02
Mar
09

All was well yesterday but I almost lost it.

Caped MaxThe weekend ended up a good one.  I had a wonderful time skiing, hanging out with my wife, and running my 25 mile long run.  I was happy with that.  I had a very difficult time control my eating yesterday though.  I counted all my food pretty good but estimated quite a bit too though.  I am hoping that I did alright as far as calories in and calories out. 

I know I ran 25 miles and during that run I burned like 2800 calories, but I also ate quite a few points while I ran.  No perfectly sure how to deal with the fuel that I eat during the run.  I used to never count it but it seems that I have to be more and more precise the longer I am on maintenance.  I don’t like that part about it.  Maintenance is a lot harder for me compared to trying to lose the weight. I think it is in my mind because I feel that I have so much more room to fudge and eat more without counting.  Then I get everyone telling me that I just ran so much that I can eat whatever I want.  It is all a bit confusing.  I just hope that I do well at my weigh in this Tuesday.

12 Responses to “All was well yesterday but I almost lost it.”


  1. 1 RobFitness
    March 2, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Glad that you didn’t lose it. I think with all the activity you have been doing you’ve burned up a hell of a lot more than you consumed. Out of curiosity what do you eat while you run that you don’t count? In my eyes you did a great job, man! proud of all the work that you continue to do to keep yourself fit and healthy. You really are an inspiration to me and I know others as well.
    Thanks for your support as well.

    • 2 run4change
      March 2, 2009 at 11:14 am

      I do count it now, but before I did not. I drink this stuff called PERPETUEM. It is an endurance drink. It has 260 calories per servings and I put one serving in a 22 oz water bottle. It mixes with water. When I actually do the race I will also eat one hammer gel every hour to make my total caloric intake around 350 calories per hour. I burn around 700-800 calories per hour when I run. That leaves me in a deficit but you body cannot digest more than 350 or so calories per hour while running. You will just get full, sloshy, and puke. I have not done that yet but I have worked very dilegently at perfecting the hydration and calorie intake during long runs because I was so afraid of being like those ladies in the Ironman video I posted. They got that way due to improper intakes.

  2. 3 afatgirl
    March 2, 2009 at 11:47 am

    I am terrified of maintenance because it seems so much more difficult. I too would have a tough time with fuel while running, it’s something that is a necessary evil, but hard to count into the daily points.

    • 4 run4change
      March 2, 2009 at 11:57 am

      It just seems wrong to have to count it but it is calories coming in so I guess we’re supposed to be counting it. Everyone tells me not to but I cannot get past the fact that it is calories coming in. If I don’t count it I am lying to myself. Shoot, I probably have enough other things that I don’t count. HAHAHAHAHA 🙂

  3. 5 RobFitness
    March 2, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Thanks for sharing that Jason. It’s stuff I never knew about and something my trainer never even told me about. I guess now that I am kind of on my own I’ll have to figure this stuff out m by myself or learn what works for others and see if it’s something that I can implement. Thanks again for sharing that knowledge and by the way great job with the NO chew… Keep up the great work. I’m only at Day 2 of no coffee or what do they call it “Diet SODA”. 🙂 Have a good one dude…

  4. 7 Michelle
    March 2, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Hi Jason,

    I’m relatively new to your blog so I have to ask: Do you use a HR monitor to know your caloric burn during activity?

    You’re probably all over this already, but I’ll put it out there anyways…

    I also disagree with whoever tells you not to count what you consume during long runs. If you are concerned about your maintenance than I would keep track of your caloric intake versus burn.

    If you know your BMR for the day and then add in your caloric burn from exercise you can then find your surplus or deficit from what you consume.

    With WW I’m not sure what the point to calorie ratio is but it’s generally the same idea.

    Either way, hopefully after a while you’ll get a better feel for what you can/can’t have to maintain (just like you did for knowing the limits and keep losing weight before). That is key IMO, you have to re-learn what you know about your body. First you learned what it needs to lose and now you just have to learn what it needs to maintain.

    Darn bodies… so high maintenance! lol

    • 8 run4change
      March 2, 2009 at 12:42 pm

      I do use a HRM during my running and I divide that by 100 to get my points. Doing it this way give me wiggle room if I end up eating all of my AP’s because and AP is not exactly 100 calories I don’t think. My run yesterday with this method gave me 28 activity points for the run. Using the WW online calculator I would have gotten 35-37 points. So going with the HRM method I thinkwill be more accurate for me. Thanks for your contribution. I really really appreciate it. Have a great day.

  5. 9 lili47
    March 2, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Wow 25 miles? Is this a regular occurence for you? Jason you need someone to tell you that you are doing F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C !

    I know maintenance is harder than weight loss because there’s not as much reward (in our minds). With weight loss we can at least see a “tangible” reward such as slimmer physique & smaller clothes. But maintenance … the reward is not so tangible. It’s more a feeling reward – like the feeling of knowing you did what you wanted to do.

    I’m going to get into this more in my blog, but I’m an emotional overeater. I eat to avoid feelings of loneliness, impotence, boredom, unimportance. My challenge is to participate in activities other than food, that make those feelings go away.

    I’ve learned for myself that overeating is a way for me to feel control in my environment. When I practise abstinence, I learn to accept I don’t have control over many things and I begin to have peace with that.

    You won’t always have control over every day, over every weigh-in. But give yourself the credit of running 25 miles this weekend, my new friend. I saw the pics of you and your wife that you posted and you’ve done a remarkable job.

    Maintenance … the continued path of practising new behaviors … ongoing. You are on the path and then some. Thanks for your honesty and I know I’ll be coming here lots.

    • 10 run4change
      March 2, 2009 at 8:49 pm

      Lili47, this is such a comforting and encouraging comment that you gave me. I totally appreciate this. I am an emotional eater also and I eat over the same feelings that you describe. Running has been a big replacement for me in the emotional eating department. And yes, running 25 miles + is somewhat of a regular occurance with me and I try my darndest to get a marathon a month in . Thanks again for your awesome support.

  6. 11 Ms Oblivious
    March 2, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Who knew there’d be this much math involved in being healthier, huh? I am still not sure if I should be counting the calories in gum (since I’m possibly burning same calories while chewing said gum). But not to make light of your situation – You are just amazing! A marathon a month?!?! Ok, have you ever read the book Ultramarathon Man by Dean Karnazes? I am in such awe of anyone dedicated enough to commit to that kind of running. Now I will go ahead and add Run4Change aka Jason to that list of people as well.

    • 12 run4change
      March 3, 2009 at 5:26 am

      Thank you for the wonderful and kind words of support. This was encouraging for me to read first thing this morning


Leave a Reply

