28
Feb
09

A quickie before skiing

Audrey skiingToday I am off of work completely.  We did not work today so everyone got off for the first time in a looooooooooong time.  I am going skiing.  Audrey is so much better now than she was in this picture.  It is amazing how much she has improved.  I just wanted to do a quick post before I left to go skiing.

I did an amazing thing last night.  I did my first tempo run.  This run was 6 miles long with the 2 miles in the middle run at my 10K pace.  So I averaged an 8:00 minute mile for the entire run but the middle two miles I averaged 6:52 minute miles.  That was a first for me and very speedy.  I was so proud of my self.  It took me something like 48 minute to do the run and I burned around 570 calories according the my heart rate monitor.

Another great victory yesterday was no chew.  And today no chew either gosh darnit.  That means I have 5 days without it.  Oh yeah, yesterday I was three days “again” without POP or soda as my buddy Robfitness calls it.  I am trying that little health goal again.  No pop.

My eating was superb since my weigh-in on Tuesday.  I am pretty happy with how things have been going and I hope that I can sustain the momentum for the weekend.  I am a bit sore today and have a 25 mile long run to do tomorrow.  Going skiing today.  Wow.  What a new life I am leading.  Strong and healthy

20 Responses to “A quickie before skiing”


  1. 1 Teresa
    February 28, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Sounds like you are doing great, Jason! No Pop! 🙂 No Chew! A great run! A day off! Skiing! Have a FABULOUS day!

  2. 3 kaxfenix
    February 28, 2009 at 7:51 am

    wow skiing… Never done that living in Texas (unless it is on the water) That looks like awesome fun …. Have a great weekend !

    • 4 run4change
      February 28, 2009 at 4:03 pm

      My friends who lived in Texas skied but they only went at christmas. I live 1 hr away from three ski resorts so I am lucky. Thanks fenix 🙂

  3. 5 charleshbaker
    February 28, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Great job on the tempo run! Keep up the good work. After being sick last Saturday through Tuesday, and just not having any energy I did yoga today. I wrote about it on my blog. It’s good to put some variety into your workouts.

    Also, I would like to congratulate you on going “chewless” for five days. I remember how hard it was for me to quit smoking 15 years ago. Tobacco is a monster habit to kick. I’m cheering for you.

  4. February 28, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Sounds like a fun, fit weekend. We got about 5 inches of new snow today. The kids have dog sled races today and tomorrow instead of going skiing. I posted about today’s race on my blog. So they’re the ones mostly getting outside exercise this weekend.

    • 8 run4change
      March 1, 2009 at 5:43 am

      THat is great that they are playing outside. so many just stay in a play video games and this is it.

  5. February 28, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Happy to hear that the chew is still out of sight! Make it 4 days today!

  6. 11 Angela
    March 1, 2009 at 5:48 am

    The title of this blog post had me giggling for a minute, not sure what you were going to write about! ha ha ha! Thumbs up on the chewlessness and glad to hear things are on the up and up. You and Audrey have been in my thoughts during this busy week. I bested my 45 minute bike run on Thursday. Feels great, doesn’t it? Keep it going my friend!

    • 12 run4change
      March 1, 2009 at 10:54 am

      Thank you Angela. I thought about that post title while I was skiing and started to laugh. Doing good on the chew although having one right now would be nice. Just finished my 25 mile long run. Thanks for stopping by and fantastic job on the 45 min bike run. Great job

  7. March 1, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Congrats on the tempo run – awesome! AND YAY – no chew!!

    • 14 run4change
      March 1, 2009 at 10:56 am

      Thank you Melissa. Still no chew. Today is 6 days without it and I am feeling good about that. Have a great day and thanks for your comment

  8. March 1, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Congrats on the tempo run! And the 5-days-without-chew! Sounds like you are doing well.

    I hear it takes 3 weeks to make something routine, I wonder how long it takes to kick a habit. I have read that, neurologically, the physical nicotine addiction takes about a week to get out of the system, and the rest is a psychological battle.

  9. March 1, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Awww…your wife is beautiful! She must be super proud of you and your accomplishments. Does she have a blog? If not, I wonder if she would be willing to give us an idea of what it’s been like for her to go through this change with you?

    Ever thought about becoming a trainer? Just a thought since you seem to have the right personality(encouraging yet driven) for it.

    ~amy

    • 18 run4change
      March 2, 2009 at 4:57 am

      Amy-
      She does have a blog but she keeps it private. It used to be in my blog roll but to much traffice went there and it made her uncomfortable. I am trying to get her to do a post about what it was/is like to be married to a guy that lost weight and is always working at health.

      Would love to be a trainer.

  10. 19 donna
    March 1, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Good work Jason,youll be chew free before you know it.


Leave a Reply

