26
Feb
09

Moving on from the bad weigh-in

Mile 37I have moved on and I am settled in to my healthy routines again.  Last night I ate my daily points plus 5 of my weekly extra’s.  I realize that this is a lot of food actually especially if I eat healthy stuff.  I also got a chance to make my wife dinner before she got home from work.  Now I am no chef but I can put something together pretty good.  I like to get home in time to be able to do that for her.  So I stayed on weight watchers really well yesterday.  I entered all my points and activity into my online WW tracker.

I also did a 7 mile run at my race pace.  The run went well and it did not seem to be extrememly hard or anything.  I made it through but my hamstrings got a tiny bit tired by 6 miles.  I am so  proud that I am able to run faster than I had ever thought I would be able to.  I have never cared about my pace so it is a nice change of routine for me.

THE CHEW!!.  This is such a tremendous battle for me and I can’t believe I went back again to that junk.  I went to the doctors a couple of years ago with some problem spots on my gums and she told me that if I did not stop that I have a 100% chance of getting cancer.  Even still, I have kept going back to this bad habit.  So I might be posting a little more about this special journey of mine. 

Here are my stats for alcohol and tobacco.

I have not drank alcohol for :

  • 1486 days, 11 hours, 54 minutes and 128433265 heart beats

I have not used chewing tobacco for:

  • 3 days. 11 hours, 55 minutes, and 302173 heart beats.
24 Responses to “Moving on from the bad weigh-in”


  1. February 26, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    My public secret confession: I smoke – not heavily, but I still smoke. I quit earlier this year for about 3 weeks but started up again 2 weeks ago when I had some work stress come up.

    • 2 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 2:16 pm

      Sorry about that. It is such a bad habit that nicotine. The main problem is that it is associated with so many things. I chew when I drive, sit, walk around my company, look at the computer, watch a movie, after eating, before eating, etc. etc. Everything reminds my body and mind that it is time to take a chew. HAHAHAHA 🙂 Good luck on quitting. Now is the time to do it.

  2. 3 Kim
    February 26, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    LOVE THOSE Successes!!! and sir, you will eventually give up the chew…you didn’t give up eating poorly or even alcohol overnight…..jsut like those two things….you will conquer.

    I imagine one of the harder things about giving up the chew is that unlike alcohol, the effect on yourself and others are not blatantly obvious….same thing with food…being overweight and all of its problems are clear…whereas chew, there are hardly any ill side effects until it is too late. AM I correct in assuming that? If so, then no wonder it is harder….

    And another thought…YOu gave up alcohol….got control of that…..then moved on to diet and exercise….got control and have conquered that…now on to the chew….to everything there is a time and a season. Rock it Friend!

    • 4 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 2:19 pm

      Change is a process as you are saying. You are right about the chew. Doesn’t really ruin the lives of people around when you are doing it. It doesn’t stop you from participating in life so to speak. Then one day some cancerous lesion shows up and my face gets chopped off. Or even worse as the Dr. said. You have to get your tongue removed partially so you can’t talk, eat, etc. like a normal person anymore. Thanks for your support.

  3. 5 Teresa
    February 26, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    You ROCK, my friend! I have no doubt but that you will be able to kick the chew! Just look what you have done with your weight. Just remember that we are all a work in progress and that a temporary set back is just that–temporary. You now have another 3 days + on your side in the battle with chew.

    • 6 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 2:38 pm

      Three days yes I do. Thanks for cheering me on Teresa. I love it and it feels great to get your cheering. Thanks

  4. February 26, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Great job on staying off the chew!! I went off alcohol yesterday for lent. So far not too bad. Been too busy to notice. Hearing your numbers assures me I can get through 40day without my red wine.

    • 8 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 4:20 pm

      Oh yeah, you can do it Rebecca. Thanks for your comment. You are doing such a fine job. Keep on a rollin.

  5. February 26, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    You have hella will power. You will win the battle against the chew. Also, high five for the race pace run!

    • 10 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      p4, Thank you for you might strong cheering. I think I heard some seriously dramatic music in my head while you were cheering me on to quit chew. Thanks. The run was great and I just got done right now with my track speed work out. 🙂

  6. 11 Mike
    February 26, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    You will win. I love Cope and started and stopped over the years. Sometimes I will still have a dip but I don’t go back with ANY regularity anymore. I think the switch flipped for me when I told myself I could have a little if I really wanted to but that I would not allow myself to have it back as a Habit. The strange thing is with that approach I really don’t find myself craving it like I did. I know what you are up against because so many of the daily activities go great with a dip. ( after a meal, after a workout, in your case while working on the blog)doing yard work, drivng home from work when you are alone.

