08
Mar
09

You CAN run a marathon.

rock_n_roll_marathon_start

Image credit: San Diego Rock&Roll Marathon

You can run a marathon.  Maybe you can’t even walk for 30 minutes, but if you keep up with your activity, you will eventually have the ability to finish 26.2 miles.  Is finishing a marathon one of your lifetime goals, one of your impossible dreams?  I believe that you can do it.  It is not easy to get to the starting line nor the finish line.  However, it is possible.  As you probably already know, I started out at 307 lbs and only able to ride a stationary bike for 12 minutes.  If I could do you it, you CAN do it.  You must take it slow and build up your fitness.  I talked to my doctor about it before I started to train for one, you should too.  Below are some resources to get started towards  your goal of finishing a race that only about 1% of people finish each year.

25 Responses to “You CAN run a marathon.”


  1. March 8, 2009 at 8:00 am

    That’s a LOT of people in that photo. Wow! ;o)

    • 2 run4change
      March 8, 2009 at 6:12 pm

      Melissa from shinking jeans. You are right. The biggest marathon I have done was the Portland marathon. The chicago marathon is the biggest I think. It is amazing to see all those people doing something so spectacular isn’t it. 🙂

  2. March 8, 2009 at 8:37 am

    WOW. Just WOW.
    I feel like I’ve just been spoken to.
    I’ve been doing A LOT of thinking since Friday night about just going for it. To start running. I’ve done plenty of reading about how to get started, etc. The one thing that I lack….is belief that I can really do it.
    Thank you for this post!

  3. 5 RobFitness
    March 8, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Thanks for continuing to inspire and motivate us to do more for ourselves. Running a marathon is quite an accomplishment and you have done your fair share of them so you do know what it takes. I might not ever me able to run a marathon , but I will be a triathlete which in itself will be a great accomplishment for me. Never in my life did I ever think I would correlate the words “Rob” and “Triathlete” together in a sentence or even in talk. It’s something a bit to get use to. As you said, WE can do this! Thanks, my friend…

    • 6 run4change
      March 8, 2009 at 6:13 pm

      HAHAHA, you’ll have to run a marathon someday ’cause there’s one in the Ironman. 🙂

  4. 7 afatgirl
    March 8, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Thanks for the links!

    I am so incredibly glad I’ve found your blog. (I know I’ve said that before!)

    In the back of my head, I’ve always had this idea that running a marathon would be fun. But I’ve always had the nagging voice saying “But, it’s not people like you who run marathons!” and now? Well, you’ve inspired me.

    My lifestyle right now doesn’t permit for too much continuous exercise, but in a few months I will have all the time in the world! And I plan on running daily then! (Or working up to it at least!) Until then, I’ll settle for following your fabulous blog.

    • 8 run4change
      March 8, 2009 at 6:15 pm

      afatgirl- You would be amazed at the bigger marathons. There is every shape and size person just about imaginable. It is really great. I remember in my first marathon this pretty dang big lady (not just over weight but also very tall) she flew by me and I never saw her again. I was amazed and humbled. That day I realized that pretty much everyone can do this.

  5. 9 somedayistoday
    March 8, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    You are so right that it takes time. You have to put IN the time for it to work. At my heaviest, 295lbs, I couldn’t walk a 1/2 mile without hurting. Now I can bike over 7 miles and walk even more. I still have knee problems but know how to prepare my knees before I exercise and after. I have to say that the recovery time is now a few hours or overnight when it used to be several days or a week before I could do any rigorous exercise again. It works! I have not done a marathon but have to say that living in San Diego, The Rock & Roll Marathon is the BEST! We take it very seriously as well as have SO MUCH FUN with all the music and encouragement along the way for the runners/walkers! If you ever sign up for this one, you best let me know so I can meet a fellow blogger on this journey called health for a lifetime!

    • 10 run4change
      March 8, 2009 at 6:19 pm

      I will do that for sure someday. I would love to meet you and I do want to do that marathon someday. Your story is fabulous and it got me all excited. I remember being sore for day on end. After I run my 40 miler in may I will again be sore for days. HAHAHA Can’t wait 🙂

  6. March 8, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Hmmmm Maybe someday I will decide I WANT to do a marathon. FOr now…I will concentrate on running a little farther tomorrow than I did today!

    Now some questions for you runner boy!

    Friday I ran 5.5 miles and for the 1st time ran almost a mile straight…(did that twice) Then on my way back…my hips started tightening up and so did my calves so I walked alittle more. THen yesterday I did 4 miles total of a bunch of start/stop stuff as I was filming. Today my hips, calves and ABS hurt like crazy. How do you get rid of that or prevent it from happening in the first place? I am certain I probably overdid it. That is 9.5 miles in 2 days for someone who has never run mor ethan 2 in a stretch with half of that 2 being walking for sure (cuz it was on a track!)

    Is it common for endurance to build up so quickly? I feel like jsut last week I ran 5 minutes straight…and now I ran almost a mile straight?!!?

