27
Feb
09

Totally Rad (funny word eh?) Food Find: Tortillas

tortillaI love burritos. Before I lost my weight I always made stuff into burritos.  I made mac and cheese burritos, rice burritos, bean, cheese, ham, etc.  Everything can go into a burrito.  I stopped this because for the most part burrito shells are to high in points and even the ones that are lower in points are really not that filling.  That is until now.  I have found a God send for my love affair with burritos.

La Tortilla Factory Low Carb/Lowfat Large tortillas are the best find yet as far as my burrito savvy is concerned.  They have mucho fiber so they fill you up (some people can’t take this much fiber on their stomachs, it is not a problem for me though), they are low in fat and they pack the punch of ONLY ONE WW POINT EACH.  Now that is what I’m talking about. 

I have been using them all week to make burritos for my lunch.  The night I bought them I basically made the whole package into burritos that I could just grab from the fridge in the morning as part of my lunch.  Below is a picture of my burrito and it’s mammoth size.  I put my cell phone next to it for perspective.  It weighed about 3/4+ pounds.

Burrito

Here is what I put into this burrito to make a filling snack that was ONLY 3 POINTS.

  1. 3oz chicken breast (2 points)
  2. One large tortilla (1 point)
  3. Four slices of red and green bell peppers
  4. Pico de gallo salsa

I am so happy to be in burrito land again.  Do you guys like burritos/wraps?  Have you had these tortillas?  What do you think about them?

22 Responses to “Totally Rad (funny word eh?) Food Find: Tortillas”


  1. 1 the Zookeeper
    February 27, 2009 at 4:47 am

    Now see, I’m picky. I like corn, but I don’t like flour tortillas. I know, picky, picky. I actually scramble tortillas into my eggs, which are part of my daily routine. I like to think it’s good for me b/c I’m getting protein and carbs and I don’t have to worry about my cholesterol so it’s okay I do it on running days.

    Thanks for the heads up–I’m going to have to look for these.

    • 2 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 5:10 am

      I prefer flour tortillas way more, but I have found some corn tortillas that are the “extra thin” kind. They are only 1 point I think for two of them. That is great. So I have learned to like them just because of the low points. Although thin, they don’t break up as easy as the thicker ones. Them breaking is the main reason why I don’t use them because I hate to eat messy tacos, burritos, or any messy food for that matter. 🙂

  2. February 27, 2009 at 5:00 am

    I effing love burritos and am hoping we have that brand in Canada. If so, it shall be a burrito-palozza weekend pour moi.

    • 4 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 5:11 am

      I think you will like them p4. They are whole wheatish but they taste more like white ones. I like whites ones better. These are soft too and they don’t have that course texture that most wheat types have.

  3. 5 amandacav
    February 27, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Yum! I was looking at the Tortilla factory tortillas but haven’t picked them up yet. That would be an awesome, filling, low point lunch for me 🙂 Thanks for sharing, as always!

  4. February 27, 2009 at 5:45 am

    I’m definitely going to look for these when we get back from vacation. We love fixing fajitas with tons of onions and green pepper with either steak or chicken. 🙂 We’ve been using the Misson Carb Balance Soft Taco size flour tortillas. Here’s the nutritional breakdown: 110 Calories, 2.5g fat, 18g. carbs (11g fiber), 5g protein. These were the best I could find so I’ll be happy to try some that are even better on the nutrition front. Thanks for sharing!

    • 8 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 6:44 am

      There are two types of the ones I posted about. One has 80 cals and the other has 100 cals. Both are one WW point

  5. February 27, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Since I’m from Texas and New Mexico, it would be a sin for me to not like burritos.

    I haven’t seen the tortillas you mentioned though. I do use the FlatOut Wraps in place of a tortilla but sometimes it’s just not the same. They have that gritty feel to em and compared to a regular white tortilla, they just don’t roll as well.

    Tortillas are a weakness. So are tortilla chips and salsa.

    Oh…just want to give a thumbs up to your blog friend that mentioned carrot chips in a reply yesterday. I’m planning a kids birthday party with a friend and wanted ideas for a party snack that would be healthier than some of the other stuff we’re serving. Carrot sticks or baby carrots just don’t always do the job.

    Another thing. Thanks so much for your blogging this past week. I found myself reading your blog and those of your friends to help me stay on target(have to stay away from the foodie blogs though…not a good idea to read when you’re nearing the end of your points limit). It worked – I lost 5.4 lbs this week 🙂

    • 10 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 6:46 am

      Wooooo hoooo!!!!:) 🙂 🙂 🙂 Great job Amy. The flat out’s are grainy. I don’t like them and they break a part more easy to. You will like the texture of the ones in this post

  6. February 27, 2009 at 7:20 am

    i like that brand a lot.

    I like putting some fat free refried beans in them, too. 1/2 cup is a lot and filling, but low in points.

    • 12 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 7:26 am

      You know I never thought 1/2 cup of the beans would be that much but you are so right. It is a lot of food.

  7. 13 Michelle
    February 27, 2009 at 8:49 am

    I love burritos! They are my downfall. We have quite a few specialty burrito restaurants here in Houston that I try to avoid. The burritos are delicious but can run around 1500 calories with all the goodies inside! EEK!

    Definitely going to have to find some lower cal tortillas and try making my own at home.

    Great find!

    • 14 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 8:54 am

      I hear yeah! I love the burritos too 🙂 These tortillas will give you a great option on the burrito front. They are so low in points that you can add a lot to them

  8. February 27, 2009 at 11:32 am

    We don’t have that brand here, but there’s another low carb/low fat tortilla that I like. I like to make chicken burritos. I cook up some chicken and green and red peppers with some fajita mix. Then I throw that on my tortilla add some northern beans or black beans, a little salsa, some fresh cilantro, fat free sour cream, & fat free cheese and I am totally stuffed.

  9. 17 donna
    February 27, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Where’d you buy those tortillas cowboy?I want me some now!ha,ha.

  10. 19 Candice
    March 2, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Thanks so much for letting me know about these. I found them at Costco and absolutely love them. Adding new things to eat helps keep this weigh loss journey from becoming boring.

    • 20 run4change
      March 2, 2009 at 4:53 pm

      You got that right Candice. Thanks for your comment and I am glad that you are enjoying them

  11. 21 Leah
    March 11, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I LOVE these wraps! Great fiber content! I like to do a wrap w/ a can of tuna, a Laughing cow Light Wedge, spinach, and shredded carrots. DELICIOUS and great protein!

    • 22 run4change
      March 11, 2009 at 2:51 pm

      Oh that sounds totally good. I will have to try that. How many points in a can of tuna. i guess I’ll have to check but I know for sure it would be a very filling food item especially with the tuna in it. Thanks a lot Leah


Leave a Reply