    That is the hard part, getting past the times of the day that you are conditioned to want a dip. Truly that is the worst part. As I am sure that you know the Nicotine leaves your body after the third day and I am a firm believe that the remaining cravings after that are not from Nicotine but rather from our routine and the way that chew fits into it. Solve the routine and solve the problem.

    It is also tough because it the chew can keep you away from the food.

    Why is it that many of the things that we tend to like are bad for us 😦

    • 12 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 6:33 pm

      Oh man, I forgot about the yard work temptation for the chew. HAHAHA That stuff is coming up too. The nicotine does leave in three days and after that it is the mental addiction. Cope was always to fine for me although I love the taste. Couldn’t gut it though like I can the Green Grizzly. 🙂

    • 13 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 6:58 pm

      Mike, I sent you a message via wellshpere about attach pics to email for the contest and the salsa pics

  7. 14 donna
    February 26, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Jason does your wife kiss you after you chew that crap?Im not going to be nice like everyone else that is a very bad habit,you might as well smoke and your dr has warned you,so stop it and never go back,your life is at sake if you go back to it.That is just not using your smarts and you know what you are very smart.I know I know I sound like a mother dont I,but Im telling you the truth,did you pick up that habit in Texas from the farmers or what?Now youve lost all this weight and prolonged your life so get your****together my friend and throw it away.Hope you dont get mad at me,but I speak the truth.

    • 15 run4change
      February 26, 2009 at 7:49 pm

      Donna, speak the truth you do. 🙂 I loved you comment, we would you think I was gonna be mad? I like it when you get fired up. That is great. You are right, it is not smart and it will kill me or at least disfigure me (hopefully by that time I would quit. HAHAHA) My wife does not like it at all. Thanks for your comment. I never chewed in Texas either, I picked it up at home and stopped while in Texas. I only knew one person who chewed in Texas and they were a wannabe cowboy

  8. February 26, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    For nutrition over here, I’m forcing my family into my daily salad ritual. We’ll be having salad before supper for the rest of ever :). After our salads, none of us ate much of the highly caloric pasta that Josh prepared. And my daughter tolerated the salad a bit better than usual. I let her pick what she put in it (other than the actual lettuce) and that helped a little.

    Congrats on staying off the alcohol! You’ll get there with the chew. Each moment matters. If you slip one day don’t get into the “I’ll restart tomorrow”. Just spit it out and start over RIGHGT AWAY!!! You’ll make it :).

    • 17 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 5:04 am

      The “start tomorrow” is a killer regardless of what we are trying to do isn’t it. Good point and great job on the salad. That is such a good idea to get some healthy fill in before the higher cal stuff. Good strategy

  9. February 27, 2009 at 3:07 am

    You can do it Jason. I don’t know much about chew, but is there soemthing you can do instead that will trick your mind into thinking it’s chew. Like have a wad of gum in mouth instead. Cause if you are trying to stop and go from chewing it at all these different times a day to not doing it at all it could be hard and I’ve been taught to break a bad habit you need to replace it with a good habit. Sugar Free gum is a good habit. Tootis pops are only 1 point on weight watchers and you can get a box of 100 at Costco for under 10 bucks.

    Anyway, I’m here from you and pray that you will have success. You can do it.

    Here is a “you can stop chewing” haiku: (5 syllables in the first line, 7 in the second, 5 in the third)

    Jason likes to chew
    But now it’s time to be through
    We are here for you

    I would love to hear your thoughts on will power. I don’t think people need will power to lose weight and break habits. I think it is just learning the healthy ways of doing things, planning, and being consistent. I feel like if you are white knuckling it you will eventually snap and the results could be worse than you ever imagined. Maybe you could do a post on that. I would love to hear your thoughts on it.

    • 19 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 5:08 am

      Thanks for your wonderful encouragement. I think I will do a post on will power. That sounds like a good idea.

  10. February 27, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Well done!

    I have not smoked since 24 December 2008. As for the wine, can we start counting tomorrow?

  11. 22 Candice
    February 28, 2009 at 12:03 am

    For you, your wife and your future kids, I really hope that you will kick the chew habit/addiction. I almost wrote “I hope you can” but we know that you can do it. I’ve got an idea – make the decision that you are quitting chew forever and reward yourself with that skin removal surgery you posted about!

    My fiance also chews sometimes so I know it’s easier said than done.


Leave a Reply