    Should I be concerned about greater injury by increasing so quickly? It wasn’t intentional…I jsut felt good after teh first mile on Fri and kept going…not remembering that I wasn’t on a circle path..I was on a straight out and back thing….so…no shortcuts on teh way back!

    Anyway, those are some questions for you!

    • 12 run4change
      March 8, 2009 at 9:12 pm

      Yes. Increasing distance/time to quickly can result in greater risk of injury. The “rule” is to not increase your milage more than 10% in a week. So if you run 9 miles in a week you should not run more than 10 the next (9.9 mi). Endurance and fitness improves quickly for people who are not in the best of shape. It happens even faster for people who are out of shape but have a history of being in shape and athletic. The more fit you get the hard it is to improve that fitness. For example: In my first marathon I finished in around 5:35 or so, my second was around 20 minutes faster and it was only a month later. A person running for years with a high level of fitness would NEVER improve their time by that much. I did because I was just starting out. Does that make sense? Just be careful about increasing time/milage to fast.

      Also, when I push the distance my hips and achilles tendons get sore and hurt. So do my feet in general. I have had many time with sore abs and in fact tonight my abs are sore from my 20 miler this morning.

  7. March 8, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Well tehn I guess it is good that I took today off! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts, experience and advice!

  8. March 9, 2009 at 2:26 am

    Afatgirl,

    I want you to know that Jason is right. There is everyone at a marathon. I just went and cheered my little brother on at the Chicago Marathon this past year. If you think you want to do it then you can do it. Positive thinking girlfriend. Who says we can’t do it, only ourselves. I”m glad Jason inspired you because YOU CAN DO IT!!!

    I also have been wanting to say something about your name you gave yourself AFATGIRL. I was thinking you should come up with something more positive. You know, ABEAUTIFULGIRL, AFUNGRIL, FATGIRLNOMORE, FATTOFITGIRL, etc. I hope you do not think I am being rude, but so many times we put ourselves down in this journey and I have personally found that even in the little things if I am positive I do so much better. My name on a triathlon board was BIGGIRLSTRI and someone told me one time, “You know what people of all sizes do triathlons, you don’t need to mention your size.” They were right and I changed my name. Just something to think about or you can tell me to mind my own business. 🙂 LOL

  9. March 9, 2009 at 2:28 am

    Jason, I cannot wait to do my first marathon. It does seem so far off since I still can’t run a 5k, but I know I will get there and I am so excited and my little brother who is hooked on marathons now is going to run it with me. He has been my biggest cheerleader in my journey to health and fitness, so it will mean a lot to me when he runs it with me.

    You better tell me if you ever come and do the Chicago Marathon. I’ll want to be out there cheering for you.

    • 17 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 4:57 am

      Melissa, the Chicago is on my list too. I really do want to do that one someday. That is cool that your brother cheers you on . I would love to do a marathon, or any other race for that matter, with one of my sisters. 🙂

  10. 18 Shannon
    March 9, 2009 at 5:00 am

    Thanks for inspiring everyone to strive to be better!! As i woke up yesterday and saw snow on the ground I tried to talk myself out of running! I went though and as i was getting started our paths crossed! I saw you run by and thought, Jason is out here now get moving!! Glad your run went well, as mine did too! I have even looked into doing a trail marathon in September. This is something I would never have done, or been able to do a year ago! Thanks for the encouragement!

    • 19 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 5:29 am

      Wow! No way. You saw me? Where was I? Did I look tired? HAHAHA Were you running when you saw me or driving by or did I run by your house?

  11. March 9, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Like the person above, I have a couple questions for you, Runner-Boy. I’ve just started running and am still quite overweight too. A goal of mine for this year is to run in some 10K’s. So here is my question: When you sign up to run in a race, are you allowed to run/walk/run? I mean, can I take walking breaks and still be legit? Look forward to hearing your response.

    • 21 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 8:58 am

      Valerie- Yes, you can run/walk, run only, or walk only. A lot of races have a time limit. I am not sure if most 5-10k’s have one though. when you are in a race it does not matter what you do to get to the finish line as long as it is on your own two feet. You can check to see if the race has a time limit, if it does, you will still be able to run/walk to the course. If you can’t finish in time for the cut off that usually means that they will be taking down the finish line and there will be no on-course support after the cut off.

      But yes, you are definitely allowed to run/walk in congrats on wanting to tackle the challenge. Good luck

  12. March 9, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    It would be kinda fun if a whole bunch of your blog followers met up for a marathon somewhere (say…Texas???). Kill a few birds with one stone: everyone could meet, everyone could start out together training for that particular marathon so it could be one of your next challenges, everyone could encourage each other along the way, we could buy matching shirts and ribbons for our hair even! 😉

    Our slogan could be ‘A community that blogs together, runs together’.

    Seriously, it would be fun. (see what reading your blogs do to us!??!!?)

    ~amy

    • 23 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 12:25 pm

      Amy, Iwould love for such a thing to happen. I think that it would be so fun and interesting to do it.

  13. March 9, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    But would you and Rob wear the ribbons in your hair???


Leave a Reply

