17
Mar
09

Run4change review of V-moda headphones

V-moda headphones

From the time I can remember, I have always been a lover of music.  My first CD was Europe “The Final Countdown”.  I listened to that song over and over.  Then one day I got a portable CD player.  The only problem was that if you used it during any type of exercise it would skip like crazy.  Then on another day the Ipod came out.  Wow, what a revolutionary idea that was.  Now people could run and exercise while listening to music without this big heavy thing that skips.  The only problem is that the Ipod comes with these white yucky ear buds that just hurt the heck out of my ears and they don’t stay in very good while running.  Finally, one of my ear buds went bad so it was time to do some replacement shopping.  So off I went to find me some new headphones.

I ended up getting some pretty good “in the ear” headphones by V-Moda.  I got red “bass freq” ones.  These headphones are small just like the normal ear buds but they are far superior.  They have nice silicone covers in three different sizes to fit into your ear comfortably.  No pain, not much outside noise coming in, and the sound quality is great.  These tiny little things really do put out some bass along with some cleanly smooth mid’s and high’s.  I love them.  They were developed as an active lifestyle headphone so they made them specifically for those of use who listen to music on the run or bike or hike or weight lifting or even the evil stairmaster.  They are mid-level on the pricing.  Lots of others out there are cheaper and lots of them are more expensive.

V-moda headphones 2

I highly recommend these headphones.  Here is a short break down of the good things I have noticed while using them with some links to the competition so you can make your own choice.

  • Comfortable- No more ear rubbing when you take them out
  • Noise isolating technology
  • Good bass for a small phone
  • Secure in the ear
  • Attractive color choices so you don’t have to be like everyone else
  • Modawrap cable manager lets you keep the cables nice and tighty without the hassle of tangles.

Competition

JVC air cushion ear buds

Danon AH-c35

JVC HANCX77 In-ear canal buds (more expensive)

Future Sonics Atrio Series (VERY EXPENSIVE)

Otto V35

6 Responses to “Run4change review of V-moda headphones”


  1. March 17, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Heya Jason,

    I stumbled onto your blog via some other weight loss / health blog, but I can’t rightly remember where. I’m in the process of major life change and weight loss myself (working my way down from a ridiculously high 440), so it’s inspiring to see someone who’s already made it and continuing to make it. So feel free to drop by my weight loss blog 4xlt!

    But yeah, headphones right? I like to get in a complete zone when I’m at the gym, so if I had the moxy, I’d take my giant pair of headphones there. I haven’t worked the nerve up for that yet! But I hated the iPod buds, too. I’ve got a pair of earphones that are like buds with a piece that slides over the back of the ear. That way I can get pretty mobile, and my earphones stay put.

    • 2 run4change
      March 17, 2009 at 6:23 am

      Thanks a lot for stopping by Will. I really like the type of headphones you are talking about too. I used to have those ones right when I got my ipod but my wife hi-jacked ’em. HAHAHA Now they have gotten lost. I looked into getting more like that but I figured why not try something new. These headphones are great but since I wrote the post I have found one bad thing about them. If you don’t secure the cord, when the cord bounces around while running, it makes a funny sound in your ear. I have since learned to secure the cord to my colar while running via a paper clip. Works like a charm.

  2. 3 toofew
    March 17, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Do you wear headphones when you run outside? What with dogs, and cars, and possibly bad people do you consider it a safe practice? I am looking to get into running. Right now my knees are only handling walking though. lol, well they are only handling the weight they have on them. But for future reference, do you consider it a safe idea to run outside while listening to music?

    • 4 run4change
      March 17, 2009 at 8:34 am

      toofew- All of my running is done outside and it IS considered dangerous to wear headphones outside while running. It is recommended that people do not use them while outdoors for their own protection. As you say, crazy murderers, cars, etc. cannot be heard and hearing is an essential part of knowing what is happening in your surroundings.

      You can minimize the car thing by always running against traffic and looking carefully when crossing any road or intersection.

  3. 5 Leah
    March 17, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I am guilty of running outside w/ headphones on BUT I don’t use my noise-cancelling headphones when outside and I don’t listen to the music nearly as loud as I do when I’m in the gym (which is where the noise cancelling feature makes a huge difference). The J-buds that I own are similar in that they have 3/4 different sizes of silicone ear pieces for the bud which I love. I have ridiculously tiny ears which makes the traditional ear buds very uncomfortable.

    PS – cassette tapes & walkmans didn’t skip. 😉

    • 6 run4change
      March 17, 2009 at 11:57 am

      THanks for this input Leah. Great contribution. And yes, those tapes worked like a charm back in the day. HAHAHA 🙂


Leave a Reply

