17
Mar
09

No weight watchers weigh in for me!

Caped MaxI am not going to go to my WW meeting today.  My main reason is that I have many trees that I purchased for my landscape plan and I really need to get them into the ground asap.  Today is my only day that I will be able to do this. 

I also usually stay the same or gain a little right after a marathon only to lose it all again the next week.  So this time I am going to see how it works to just weigh-in at the week after a marathon.  This way I won’t discouraged by the number on the scale that is actually not that important right after a marathon.  My goal for next week is to show a little loss or stay the same.  We will see I guess.

Thank you all for reading the blog and for all of your support.  I have been doing lots of research today on abdominoplasty again.  That’s all folks.

19 Responses to “No weight watchers weigh in for me!”


  1. March 17, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Thought of you when I read this article today. It’s about those midnight munchies you were having a week or so ago. Maybe it will help? Hope so.

    Take care,
    ~Amy

    http://www.weightwatchers.com/util/art/index_art.aspx?art_id=60451&tabnum=1&sc=3010&subnav=Everyday%20Strategies

  2. 3 Leah
    March 17, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    I think that it is healthy for you to take a week off from weighing in. Since you don’t have a whole lot more to lose and are very active, I wouldn’t focus on the numbers on the scale as much and focus more on strength training and how you feel (your energy levels, etc).

  3. March 17, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    When you’re done with your landscaping, I’ve got some here for you :). Josh was supposed to help me with it last year, but alas, he didn’t.

    Don’t worry too much about those weigh in’s. You’re doing awesome! I hate that scale- yet for some reason seem drawn to it as well. It’s hard to say it doesn’t matter (because it does in a way) even if it’s not the most important indicator of health.

    Do you gain from increased carb intake because of the marathons or are you not sure? Just thinking about carbs and weight gain from reading over at Rob’s blog.

    • 6 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 4:39 am

      forthelife- No, I do not gain from carbs alone. I am pretty sure I could eat only carbs and lose weight as long as I ate the proper calories. However, on Atkins I lost weight very well too. But I gained it back. Carbs are essential for endurance training. Some have gone the route of low carb but the energy level falls short as the distance increases

  4. 9 Leah
    March 18, 2009 at 6:58 am

    forthelifeofme, weight gain after strenuous exercise is caused by water retention in your muscles to help repair them. Just fyi.

  5. 11 RobFitness
    March 18, 2009 at 7:43 am

    So did you get all your trees planted as planned? I remember on year helping my dad to that and it can be a lot of work and especially does take a lot of time. I bet the ultimate results looks pretty nice.
    I do have one thing I was wondering about when you mentioned carbs and endurance. As you know and you might even disagree with me (that’s OK too) But I do feel that I am carb sensitive and that I do gain much more weight as my carbs increase. For me it doesn’t take a lot. Therefore I am kind of restricting my diet a bit when it comes to carbs. For now I am only allowing 2-3 servings per day just to see how it goes. Do you think that is enough carbs to still have endurance for training and workouts. I know it probably is not enough for running marathons, but hopefully it is enough just for average workouts. I was just wondering what your take on this is.
    Thanks for any suggestions you might have 🙂

    • 12 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 7:51 am

      You know Rob, I think you have to go by how you feel. If you have enough energy for working out than you don’t need to eat more carbs than that you know what I mean. I feel like I used to be carb sensitive. I don’t necessarily gain when I eat carbs but I lose very very well when I restrict them. I don’t have to Atkins style restrict but if I kick up the protein and lower the carbs I always pretty much get a loss. If you have always been eating less carbs it must work because you workout really hard and it has been enough right?

  6. March 18, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Rob, I was reading somewhere last night…wish I could find it now…that sometimes the timing of your carbs can have an effect if youa re carb sensitive. Try googling that and see what you come up with. I think that is what I did when I read your post last night!

    • 14 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 8:29 am

      Yes Kim. I have read something similar. The point was that eating higher carbs in the morning and then lessening the amount as the day goes on so that at night you are eating like protien and veggies. This was a bodybuiler tactic that I read about for when they are “cutting up” prior to a contest.

  7. 15 RobFitness
    March 18, 2009 at 8:19 am

    So far it’s been enough and lately the caffeine from the coffee helps as well 🙂 I am sure though that as I start training for my triathlon I am going to need to up the carbs for the energy. That scares me though. I say that because even my previous trainer said that I will probably have to up the carbs for that type of training. He said it’s something that my body will need in order to train properly. I just wish I didn’t have to deal with this but it is part of the journey and I am sure that it will be Ok. I just wish that I could eat and metabolize like a normal person.

    • 16 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 8:33 am

      You are a normal perosn Rob. That is why you are soooo cool. I think more than being “able” to train and do endurance events, the carbs just will improve endurance in general. You would be able to finish though. like for example, most people don’t eat much during a marathon. I consume calories all the way through. It makes it easier for me to endure because I gives me a mental boost in my brain I think. Not sure what it does for my muscles but when I am running low on sugar it is very difficult to push on. I have done it but it makes it so much harder mentally

  8. 17 RobFitness
    March 18, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Thanks Kim and Jason for those comments. I too heard the same thing about the body builders tactic. Now if only I was a bodybuilder 🙂 I guess this is something that I will really have to work hard on and figure out what does work for my body. You have a point too. I think when I have eaten a lot of carbs it was later in the day, not in the AM. So thanks so much for that bit of information. I can use all the input I can. You both have been so helpful. 🙂


Leave a Reply

