18
Mar
09

I did not do good last night

I have written a post about what I ate yesterday after work.  I did not do good at all.  The guilt did not hit me until I was driving to work this morning with a food hangover.  Everything will be ok but I need to regroup today for sure.  You will see what I ate in my next post today.  I am feeling bad about what I did.  I just went off without any self-control or care.

Anybody else have a “not so good” day or evening of healthy eating?

32 Responses to “I did not do good last night”


  1. 1 p4p
    March 18, 2009 at 5:22 am

    I started Sunday off with a giant piece of apple pie, then skipped my long run to go for dim sum for lunch.

    • 2 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 5:26 am

      dim sum huh? I am glad I don’t really know where to go for that where I live. I love the stuff. I go eat it when I go to california to see my wife’s parents. It is an all out free for all pretty much.

  2. March 18, 2009 at 5:38 am

    I went out of town this weekend. While gone, we went to an incredible steakhouse with the best salad bar in the world. Unfortunately, they have lots of mayo based ‘salads’ that I sampled. Twice. Along with bricks of cheese that you can chunk off. Did that too. Twice. Then I ate half of my steak and 1 potatoe wedge. Half a Midori Margarita.

    It was downhill from there for the rest of the weekend as I visited old friends and indulged in birthday cake, butterfinger ice cream, and all my old favorite eateries from my college days. Which means it was quite a bit of fried food and sugary treats.

    Since I got home, I’ve had a better week but I am still struggling with feeling like I’ve overdone it in the evening. So yeah, I’ve had some bad days. The thing that has kept me on an even keel is knowing that I figured this might happen so I’m not stressing out over it because: “Every day, in every way, I’m getting better and better.”

    So are you.

    ~amy

    • 4 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 5:41 am

      Thank you Amy. We are getting better everyday. I know these things WILL happen so I am never tooooooo surprised and try to move on but I still don’t like the fact that I did it.

  3. March 18, 2009 at 5:55 am

    it happened, it’s over, and it’s a new day. Don’t hold on to the guilt – it’s not worth it!

    • 6 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 5:56 am

      Nope, not gonna hold on to the guilt. It is odd, I have no desire to keep on eating bad. None whatsoever. It is like I just took a short breather or something and now I am going again

  4. March 18, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Over the past 5 years I have learned that I have to face the fact that whatever I eat is my choice, I no longer feel guilty. The fact that my body feels bad physically is my focus. I try to remember that when I am faced with foods that are poor choices for me or when I eat to much. I do this less frequently because I can’t stand when I feel physically weak and I don’t have a good workout!

    Hang in there, you are human and none of us are perfect.

  5. 9 maggieapril
    March 18, 2009 at 6:47 am

    You can’t have eaten any worse than I did yesterday, that’s for sure!! I don’t usually celebrate St. Patty’s, but accepted an invitation and spent way too much time eating and drinking yesterday. (I won’t go into any further details lest you think me a slacker and an alcoholic!) I know I will regret it at Thursday morning’s weigh-in!!

    • 10 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 6:49 am

      Well, I guess we all go hog wild every so often.. Thanks for making me feel better maggieapril

  6. March 18, 2009 at 6:51 am

    Now there’s a Texas statement “Hog Wild”!!

  7. 13 darrellnurse
    March 18, 2009 at 6:52 am

    HI Jason… you’re not alone. I’m having a very bad week as well. I am eating everything in sight and my running is suffering. I am in some sort of funk and I can’t get out of it.
    Take comfort in knowing none of us are perfect and we will stumble and we will fall.

    • 14 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 7:14 am

      Thanks Darrel for your encouragement. i am hoping that regardless of the crazy nosh I had that my running today will go well

  8. 15 Leah
    March 18, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Everyone has bad days. I am an avid calorie counter for the last couple years and I have found that if I schedule regular “cheat” or “no-counting” days, my bad days are much less and not nearly as bad as they are when I don’t allow myself a cheat day. It’s also good for your metabolism to splurge on occasion just to shake things up. Your metabolism learns and becomes more efficient so if you are giving it the same number of calories and doing approximately the same level of exercise for too long, it will be more effective at conserving calories which is not ideal for weight loss. Having a food hangover is also a really good way to realize that overindulging is not healthy and not that satisfying!

    • 16 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 7:13 am

      Leah, the fact that eating like that does help trick the metabolism into thinking you are nowhere near starving is true and I often think of this when the guilt hits. That I am doing my metabolism a favor. 🙂

  9. March 18, 2009 at 7:21 am

    don’t worry about it, it’s one day. You have to enjoy life sometimes :).

  10. 19 p4p
    March 18, 2009 at 7:33 am

    You also ran a marathon this week. It’s possible you forget how amazing that is because you do it so often. Maybe focus on the good ; )

    • 20 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 7:55 am

      p4. You have this amazing ability to swoop in with the perfect comment to make me laugh and feel great. You are right, I guess I need to remember the magic rather than the tragic. 😉

  11. 21 RobFitness
    March 18, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Thanks for sharing that man. As I have said before it’s nice knowing that when I eat as badly as I do sometimes, that I am not alone. One thing i have to say is the I commend you for you honesty and for the ability to not hold on to any guilt that you might have felt. You don’t let what occasionally happens eat away at you like I have done. I hope that in time I can act like the way you do when “shit” happens like that. You handle situations so well and you truly continue to be an inspiration on how to really live and deal with the things that happen on this journey to better health.

    • 22 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 7:53 am

      ROb, it is a constant improvement process for me. I did not always do good at getting back on track right away but over time I have done it faster and faster.

  12. 23 teresa
    March 18, 2009 at 7:41 am

    I’m eating a pop tart this very minute. 🙂 Food hangover, eh? never thought of it quite like that, but that is so true.

  13. March 18, 2009 at 8:05 am

    aahhhh food hangover…that is exactly what I experienced on Sunday!

    On Saturday I went to a baby shower…had a little salad, corn soaked in butter, a roll, mashed potatos and gravy, chicken with a white sauce on it, beef stuffed with something and smothered in gravy, some pasta, then added half a piece of cake and some ice cream to it. ..that was lunch

    Then moved on to a party where i had keilbasa and sourkraut, chips, this amazing cream cheese and cheddar cheese dip with more chips, olives, cheese, shrimp, oh and far to many pinapple juice mixed drinks (if I only had 1 it would have been too many, but I had at least 4) Oh and I ate all night long! It wasn’t like I had one serving of these things, it was munching all night!

    I woke up feeling like…what did I do? I feel so sick and tired and I hate that food now! It wasn’t even like I really enjoyed it, it was just there and it makes me feel horrible!

    All in all, I gained this week…first time in 09. I am certain this had something to do with it! So yeah..food hangovers, crazy binges..you are not alone!

    • 26 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 8:27 am

      Thanks a lot for your kind support Kim. That food sounds good to me. Thank you for sharing your stuggles with me/us.

  14. March 18, 2009 at 9:12 am

    I’ve had a not so good March so far!

    • 28 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 9:15 am

      I don’t like the rain that we always get here this time of year Andrew. I can’t wait to get to the good weather again

  15. 29 Jen Hardwick
    March 18, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Two words: Cadbury Eggs…
    jen

    • 30 run4change
      March 18, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      HAHAHA. Jen. I read your post earlier today. I liked it and it made me feel better. I totally understand and I love those eggies too

  16. 31 donna
    March 18, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Hey they had those cadbury eggs at the $1 store for 2 for 99cents!!!Want me to send ya some?Just kidding or not,ha,ha.


Leave a Reply

