26
Feb
09

Healthy fast food

eat-outI have asked this question of myself ahead of time so that I can be prepared, but I am not always able to go according to my plans 😦  For me, it is a must to have food in the house that I can just grab, throw into an old grocery bag, and call it lunch.
Here are the foods that I call the “healthy fast foods”.  These foods work if you use them.  They will bring the victory where you usually might get beat up by other fast food choices.
See the great food choices by reading on.
RUN4CHANGE FAST FOOD CHOICES.
Fruit
Fruit will always be one of the first go-to’s in a hurried up situation.  I love fruit, especially bananas.  When I took my vacation at Red Mountain Spa in Utah, there was this doctor there (I called him the quack) who said that oranges are one of the most filling foods that you can possibly eat and they are healthy for you too.
string-cheese
This brand of string cheese in the light version is only one point a piece.  This adds some filling protien to the mix of my emergency lunches.  I love this stuff and eat it even if I am not in a hurry.
carrots
To add to the “full meal deal” aspect of healthy fast food, carrots are about the simplest way to get your quick veggie on.  Easy to handle and kind of filling.  Boring, but they will do the job until better options are available.
Yoplait
I have put this pic up before in another post, but yogurt is a great dairy that you can snag from the fridge as you run by trying not to spill your morning coffee or tea. 
There you have it.  Just a few more foods that I love that help me along my journey to health.  What foods do you guys use to stay on track when in a hurry and can’t prepare.
FOR MORE INFORMATION TO HELP YOU STAY ON THE PATH OF YOUR WEIGHT LOSS PROGRAM, SUBSCRIBE HERE
43 Responses to “Healthy fast food”


  1. February 26, 2009 at 3:06 am

    One thing that I always have on hand are the Campbell Soups that are like in a cup that you can drink out of. The Chicken Noodle one is only 1-2 points on WW. If you need to eat in the car they are quick to microwave (1 min 15 secs) and then you drink it, so you don’t have to worry about a spoon or anything. Also, soup is very filling. Just watch which ones you buy if you are on weight watchers. All soups are not created equal.

    • 2 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 5:26 am

      HAHAHA, they are not created equal at all huh? I love the clam chowder one which is 2 points. I have forgotten about these but they used to be a daily go-to for me. I always had these soups on hand

  2. February 26, 2009 at 5:54 am

    Definitely fruit! I always take a banana or two to gym to eat between classes.

    Most of the time supper for us is a big, big, big salad. There is often some left over, which is quite handy for lunch the next day.

    We’re very fortunate to have an excellent healthy Fast Food chain here in South Africa (no trans fats, no preservatives, everything made fresh) and I love grabbing a green smoothie from them if I’m near one of them.

    They sell these wonderful organic sandwiches at my gym too, so when I’m really hungry after a workout, that’s always an option.

  3. February 26, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Packets of cinnamon oatmeal(not the sugary kind) are quickies for me. I keep some in my car for emergencies and actually plan on having a packet (or two) for lunch today. Also those little cups of applesauce (love the pomegranite/blueberry blend). My plan is to mix the oats and the sauce together…creating my own cinnamon/apple oatmeal.

  4. 7 Rob
    February 26, 2009 at 6:30 am

    I do the same, I make time in the morning for breakfast at home, but when I leave the house, I have with me, one piece of various fruit(banana is my favorite as well), usually celery sticks cut up by me from the night before which I eat with peanut butter stored in my desk at work. For lunch I have the luxury of living 5 minutes by car(two miles exactly) from my home so I go home for lunch make my lunch eat it. When I go back to work I go back armed with a fruit smoothie(usually banana, strawberry, yogurt ice, with Whey Protein added — blended) for my mid afternoon snack(stored in my mini fridge) So yeah I stay pretty covered…. That is usually the day in the life of Rob.

    • 8 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 6:32 am

      Those are some good filling foods. great choices. Keep up the great work. We gotta just do what it takes to succeed you know

  5. 9 Michelle
    February 26, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Hi Jason. I just recently found your blog and am really enjoying it. Thanks!

    Just wanted to add that nuts are a fast go-to food for me. I like to have almonds as snacks or as a side to my lunch. I just have to remember to rein it in at times due to the higher calorie count. Nuts are definitely a healthy option, though.

    • 10 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 6:37 am

      HAHAHA. Michelle. I was going to put almonds in the list too but I was afraid to admit that I can’t rein it in with them very well. So thanks for opening that door for me to face the truth

  6. 11 RobFitness
    February 26, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Again another awesome and very informative post. love all your ideas and ready about the other comments as well. I always keep those itty bitty carrots in me refrigerator as they do make a good snack and I use some salsa as a dip with them to make an even tastier treat.

  7. 13 Shannon
    February 26, 2009 at 7:24 am

    I also dip my carrots in salsa, kind of gives you the illusion that you are having chips!! HAHAHAHA I have the same problem with almonds. I just get them occasionaly, in the bulk section and only get approximately 40 nuts!! I have no will power when it comes to them! haha

  8. February 26, 2009 at 8:01 am

    oh yeah…cold celery dipped in salsa is pretty good too.

    Ok Jason…I just showed your blog to my two WW buddies here at work. After their exclaims about how young you look now and how handsome you are, half the office(all women) came rushing to my office to see your results. Don’t be surprised if you see a few more Texas lurkers on your blog.

