03
Mar
09

Weigh-in tonight and yesterdays journey

Here I am at mile 14 as Audrey joins in on my run with me.

Here I am at mile 14 as Audrey joins in on my run with me.

I did good on my health journey yesterday.  It was just a normal day.  No big temptations, no really hard food choices, no pushing myself in exercise (it was my day off).  All went well.

No feeling great today

Today I am not feeling good.  Physically I am good but mental I am bummed out and tired feeling. 

My weigh-in is tonight

I have to weigh myself tonight at my weight watchers meeting.  I hope so bad that I lose but am not sure what is going to happen even though I stayed on my program perfectly this week.  I am sure of this.  If I gain I will be in a state of confusion all over again.  Really, I am not looking forward to it.  I just want to leave work and go to sleep.

Progress on chewing

Since Feb. 23rd, I now have 8 days and 5 hours of time without using smokeless tobacco.  That is pretty good and I am happy about this.  It is not so bad staying away.  I just have to remember to make a new decision when my little routines and habits kick in.

24 Responses to “Weigh-in tonight and yesterdays journey”


  1. 1 CJ
    March 3, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Sorry you are not feeling so good today. We all have these days (some of us more than others). Give yourself permission to have some “blah” feelings and then just move on. You are at a time with your body that its trying to figure out where it needs to be for life now. With all the exercising you do, its just probably trying to find its “set point”. Its frustrating, but you are at a good point in your weight loss journey. I agree with something you said in an earlier post, that its easier to lose than maintain (even though I have no experience with maintaining after losing a ton of weight). Having a goal and working towards it, that’s the plan of attack. I just can’t help but think trying to maintain would be so much harder and so much more frustrating.

    Okay, I have just babbled here and all I wanted to say was “Keep your spirits up”.

    • 2 run4change
      March 3, 2009 at 6:48 am

      Thanks for your kindness. I appreciate it and your comment has some great points in it

  2. 3 Teresa
    March 3, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Hang in there Jason. We all have days that are emotionally trying. Just remember that the scale is only one tool of measurement and know that one bad day or one bad weigh in in the grand scheme of this amazing accomplishment is just a minor speed bump. Its when we run too many of those speed bumps too close together and then drive fast and furiously over them that we put ourselves in danger.

    And–good job with the chew. I know from watching someone I love try to quit smoking that breaking the nicotine habit is really hard. You are to be commended! I am giving up POP. 🙂 I have now made it, let’s see, 12 hours without having a diet coke. I’ve quit this monster before for as long as 2.5 years at a time and always end up getting sucked back in. Not this time! Wish me luck!

    • 4 run4change
      March 3, 2009 at 8:38 am

      I do wish you luck. I now have the same amount of time from pop as I do chew. But today is particularly difficult on both fronts.

  3. 5 donna
    March 3, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Jason I can say chin up to you and I know you will be successful tonight,but if I knew you a year or so ago I wouldve said chins up because Im sure you had more than one chin,like the rest of us who are still trying to reach a goal.(thought that would make you laugh)But you know what I mean,wow youve come so far and just by that goal youve helped a lot of people with your positiveness and your story is so inspiring that I feel that is your real purpose in life.Yes you are definitely entitled to a bad day and another and they will happen from time to time but you being you will pick yourself up and keep going because thats who you are.Like I said before you helping others is what helps you to keep going.You are there my friend and the passion of Christ lives in us all through him.

  4. 7 Michelle
    March 3, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Jason – The scale can certainly be daunting, but remember – it’s just a scale and not a reflection of you or the tremendous success you’ve had. You’ve accomplished amazing things already and will continue to accomplish your goals!

    As someone else said, I’m sure your body is still adjusting and you’ll find your comfort zone for maintenance. Stay strong! It’ll all work out. 🙂

    And congrats on sticking to no chew! My husband quit smoking when we got married and he said it was the hardest thing he’s ever done but also the most rewarding.

  5. 9 AmyJoGo
    March 3, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Even though you’re having a blah day, I know your evening will be better. My evenings, even after a gaining weigh in, are always much better after I’ve received more encouragement, tips and have simply been around other like-minded people. Sounds like your weigh in is coming right in the nic of time for you today.

    Praying for you. I know it’s rough. (been there all week myself! LOL)

  6. 11 Shannon
    March 3, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Jason I totally understand your frustration. I ran yesterday, set out to do a 12 mile and only did 9. It was hard, I had side aches, it was frustrating!! I feel tired today and did not want to exercise, but I came across a picture of myself 2 years ago..80 pounds heavier! That helped lift my spirits and made me realize how I have changed my life. Look at your picture out on the slopes from this weekend, look at all you have achieved!! You do have something to be thankful and encouraged about!! Great job on the no pop and chew!!!

    • 12 run4change
      March 3, 2009 at 11:26 am

      Good job on your run. Sometimes we just don’t “feel it” for that day. I get that way sometimes too. 80 lbs is pretty dang awesome. Keep up the good work and thank you for your encouragement.

  7. 13 AmyJoGo
    March 3, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Of course I’m right. I’m always right! heh heh heh

  8. 15 RobFitness
    March 3, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I am sure that with all that you did this week-end your weigh in will be a success just as you are in all that you set your sights on. We are here for you my friend and stay strong and focused and all will be just fine. Your a great guy, with a great attitude.. so get em my friend. 🙂

  9. 17 lili47
    March 3, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Ha! My son just gave up chew. He said all the university athletes did it because they couldn’t smoke. He played on the university volleyball team. He just gave it up recently too.
    Congrats on your 9 days off the stuff!

    Good luck at weigh in 🙂

    • 18 run4change
      March 3, 2009 at 9:08 pm

      Thanks Lili47. I did good at weigh in and will post tomorrow. I also appreciate the chew support. 🙂

  10. March 3, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    I have had a bad case of the winter blahs too… I hope you have brighter days and that your weigh-in goes as you hoped!! Hang in there!

    • 20 run4change
      March 3, 2009 at 9:08 pm

      THanks Melissa. My blahs went away after a while and I did end up hanging in there. Thank you

  11. March 4, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Hey Jason,

    Just wanted to agree with what everyone has said. You are incredible and have come so far. I know that you know that, but we just want you to remember it on the days like today. Thank you for all you do and for sharing your journey with us. We are all better people because of knowing you. I cannot wait to hear how your weigh-in went. Have you ever thought of looking for a morning meeting. I used to weigh-in at night and now weigh-in on Saturday mornings. It is amazing how different I feel about weighing in now that it is in the morning. Less time to stress and I get to eat normally that day. I used to barely eat anything when I weighed in at night and that’s not healthy either. Just a thought. Maybe a morning weigh-in would be beneficial to you.

    Take care. Can’t wait to read about your weigh-in.

    Melissa

  12. March 4, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I know, I know…I am impatient…how did your weigh in go?

    I completely understand the “I have no idea what to expect feeling” I was there myself this week!

    • 24 run4change
      March 4, 2009 at 10:31 am

      Kim, hopefully you stay on here. I just now posted the blog post regarding my weigh-in, but if you happen to have left already, I lost 2 lbs. wooo hoooo 🙂


Leave a Reply

