09
Mar
09

I was all alone this weekend but I did good.

My wife was gone this weekend.  Boy does the house get lonely without my Love around.  Usually when she is gone I get into some mindless eating because I am bored and don’t have her around to talk to.  I did good on my points from Friday onward.  I am happy about that and if I don’t have water retention from sore legs I hope to lose weight on my Tuesday night WI. 

This weekend I had what many call a “block”.  It is a back-to-back long run.  So on Saturday I ran a speedy 10 miles at race pace.  That happened at about 6 p.m.  Then on Sunday morning I ran 20 miles.  So in a time span of about 15 hours I ran 30 miles.  This is one way people build endurance up without having to run an overly long run of 30+ miles on their long run day.  I personally prefer just doing the one long run but the coach has me doing a back-to-back every other weekend because I get most of every other Saturday off.  This week I did not have it off so I had to run the 10 miles after work.  That always makes it harder.  I did great in both runs though and I am a bit sore today but nothing big.  It will be gone by tomorrow for sure.  That gave me 43 miles for the week.  I have a marathon this Sunday and I am going to try and break the 4 hour mark.  I won’t be rested or have done a proper taper for the marathon but that is a good thing because it will prepare me better for the 40 miler where I will be forced to keep running with tired legs and body.  I generally recover pretty fast now from 20+ mile efforts.

Yesterday I felt dizzy after my long run because I stopped eatin/drinking at mile 15 for some reason.  I guess I just forgot.  I went out for sushi with my mom and sister, then spent much of the day going here and there to buy my food for the week.  Once I got home I made lunch for my wife for her work week so that she could just come home and have a nice smooth transition back into work.  I also made some of my lunches.  I made 6 two point burritos and 6 three points sandwiches.  I will have both of them each day this week as part of my work food.

See you all later.  Don’t forget to subsribe to my feed if you haven’t already.  This way you will be updated each time I post about my journey.  Click HERE.

10 Responses to “I was all alone this weekend but I did good.”


  1. 1 Kim
    March 9, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Water retention from sore legs????? uh oh…now you have me worried!!!

    In other things…..You continue to amaze me with how much you run and how much you eat!!!

    • 2 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 9:34 am

      Hey now. I did not eat all 6 burritos in one day. HAHAHA That was for one week. Thanks Kim

  2. 3 RobFitness
    March 9, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Well I know what you went through. Being alone can be a real challenge for us, especially if we become bored out of our minds. You stuck it out and did so well and it’s something you should be proud of. I also have to say what a great guy/husband you are for doing the meal thing for your wife. That it so cool of you to do that. Now that you have my address you can send some meals my way since your doing the cooking 🙂 HA HA
    Now I have to also say a couple things what a great job and pace on the runs. I am getting a bit jealous and have to step up the pace myself I see. Especially with our Ironman just years away.

    Plus I was wondering something as well as you mentioned water retention. Did you say that sore legs cause that? Never heard that mentioned before or did I misread into something?

    Again thanks for everything, man! I know i have said this numerous times, but you are quite an inspiration to me.

    • 4 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 9:49 am

      Rob- It is called exercise induce edema i think. What happens is that your muscles get micro-tears in them from a workout and they eat up all of the glycogen also. In order for them to rebuild and recover properly, they suck in all the glycogen that you eat and fluids also as part of the recovery process. This is sometimes what is happening when people say, “Man.!!! I did not lose/gained at my weigh in. I don’t get it. I worked out harder this week than I ever have before.” This is how it has worked for me much of the time. The WI after a marathon is never a week where I lose weight. Except once. So out of 12 post marathon WI’s I have lost one pound one time. All the others I stayed the same or gained.

  3. March 9, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Being alone is tough! This weekend I was the one who left home to run the Disney Princess 1/2 marathon. For the most part, it was a blast! Meeting other women runners and sharing stories was nice. But, there were times I missed my family. A lot.

    I was able to keep busy, and was not thinking of food too much. That helped. Oh, and the run went well, too.

    Those back-to-back long runs do not sound like fun. I don’t know how you do it!

    • 6 run4change
      March 9, 2009 at 6:02 pm

      Congrats Linda on the half. Great job. I want to run the Disney marathon really bad. that is one marathon that I am 100% for sure going to do someday.

  4. March 10, 2009 at 5:27 am

    Good luck with the marathon! That’s neat about the back-to-back, I had never heard of that before.

    • 8 run4change
      March 10, 2009 at 5:50 am

      HAHA. Those back to backs can be tough. When I was training for the 100 miler I would run 20 Saturday and 30 Sunday. Wow! That was a lot of running.

  5. March 11, 2009 at 4:49 am

    You should run Disney sometime. They know how to put on a run!

    I will definitely run it again next year.


Leave a Reply