  9. 17 RobFitness
    February 26, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Glad that I am not the only one that has issues with those delicious almonds. Even though they are good for you I just can’t have a couple. So for me I do what Shannon does also. I buy them in bulk and only get what I am suppose to eat. That way I don’t overindulge in them. My will power just isn’t there when it come to nuts. Then again I am a bit of nut myself. 🙂

    • 18 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 8:24 am

      I don’t have the power to staty away either Rob. I learned while doing Atkins to eat large portions of almonds because they are low carb. Ever since I have had no control with them. THanks dude

  10. February 26, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Dang! Al of th efoods that I grab on the go are already listed! I also keep a small stash of various Lean Quisines in the house for ultra emergencies. I dont like to eat them all teh time though as I know they are loaded with salt even if you can’t taste it and have to add more! 🙂 I particularly do not eat those within 2 days of a WI or I am screwed as far as water retention.

  11. February 26, 2009 at 9:01 am

    You lived in Texas? No way? When and where and why’d ya move?

    • 22 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 9:06 am

      I lived in Abilene Texas for seven years while I was getting my masters degree in marriage and family from Abilene Christian University. Why I moved is a secret. HAHAHAH 🙂

  12. 23 RobFitness
    February 26, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I thought I saw your picture at the local post office here 🙂 HA HA

  13. 25 RobFitness
    February 26, 2009 at 10:14 am

    It was the before pic. 🙂 So now we know the real reason why you wanted or should I say needed to lose the weight. it was all the change your identity so know one would recognize you. All i can say is Job well done. It worked cause you look like a healthier, fit and super athletic man now.

    • 26 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 10:41 am

      HAHAHAH. They would never know it was me. They would be like, “I think he had a third chin starting and his face was really red.” 🙂

  14. February 26, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I had a scholarship to go to Hardin-Simmons, but ended up going someplace else. Abilene is a great town though.

    LOL @ Rob and the Post Office comment.

    • 28 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 11:32 am

      No freakin way. Small world. Hardin simmons. HA I used to preach in this small coffe shop across the streat from Hardin Simmons sometimes. I loved Abilene. I miss it a lot. One of the things I miss about Texas the most is the food I used to eat. What-a-burger, Sonic, Abuelos Mexican Embassy, Taco Bueno, and BBQ.

      Much more coffee where I live now and that is much appreciated. HAHAHAHA 🙂

  15. February 26, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    HA! So you understand the Texas temptations I suffer from. 😉 My second week on WW, I made a mistake and assumed a Whattaburger w/out cheese and mayo would be semi-healthy. Um. Wrong assumption since it’s 15 STINKIN’ points! Tasty stuff though.

    That’s cool that you used to preach nearby. May I ask what denomination, if any?

    • 30 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 2:14 pm

      Of course, as you may know, Abilene Christian University is hardcore Church of Christ. I was not a christian when I went there so I had no idea. Got saved later and consider myself non-denominational.

  16. February 26, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Have you guys ever bought the carrots that are sliced like chips. There a little expensive, but it makes it easier for me to eat them and then if you use salsa it’s really like you are eating a chip. They are simply called Carrot Chips.

    • 32 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 2:56 pm

      I never buy them and I am not sure why, but I have had them several times at my moms (who needs to buy them when mom has them 🙂 ) I love to use them and they are much easier to use and you get a better salsa/carrot ratio with the carrot chips. Great idea to bring up

  17. 33 Mike
    February 26, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Smoked Salmon with WW Cream Cheese and Ak Mok Stone ground Seasame crakers or Ry Krisp is great even though it is can get high on the points it is filling and worth it.

    Kashi Go Lean sprinkled ove a 60 cal pudding or yogurt or both (mixed) is great for any meal but if it is for dessert you gotta add som cool whip free. 🙂

    Boiled eggs, I eat just the whites with salt pepper and hot sauce.

    Split Pea, Lentil or Minestrone soup, the ones with lots of fiber, along with some low point toast and spray butter.

    Canned Chicken or tunna with Lettuce as wrap with those really good spray dressings ( I like the italian, asian and balsamic ones)

    I adopted the Jolly Time popcorn with spray butter and salt and pepper.

    Jerky

    Left over salad and whatever meat we had the night before with the above spays.

    My wife makes these killer little snack trays at work for us, easy and fast and low points,
    whatever you have can go on it but we like string cheese, ham or turkey if we have it, tomatos, cucumbers, pickles, cottage cheese, carrots, celery any kind of good stuff can go on the tray and hit is with the spray dressings. Lots of stuff and lots of flavors and low points.

    Gum and Life Savers have become very important. 🙂

  18. 34 Mike
    February 26, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    sorry for the dup above. I have two thumbs today.

  19. 36 Mike
    February 26, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Another thing that I am starting tommorrow is potatos regular and sweet. My plan will be to throw a few extra in with dinner a couple of times a week and bring them to work with me and toss them in the micro to heat them. Add some SALSA and fat free sour cream or spray butter and fat free sour cream and some salt an pepper and I am good to go. Also if you are feeling sparky you can shre up some lettuce, cut some tomato and add Jalapeno and some sour cream and low fat chili and you got a low point taco potato.

  20. 38 Teresa
    February 26, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Instant oatmeal. Particularly the Quaker Simple Harvest. Protein. Fiber. And it satisfies my sweet craving. YUMMMY!

  21. February 26, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    I do not understand everyone’s fascination with SALSA! I am trying to get past it as I know it is a low calorie item adn veggies as well…but I jsut don’t like tomatoes much at all. I don’t eat katchup and rarely do I eat spaghetti or much else tomato based….I hope I can learn to like it at some point cuz I know it is good for me as opposed to ranch dip or something like that 🙂

    • 41 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 5:05 am

      Kim, I had a saying that I started using in highschool all the way until I started WW. “RANCH MAKES EVERYTHING BETTER!!!!” 🙂


Leave a Reply

