06
Mar
09

I couldn’t take it anymore: Pop, chew, blah blah blah!!

before blue shirtI know what you are thinking.  I did not give into the chew.  I gave into the pop.  I have been doing good with the chew.  Not exactly sure how many days it has been without smokeless tobacco.  Maybe 11 days or so.  I am doing good on the chew.

Now the pop is s different story.  I have decided I cannot stop drinking “Sody pop”  (Amy) all together.  I have cut way back and have only drank 2 pops this week.  That is much better than 2 per day.  Also, I know it is not making me fat and unhealthy so I just can’t justify my efforts to quit.  This is a personal choice I guess.  Good for you if you can kick it.  Go for it.  But not me, not all the way at least.

Last night I did good with my food and exercise.  I got 6 points for a 5.7 mile run with a lot of speed work mixed into it. I burned like 630 some odd calories.  I was happy with it.  I was supposed to do a track workout but go to the track and the school was using it.  So instead of calling it a night I just made up my own speed interval training on the road. I was proud of myself for the workout.  After that, I ate my normal nightly foods.  The only problem was that I was having a supreme fat day.  I felt sooooooo fat for some reason.  I hate that.  I wish I did not have those days but they come and then they go.  I am feeling better today.

27 Responses to “I couldn’t take it anymore: Pop, chew, blah blah blah!!”


  1. March 6, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    My drink crutch is chocolate milk. If we make our diet too restricted we are only setting ourselves up for failure. As long as calories or in your case points of the drink are allowed, I say why not every once in a while treat yourself. That’s great about no chew so long you’re starting to lose track of how long without it.

    • 2 run4change
      March 6, 2009 at 4:27 pm

      HAHAHA. I think Feb. 23rd was when I first gave up the chew for the 1000th time. 🙂 I agree about being to restrictive and I have to remind myself all the time because I know that restrictive works to get the weight off it just doesn’t work for a lifetime of weight maintenance and health and sanity.

  2. March 6, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    No calories doesn’t mean it’s healhty… think of all those unpronounceable ingredients in soda. To be honest though, I failed as well. I had two this week and I had been doing so well. I think the lack of sleep is really affecting my willpower.

    • 4 run4change
      March 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm

      I will say for myself also that lack of sleep deeply affect my willpower and resolve in many aspect of life. I just plain old get depressed when I don’t get sleep

  3. March 6, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    LOL! Saw another sign today that said ‘Howdy’ with the same Pepsi logo for the O.

    2 for the week isn’t bad at all. I’m sure you’ve heard the stuff about water retention due to sodium in diet coke. Have you tried Coke Zero though? 10g sodium less than diet coke and it tastes similar to regular Coke. Good stuff, but I still prefer Diet Dr Pepper.

    Good job improvising your route for your run last night and for staying within points!

    And…you’re not fat. :p

    ~amy

    • 6 run4change
      March 6, 2009 at 8:34 pm

      Amy- Since you life in my favorite state of all time. 🙂 I was wondering if you ever see Big Red. OHH! AHH! I used to drink me some Big Red in the cafeteria at ACU. I loved that stuff back in the day. I have never seen it hear though. Dr. Pepper is very popular in Texas. I checked the sodium on diet coke. I found it not to be so bad since I eat things with a lot more than that in it. I feast on pickles almost daily. HAHAHA. They have about 6 times more sodium and that is just for like 3-4 pickles or something.

  4. 7 somedayistoday
    March 6, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    I hate to burst your bubble but soda pop is unhealthy for you. Even the diet stuff. The caffine messes with your metabolism, the sugar causes tooth decay and does make you fat, the acid causes bone weakening…etc… there’s more but thought I’d better stop there….:) I stopped drinking soda about 5yrs ago. I drink a soda about once every 4 or 5 months and when I do, it’s an IBC Rootbeer or Birch beer! I totally get not cutting out something completely that you love because that’s not good either, so just limit yourself and slowly ween yourself off the soda to only occasionally. That’s what I’ve done with Ice cream! Also if you try to say NEVER than you’ll set yourself up and think you’ve failed when you don’t make it. Don’t cut it out completely. Anyhow, just my two cents on the subject….Great post!

    • 8 run4change
      March 7, 2009 at 5:18 am

      Thanks someday. I agree that it might not be optimal for my health but if doesn’t make me gain then I don’t see it as soo bad. Thanks for the comment. I am going to just limit it instead of eliminate it

  5. 9 maggieapril
    March 7, 2009 at 3:54 am

    While I definitely think you should stay off the chew, I wouldn’t worry so much about the diet soft drinks. Most of us eat/drink things that aren’t healthy for us at least sometimes. Give yourself permission to enjoy a couple a week and stop feeling guilty!! Everything in moderation, right?

    Speaking from my own experiences, you know how when you were fat and some skinny person would talk about how fat they were, or how they needed to lose weight? And you would think to yourself “oh, pul-leeze!” Well that’s you now, dude. You look great and you’re healthy as a result of all of your hard work – so enjoy it!! (In no way am I trying to insult you. I just want you to know that other people see you as a “skinny person”. So try to visualize yourself as others see you and take joy in it!)

