weight some extra weight (guess my wife is right, the tummy isn’t nearly in good a shape as I remember). *sigh* Too much time commuting to a cubicle! Anyways yep glad to know, thank you much and time to do some situps.

    • 25 run4change
      July 29, 2009 at 11:12 am

      Thanks for the comment Ed. keep on a comin back and you may find that you relate to much of what people say around here.

  15. 26 Ed
    July 29, 2009 at 11:48 am

    run, Thanks I appreciate it!

  16. 27 Josh
    September 14, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I got a similar rash just this week for the second time. I’ve been bandaging it up with some big chest bandages I have and putting polysporin on it along with some gold bond anti itch cream. I also took some benadryl and found that help get rid of the itch etc. I have a feeling this is due to me sweating a lot lately cause its quite humid and warm where I am. I’ve also been doing the airing out when I can. Guess I have to exercise more often and drop more weight, i’m down from 215 to 200 and i’m 5’10”. Good to know though that I’m not the only one dealing with such a situation from time to time.

  17. 29 jay
    September 25, 2009 at 5:24 am

    oh thank God for the internet i thought i was alone. I have had the same rash for years now it comes and goes. I have started calling it my fat gauge as it seem to disappear when i have lost weight and come back when i put on weight. I have applied creams recommended by the doctor and it never really work so i cause the cure is to loss weight.

    I also noticed that it itches more if you wear a big buckle belt that touches the rash area.

  18. 31 Linda
    October 16, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    I use a cream and an antifungal together and it works with in a day or so, try it.

  19. December 17, 2009 at 1:33 am

    yea ok i have this. im 15 and a little bit over weight…im 138 and 5’3 i always thought i got it from my belt but finally now i know its not somthing unheard of…. if someone can for real tell me what i should do just email me at tytythesmallguy@gmail.com

  20. 33 Chad
    January 6, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I get that rash too, it can be any number of things. The contact infection like you mentioned, a mild yeast infection due to bacteria in the crease, but it can also be caused by an allergic reaction to metals. So when you wear your belt and you stomach rubs on the metal buckle, you can have a breakout lasting months, and longer if you continue to wear the belt. I noticed when I lost my weight my stomach didnt hang over my pants to rub on my belt and my rash has started to go away…

  21. February 3, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I honestly thought I was alone until I read the comments. It is truly painful and I am embarressed. Hopefully my doctor wont mind listening to me and writing me a perscription for the cream. Thank goddess for the internet.

  22. 36 MoJo
    March 3, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I have that still. I have a bit of an over hang but not all that much… For me I believe it was the metal allergy. Oh and I have eczema as well.

    It’s this horrible combo that keep this thing in my life.

    So want to rid myself of it.

  23. April 7, 2010 at 10:43 am

    I have that rash too, mostly after a long ride on a hot day. What cream helps? I have used baby powder but that doesn’t work; neither does neosporin. I hate to go show my “pooch” to my doctor!!! How embarrassing!

  24. 38 Chubby
    June 6, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I too have the belly rash, but I am so embarrased to say anything to anyone, not even my doctor, I have tried a lot of the remedies suggested above and nothing. I guess I have to face the fact and see my doctor. Thank You Run, for letting finally see the light and take care of this itch before it takes care of me : (


Leave a Reply

