04
Mar
09

The Bane of Dane: Biggest loser, Marathoning, and History

the-biggest-loserOK, I am sure that most of you have heard that Dane on the biggest loser did/didn’t finish a marathon.  I cannot for the life of me find the blog that I first learned it from.  This blog actually had pics of the scandal because she was there running the marathon herself.

Anyway, I got an email today from a person who was pretty bothered by this scandal.  I can certainly understand why.  Finishing a marathon is a really big deal.  Although I generally feel that everyone can do it, not everyone wants to or wants to put out the mental effort to finish one.  My first thoughts while watching that part of the show were, “Woah!!  That dude is big and to get a sub 4hr time is serious running.”  I was happy for him of course but inside I just thought that it might be to good to be true.  Now I have been to some larger marathons and there are people of ALL shapes and sizes participating so don’t get me wrong.  Bigger people can run like crazy.  I just doubted the “Dane finish” from the start.  Here is a link to the actual results for the race that Dane was in.  He is not in the results because he was disqualified after several runners told on him.

To stay up-to-date on all the fun that is going on at run4change, subscribe here

My friendly emailer also told me that at the marathon that they ran several people were moved via van to just before the finish and they got that as their finishing time.  This is just wrong.  It is mostly wrong for them.  They don’t get the joy, the realization that THEY did it, they don’t get the soreness, or pain, or accomplishment that comes with enduring 26.2 miles.  Even Dane really missed out.  He could have made it.  Even if things went really bad, he could have walked at 3 miles an hour and finished himself.  He also could have just went back to finish FOR himself and NOT for the TV land.  I have read that he got picked up anywhere from mile 17-23.  In any case, he missed out and he will always know that he DID NOT FINISH A MARATHON.  He does however have the knowledge that he can finish a marathon.

This is also not the first marathon scandal.  One of the most famous, if not the most famous, is the Rosie Ruis Boston Marathon Scandal. She actually won the womans race in 1980 without even running half of it.  There are many scandals to do with the Olympics also but I won’t go into those.

What do I make of all of this???

The end result of cheating, whether we get caught or not, really makes a negative impact on us.  We have to cover up our story.  We have to keep up with the lie.  We know the truth inside of ourselves.  Think about lying to yourself about what you eat.  Nobody is going to know.  But you will.  You are going to see the scale’s results.  You are going to go backwards.  It is the same for marathoning.  If you cheat, only you will be brought down in the end.

Many of the marathons I have run lately refuse to give a shirt to those who do not cross the finish line.  This made me mad at first because I like to get my shirt right away for fear that they will run out by the time I get done.  But I understand it.  I think of all the people who trained and endured the race only to see a non-finisher wearing the glory on the way home.  I can understand them but I don’t care about that though.  Knowing that I finished is the most important thing.  Even in my last marathon they did not include me in the final results for some reason.  Maybe it was a typo or a mistake.    “Who cares” I said.  “I know what happened.”

The blog that I first found the info. on.  Danes wife comments on the marthon at this post.

Here is a link to the show’s apology and more info.

14 Responses to “The Bane of Dane: Biggest loser, Marathoning, and History”


  1. March 4, 2009 at 3:50 am

    I’m a HUGE Biggest Loser fan, but have been disappointed this season. Before the whole marathon deception when Blaine was voted off in the update it said that he was going to do an Ironman. The distances though that he listed were all off. Being someone that is into triathlons with the ultimate goal of doing an Ironman (2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run) before I’m 40 I was concerned that there was a misrepresentation of what Blaine was going to do. I also have a bunch of friends that do Ironman races, so I was feeling like it took away what they have worked so hard for. What I found out is that the producers ACCIDENTLY edited it wrong to say Ironman when it was supposed to be a half Ironman. You see the numbers above for an Ironman, is there anything wrong with doing a 1/2? No. I do sprint triathlons right now where I swim 1/2 mile, bike 15, and run a 5k. That is an awesome accomplishment in and of itself. I heard that Dane ran 23 of the 26.2 miles. If you look at the clock when they finish it looks like 5 something instead of three and that is what the lady on the blog said their time was. What’s wrong with that? Why couldn’t that have been reported? Shoot if he had run a 10k or a 1/2 marathon I would have been impressed. Look where these people are coming from and where they are headed. There is no need to inflate what they are doing after they leave the ranch. Before being on the ranch they did nothing, so anything they are able to do after leaving the ranch is an accomplishment. Biggest Loser needs to get back to what they do best helping people become healthy. Forget the game play and inflating info to make things look better. Dane will have to live with his results and I am sad for him that this whole thing took place. Hopefully next time he does a marathon he’ll be able to finish, but if not that’s ok. Whatever he will have done will still be HUGE and at least he’s not HUGE anymore.

