14
Mar
09

You CAN run an ultra-marathon!

ultramarathon

image credit: news.bbc.co.uk

GOING BEYOND 26.2 MILES IS TOTALLY INSANE!!!!!!!!!!  The image above is a guy working on finishing the Badwater Ultramarathon.  It’s a 134 mile race from the lowest part in the United States to the Highest.  That’s hardcore, not to mention that the race goes through Death Valley in the summer when the average temperature is 120. An ultramarathon is any race longer than 26.2 miles. It can be done, but ultramarathons are not something you do to get or stay healthy.  They can really beat your body up.  I am not saying never try it, I did it, but it’s not for everyone.  Even before I wanted to do a marathon I desired the ultra.  I read about a guy who ran 50 miles and I just could not believe it.  That made me want to do what I couldn’t believe was possible.  It took me a long time to do it.  I did several marathons first and then I slowly worked my way up the ultra ladder by doing the shortest races first until I reached 50 miles.  I just don’t have the time to train for anything longer than that.  If you have running experience you can give it a shot.  I also talked to my doctor before I did an ultra.  He was not real excited about it, but he told me I was healthy.  You should do the same.  If you don’t have experience and want to do an ultra, keep it on the back burner until you have some, but don’t forget about your dreams.  Here are some resources to help you get started.

6 Responses to “You CAN run an ultra-marathon!”


  1. March 14, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    um, no thank you. I’ll just be concentrating on my little 5k’s for now.

    • 2 run4change
      March 14, 2009 at 8:23 pm

      Oh meepa, you will be basically doing an ultra when you do the Ironman. Anything lasting up to 17 hours is “ultra” to anyone.

  2. March 14, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    I have trouble envisioning even running a half marathon, much less an ultra marathon. I admire you for what you have done with this.

    • 4 run4change
      March 14, 2009 at 8:23 pm

      You could do it Steve. But I sure understand if you wouldn’t want to do it. It is crrrrrazay!

  3. March 15, 2009 at 1:09 am

    ok, but with an ironman it gets broken up and I’m talking about right now. Even trying to imagine anything over a 5k it too mush. Do you get blisters?

    • 6 run4change
      March 15, 2009 at 6:06 am

      Hi Meepa. Going to leave for my marathon pretty soon but thought I would check the comments. I sometimes will get maybe a tiny blister on my toe during a marathon but that is it. During the 40 miler and 50 miler I could feel that a blister was starting under my skin on the ball of one of my feet. I hurt a lot but I never could see it. Changing shoes at mile 25 of the 50 helped this. And you are right, about breaking it up. It is said that a 100 mile ultra-marathon is supposed to be three times harder than an Ironman for that simple fact. Repetitive exercise with the same motions for 30 hours is a whole lot on the body where as you running muscles are not getting thrashed when you swim and bike and you bike muscles are not getting thrashed when you run and swim, etc.


Leave a Reply

