05
Mar
09

Fast running, dinner preparation for my wife, and nii-nite.

Donuts with Audrey 2I just love my wife.  She is such a hard worker.  We both are really.  On Tuesday and Wednesday she gets home later than normal so I try to make her dinner.  I make boring food but it is ready when she gets there.  I made her Brussels sprouts, chicken, and special fried potatoes how she likes them.  She appreciated it and that made me feel soo good.

Before I got home I did a 7 mile race pace run.  As I have said before this is my 40 miler race pace that I will be shooting for between my walk breaks.  I ran 7 miles at an 8:47 pace.  It is getting easier now so I must be getting in better shape.  That is exciting and to think that I was able to do it only three days after a 25 mile long run just makes me ecstatic.   The run went very well but between miles 4 and 5 it was really hard.  Other than that is was smooth sailing.

When I got home I immediately jumped into making dinner.  I made myself eggs instead of chicken.  I man can only take so much chicken and I eat it everyday.  HAHAHA  While I was cooking I snacked on Salsa and carrots chips (Thanks mommymeepa).  That held me over until my food was done. 

After dinner I made popcorn and had a WW fudge bar.  I hit my points perfectly for the day.  Our air popper was broken so Audrey made popcorn the old fashioned way and did it in a pan.  It was fun.  We laughed because this is how everyone used to do it I guess but it was our first time.  The day was good in general and in terms of WW.

8 Responses to “Fast running, dinner preparation for my wife, and nii-nite.”


  1. March 5, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    sounds like a great day 🙂 Love the donut picture!

    • 2 run4change
      March 5, 2009 at 1:16 pm

      That is a pic from a post a couple of weeks ago where I had a serious run in with donut temptation. HAHAHA. Gotta love my wife though 🙂

  2. March 5, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    She is so pretty! 🙂

  3. 5 RobFitness
    March 5, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Great job on a lot of things today. looks like you had a very good evening and one that was right on track, both with with run and your eating. Way to Go!! I understand the feeling about a man can only eat so much chicken, because that’s all I seem to eat, beside vegetables. I might spice it up by making eggs and salsa as well. 🙂 variety is the spice of life, as the say. Oh I remember the good ole days when we use to make popcorn, via the stove top method. It was fun and it was a night the family came together to have popcorn and watch a movie. If you used oil you did count those points as well, right. 🙂 No I am not trying to be the WW point police. 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      March 6, 2009 at 5:29 am

      You can only spice up chicken so many different way but in the end it just tastes like chicken. Oh, and I did not eat any of the popcorn that she made because she did use oil. I had my 1 point bag of micro struff

  4. March 6, 2009 at 5:41 am

    What brand of popcorn do you use again?

    Went to the gym this morning at 515am. this is going to be my new workout time. the nice thing about going early is you can always get on a machine. I ran and walked and am hoping I can get faster so I can beat my 5k time 50 minutes on April 4th. My goal is 45 minutes, but today my mile was 18:36. That a lot better than I have done a mile in in a long time, but not sure I can reach my goal by April 4th. I might be Psyching myself out. Don’t know. UGH!! Is it ok to run everyday? Gotta go get ready for work. Take care.

    • 8 run4change
      March 6, 2009 at 5:46 am

      It is certainly good to exercise everyday if you want too, but running everday is a different story. Here is the break down and I will do a post on it also. 2 days does not bring much improvement. 3-4 days brings definite improvement. 5 days has been shown to bring the most improvement when compared to injury risk. 6-7 days still brings some but it is much much less improvement with added injury risk. So overall, 5 days a week running is the happiest median for running improvement. Some run everyday, but the risk of injury on day 6-7 and the fact that those extra two days will not help that much makes 5 days the best option.


Leave a Reply

