11
Mar
09

Went to the doctor today.

I just got back from a visit with the doctor.  He has finally admitted that I most certainly do not need to lose anymore weight and that what he said about me weighing 155 was not correct.  I think it was probably just hard for him to know seeing me at 300 lbs how fit I would be at 185.  So he was very happy with my weight loss and weight maintenance.  I am going to get labs done on my blood to see what progress has been made in this area.  He always wants to check out liver function because he says that people who lose a lot of weight sometimes have issues with live and gall bladder and fat intake.  I have had not issues when I eat high fat.  Except the normal issue of thinking it is absolutely yummy for my tummy.

Blood pressure: 110 over 64

BMI: proper range

I also talked to him about getting my stomach removed.  It was a nice conversation and he referred me to the proper people to take care of this.  I will make an appointment with them to see what they have to say about it.  He did not give to much info. on this subject because it is not his specialty.  Which was nice.  It is good to know that he does not advise on issues that he is not extreme keen on.  I will keep you updated on the blood tests and cosmetic surgery.

Keep tabs on my medical issues progress by subscribing to my blog.

12 Responses to “Went to the doctor today.”


  1. 1 RobFitness
    March 11, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Glad to hear that all went well at the doctors and that he realize what your weight really should be. At 155 I think you would look a bit sick. You’re at a good weight now and maintaining from what I hear is a lot harder than actually losing it. So keep up the great work.
    BP is excellent. It’s about what mine is and that always surprises the doctors. I am sure all will be Ok with your liver and gall bladder. I was told the same thing and I do havbe those checked once a year as well.

  2. March 11, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    SOunds like a really good visit. How wonderful that everything appears normal!

    I have to ask…since your dr is content with your current weight, are you still going to try to lose more for the marathon or will you maintain and work with your current weight?

    • 4 run4change
      March 11, 2009 at 3:04 pm

      I will try and lose more. I want 180 to be my upper limit. If it takes me months to get there though, I will take that as a hint that it is not my body’s preferred weight. If it takes drastic measures to maintain 180 or less, it is not worth it to me. If I can live a normal life and enjoy my journey and keep at 185 I will change my mental/personal weight goal to that. Does that make sense Amy? It is just that I was 175 for a long time until I started training for the 100 miler and lied to myself that I could eat whatever I wanted to and then I gained weight until I hit 187-88. Just goes to show you that no matter how much you exercise you still can’t eat more than you burn. I was eating to much even though I was running for 14+ hours a week. 20 miles during the week and 30 miles on the weekend.

  3. March 11, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Great results. You must be rather pleased. 🙂

  4. March 11, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Great to have found your website.
    I row pretty much every day. I run an indoor rowing studio here in Costa Mesa, California.
    My website is: http://www.ironoarsman.com and on youtube you can find me as ironoarsman.
    All the best,
    Xeno

    • 8 run4change
      March 11, 2009 at 6:38 pm

      Thanks for stopping by xeno. I checked out your site and felt is was a good contribution to this post. Thank you. Have a good night.

  5. March 11, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    That makes total sense!

    And I do have to commend you for getting back on track when you started to see that you were gaining more than was comfortable for you. It’s been a stinker of a week, but you’ve once again helped to inspire me to keep going. Truly…thanks for that. If there’s one thing I wish for this upcoming week, it’s consistancy for myself regardless of stress levels, emotions or circumstances. I don’t want to be flip flopping all over the scale.

    • 10 run4change
      March 11, 2009 at 5:43 pm

      Thank you Amy. Your goal for next/this week, is pretty much my full time goal too. Just trying not to give in to my emotional eating tendency’s

  6. 11 donna
    March 11, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Hi Jason,I lost 50 lbs in about 3 mos about a year or so ago and I had never had gall bladder trouble even though I ate badly all the time,anyway when I lost this weight I ended up in the ER one night with severe pain and the doc said it was my gall bladder from losing weight quickly.I lived with it and learned to take the pain cause I didnt want to go thru surgery and then surely you know I gained the weight back and didnt have to worry about the gb.So that is probably the concern of your doc that your gb will act up,you get more stones when you lose weight for some reason.Bizarre isnt it,you think when youre fat you would have trouble with it but no it has to get you when you try hard and lose weight.That is miserable pain too.


Leave a Reply

