24
Feb
09

Off topic reflection, but it still has heart!! You just never know.

I want to write this post so that I can reflect on some things.  You just never know what will happen in life.  A friend of my family got into an accident today.  Broke lots of bones, got hurt really bad, and the rest is in the hands of God.  So I have to reflect on the fact that life takes many unexpected turns.  Like the photo above of the tornado, you don’t know when it will touch down or what will happen.  Sometimes you can’t even plan for it.  I have been in tornadoes.  All you can do is wait, pray, and hide somewhere that is less dangerous.

Since being in college, I have had two friends get into unexpected accidents.  One died instantly on his way to work leaving behind a new born baby and wonderful wife. The other hit head on witha semi-turck going 75 miles an hour.  She lived, ended up marrying the doctor who had to give her enemas when every bone in her body was just about crushed.  They have now divorced because she wanted to go back to the party lifestyle.  I say this because it all happened in an instant.  No way to plan, no way to prepare for the difficult times ahead.  I count my blessings today and thank God for his mercy.  My days are numbered as well.

So out of this time of relfection on thankfulness, I take away a couple key components of life.  I must love those around me for on my death bed I will not wish I had worked harder or made more money. I will not wish I had a bigger house and a fancier car. I won’t care about my IRA, I won’t care about my weight, or my points, or my marathons.  All I will care about is how I loved others while I was here.  The places I go, the things I do, the accomplishments I achieve are all wonderful but without people to love whom I can share the victories and losses with, the THINGS are essentially meaningless.

So today I set out to love others as I have been loved.  To share with others the moments in my life that may bring comfort or strength or joy.  I set out to learn how to love people better. 

I also want to say thank you to each and everyone of you for reading this blog.  I want to say thank you for your support and encouragment and advice and wisdom.  The comments you write are meaningful to me as well as the other readers who read them.  To all of you, KEEP ON KEEPING WITH A SPIRIT OF LOVE AND LIFE AND JOY.

32 Responses to “Off topic reflection, but it still has heart!! You just never know.”


  1. February 24, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    This really touched my heart today. Thanks for sharing your sweet spirit!

  2. 3 Shannon
    February 24, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I am sorry to hear of the accident I will keep your friend in my prayers. Thank you for your much needed words! Everyone needs time to reflect on the ones we love, and not the material objects. We all need reminded! You are an inspiration and your words of encouragement help many! Hope your new week brings you brighter days!

    • 4 run4change
      February 24, 2009 at 1:19 pm

      Much appreciated Shannon. Thank you for leaving this comment. I am inspired by it and am blessed that you also agree that reflection and loving others is important

  3. February 24, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    great post 🙂

    Thank you for sharing!

  4. 7 donna
    February 24, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    So sorry about your friend Jason,but he is lucky to have a friend like you.I will pray for his speedy recovery and for his family.You have so much wisdom Jason for a young man ,I believe you are one of those special people with an old sole,you look at life like it really is and you understand things that it takes older people years to absorb.Dont ever change ,the world needs more like you.

  5. 9 maggieapril
    February 24, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Amen. Life is short. Live it well.

  6. February 24, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Sweet and so true. Sorry about your friend. 😦 Will pray for him.

  7. February 24, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    AMEN! In a blink of an eye, everything can change. Figure if we can figure out how to love God and love people, the world would be a different place. Thanks for your post, as usual, it is right on. Smile, SAM

  8. 17 darrellnurse
    February 24, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Jason…. Thank you for a beautiful blog.
    You are a very kind, sensitive person. Your words are passionate.
    Thanks for making me stop and reflect. I today as well had a very close call with death. The brakes on my new 2009 Civic failed and I just missed getting crashed by a semi tractor trailer.
    Darrell.

  9. 19 teresa
    February 24, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    So sorry about your friend. Thanks for this post. I’ll keep you all in my thoughts and prayers.

  10. February 25, 2009 at 3:43 am

    Very thoughtful post! Thanks for reminding us again what really matters in life.

    I hope your friend makes a full recovery.

  11. February 25, 2009 at 4:15 am

    So sorry to hear about your friend’s accident. I will be praying for him and please keep us updated. Thank you for the reminder to always put the love of others above what I am doing for me. You are so right that if you accomplish all these things, but have no one to share it with, it is nothing. I appreciate you man. I really do. I lost my mom to cancer 12 years ago and we still have people coming up to us and telling us how my mom touched their lives and how much she loved them. I hope to be just like my mom, known for my loving spirit. Thanks again from the reminder.

    As always YOU ROCK!!

    • 24 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 5:18 am

      My mom is a great lover of people too. I find her to be an amazing woman and when she does move on to be with Jesus she will also be remembered for that wonderful self-sacrificing love. I want to be like my mom too 🙂

  12. 25 Angela
    February 25, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Again, parallel. My sister, daughter and I were in a bad car accident on Saturday. As usual, your blog hits home. Thanks for this.

  13. February 25, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I feel for you, Jason. My husband and I have been talking about this exact subject a lot lately. In less than a month, we’ve lost three people that were very close to us. It’s important to me to stay on this journey so I can have the best chance at living a longer and healthier life. But my journey never gets in the way of my happiness or spending time with those I love. It all works together. Thank you for this post. It’s great to be reminded that we don’t know what’s going to happen.

    • 28 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 6:58 am

      I am so sorry for your losses Sarah. Thank you for your words of encouragement. Losses are never easy, but we move on I guess. With the memories. You are also so right about doing what we can for our own health to stay with our loved ones as long as possible regardless of what might happen or not. Thanks for your comment

  14. February 25, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Thank you for sharing this. it’s a beautiful post and good reminder . . .

  15. February 25, 2009 at 7:30 am

    This is a beautiful post Jason. In this crazy buisy life that we make for ourself, we all to often lose focus on what should really matter most. Thank you for sharing this. I’m sorry to hear about your friend, and wishing them a full recovery!

    • 32 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 7:34 am

      Thank you Kari. It is interesting that usually my “off topic” posts are so popular. HAHA Thanks for coming over and leaving me a line. Have a great day


Leave a Reply