    Here is the link to the blog where the lady wrote about Dane not finishing. If you scroll through the comments his wife commented.

    http://melancholysmile.blogspot.com/2009/02/we-did-it.html

    • 2 run4change
      March 4, 2009 at 5:29 am

      Morning meepa. I have put the links into the post now. These are the two links that I first discovered the issue with. I couldn’t remember them so I am glad that you gave them to me. I feel a bit bad for the guy but there is one thing I don’t like really bad. If he was doing this for himself and not for the glory, he could have went back to where he got picked up and finished the race for an official time and the true knowledge that he did it. Don’t know why he didn’t do that.

  2. March 4, 2009 at 3:55 am

    Here is a link for Biggest Loser’s response to the whole debacle.

    http://blogs.kansascity.com/tvbarn/2009/02/the-biggest-los.html

  3. March 4, 2009 at 5:12 am

    This is so true. Dane hurt himself most of all by doing this. Also, it cheapened the accomplishments he has made. He lost over 100 pounds! He went from sitting on a couch to running in a marathon! Those things are awesome!!! He deserves praise for what he has done. But, he is not yet a marathoner.

    This is an excerpt from an email from a friend of mine who ran the L.A. marathon a couple of years ago. This, I believe, beautifully illustrates the determination of the human spirit:

    “At L.A., after we had showered, relaxed, spent time in the hot tub (a mistake), and were on our way to dinner, we saw people finishing. This was 9.5 hours after the race started. When we left dinner, we saw people finishing. This was at hour 11 or so. Some took 13.

    I distinctly remember one girl who was walking slowly towards the finish. Even walking is an exaggeration. She stepped slowly, not even one foot in front of the next, but mere inches a step, one after the other. She wasn’t wearing her shoes. She was leaning on an older woman (not a participant) that I always have felt was her mother. Her mother was carrying her shoes. She shuffled like this towards the finish and my buddies and I just stopped and clapped.

    She earned her medal.

    She didn’t take a ride.”

    • 6 run4change
      March 4, 2009 at 5:31 am

      Thank you so much Linda for leaving the story in the comment. I love this story and I know others will love it too. Thanks again

  4. 7 Teresa
    March 4, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Wow! I had no idea about this scandal. It makes me sad.

    On a happy note–I have signed up (paid my $ and everything) to do a 1/2 marathon on June 13. I don’t think I’ll be quite ready to run the whole thing, so I’m planning for a walk/run. But I just need to get something solid so I had a goal to work for. I am EXCITED!

    Oh, and no Pop for me for 2 days now (thanks to your excellent example).

    • 8 run4change
      March 4, 2009 at 1:23 pm

      Great job on the no pop. I have now had one pop in the last 10 days I think. That is really good for me. Congrats on the half. You will do great. Which one are you doing?

    • 9 run4change
      March 4, 2009 at 1:27 pm

      If it is Helvatia, you are so lucky. I have always wanted to do that one. It looks like one of the funnest ones around.

  5. March 4, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I’m starting to get discouraged in BL this season. This week was “To Be Continued”. Ugh. I really hate shows that do that. First they break it up for the President’s speech now this. Although Mike giving the woman with family his grocery prize was awesome. I was crying. It’s great about Dane running that far, I just wish they had let him finish rather than rush him to cheat or at least mention he only did most of it, but that’s show biz.

  6. 12 the Zookeeper
    March 5, 2009 at 11:40 am

    I’d heard the beginning of this story–people being suspicious of his finish–and I wanted so badly for it to be true. Like you said, athletes come in all shapes and sizes, as I saw myself on Sunday at my marathon. But if you want to slay the monster of the marathon, or the 5k, or the scale, you should do it for yourself–otherwise you’ll always end up catching the golf cart to the finish.

    Maybe that’s the challenge for all of us–to decide what we really want, and then find the courage to stick with it til the end–blisters and all.

    • 13 run4change
      March 5, 2009 at 11:43 am

      You got it Zoo. If we don’t do it for ourselves it is just to easy to give in to the temptation to stop. I couldn’t image running a marathon for someone else because there are mile 24 (usually a ruff part for me) they are there getting me through.


Leave a Reply