    • 10 run4change
      March 7, 2009 at 5:22 am

      WOW!!!! Maggieapril, your comment was a total and complete shocker to me. I am not jocking either. I am I was taken a back big time by what you said, “Speaking from my own experiences, you know how when you were fat and some skinny person would talk about how fat they were, or how they needed to lose weight? And you would think to yourself “oh, pul-leeze!” Well that’s you now, dude.”

      I totally realize that you were not being mean or offensive and I did not take it that way. It was just like, holy crap, my eyes were just opened and they had been closed for years or something. HAHAHA Dang, I’m the skinny person saying I need to lose weight. This sounds like post material.

  6. 11 Angela
    March 7, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Rock on with your bad sody pop drinking self. I’ll take a Diet Coke over a pinch of chew anyday.

    • 12 run4change
      March 7, 2009 at 8:11 am

      You know, all the cheerleaders at my highschool chewed. HAHA Can you imagine. All these pretty young ladies with bulged out lips and spitting. HAHA

  7. 13 Angela
    March 7, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Um…..ew. Did you go to school in Dogpatch? I have considered myself your cheerleader for several months now, but if it includes pleated skirts and a Bubba Gump lip I may have to re-think things. 🙂 haaaaaaaaaimsidgnsskdnglsdngisnvsg

    • 14 run4change
      March 7, 2009 at 8:17 am

      BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. OMG that freakin made me laugh. You are my cheerleader. I just mailed the skirt yesterday. Should be there by monday 🙂 I skipped the chew but I did send a set of the bubba gump teeth

  8. 15 donna
    March 7, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Yea Jason good for you on not chewing that crappy chew.I personally think diet sodas are a-ok.I know all this blah,blah,stuff that is said about them but my gosh you can get cancer from the air we breathe or water we drink or food or who the heck knows where else.So go for it my friend youre healthy and happy and I want you to be calm and sleep,ha,ha,so drink to your hearts content.Diet Rite soda has o sodium and its good.No big red here either but oh yes Ive had them back in good ol texas all my life,ah haaaa(moment)!

  9. 17 the Zookeeper
    March 7, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    That’s funny. I had to give up my Coke Zeros when my migraine meds made everything carbonated taste nasty, but I have to admit I can’t wait to go off them. Not to avoid permanent kidney damage, but to have a COKE!

    My neurologist insists the stuff is terrible for you, but I sure miss it. Funny, huh? Well, they say everything in moderation . . .

  10. March 7, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    It’s funny you asked about the Big Red. I saw a can of it the other day for the first time in YEARS (just moved back to TX about 6 months ago…been living in NM, OK and IL off and on). Anyway…I can’t believe you like that stuff!!! I can remember contests at summer camp where we had to chug that stuff in record time as a game and well…it looks pretty gross coming back out.

    I hear ya on the pickles. I’m a pickleholic. I just got back from Central Market where I picked up some tasty sweet and spicy pickles with pearl onions and banana peppers. I have a hard time staying out of them so I’m lucky to be able to buy from the bulk section and only buy a little bit at a time.

    Have you tried these spicy pickled veggies? They are so good. I’m constantly digging for the celery pieces. Sorry…don’t know how to hide links the way everyone else seems to. 😦 lol

    http://www.mezzetta.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=mezzetta&Product_Code=10106128&Category_Code=pickledveg

    • 20 run4change
      March 7, 2009 at 11:03 pm

      No need to hide. Just put it right out there for all of us to see. I have tried pickled veggies and I love them. I love all pickled stuff. Asparagus especially.

      On a side not Amy, pretty much across the street from ACU there was always a snow cone stand in the summer. I think we didn’t call it snow cones there but anyway, they had pickle. They actually poured pickle juice on the snow cone and it was pickle juice flavored. yuck. Crazy funny

  11. March 8, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    I LOVE pickle juice cones. And I love being back in a state where there are snow cone stands on just about every corner.

    Do ya’ll have Sonic up there? When I was a kid, our local Sonic made Pickle-O’s…deep fried pickle slices. I once blistered my lip on one of those boogers, but I still order them every time I find them on a menu. And Texas Toothpicks – julianne sliced jalapenos and onions, battered and deep fried.

    • 22 run4change
      March 8, 2009 at 6:30 pm

      If you say ya’ll one more time I am telling my wife it is time to move back. HAHAHAHA Are you serious about the pickle juice cones????? There is a Sonic up here but it is like an hour or more away I think. I used to actually praise God for Sonic. HEHEHEHE Peanut butter Choc. shakes. They also had a sweet heart shake with chunks of chocolate in it with dark cherry flavor. My wife and I used to go there every friday night on our way to the church to work the phones for the radio prayer line.

      I am going to go eat dinner now and try to forget all that yummy food you just mentioned. 🙂

  12. March 8, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Served with Ranch dressing, of course.

  13. March 9, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Ya’ll should move back!

    What’s stoppin’ ya?

    • 26 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 9:35 am

      Work. Work it stopping me. And my wife hates what the West Texas wind does to her hair. 🙂


Leave a Reply

