22
Mar
09

The Ironman Athlete Day: Motivational Post

Ok, I have to admit. I cried my eyes out at working watching this first video. It is a motivating film to inspire prospective Ironman athletes and their families of the joy and inspiration felt in training for and competing in the world’s toughest endurance race, the Ironman Triathlon. Swim 2.4 miles, Bike 112 miles, Run 26.2 miles, Brag the rest of your life!

This next video shows the 2006 Ironman Hawaii. It has real people doing the real thing. I have watched this video many times in the last year. Check it out. YOU CAN!!!

9 Responses to “The Ironman Athlete Day: Motivational Post”


  1. March 22, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I watched the 2nd video first and thought.. . .”Gee thanks Jason, sure show me a video where a guy is on the ground and they can’t wake him up. That’s really encouraging since I want to do an Ironman in 2013. Thanks a lot real encouraging.” Then I kept watching and was so inspired when he got up to finish and then watched the first one and was inspired more then I thought was possible. Thanks a lot. These two videos have encouraged me to follow my IRONMAN dream. Hopefully you’ll be able to come and cheer me on in Wisconsin and maybe even volunteer at the finish line when I cross it. Thanks for always believing in me even when I don’t believe in myself. If you ever get a chance to volunteer at an Ironman do it. It is an experience you will never regret. Thanks for these videos. I cannot wait to cross that finish line and hear them say, “MELISSA YOU ARE AN IRONMAN.” Then I’m going to the tattoo parlor to get my IRONMAN tattoo on my calf. Wahoooo!!

    • 2 run4change
      March 22, 2009 at 6:41 pm

      I have always loved the second video, but that first one totally touched me. It just hit a nerve of real truth in my heart. Thanks for watching

  2. 3 RobFitness
    March 22, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Man, what great videos! Especially the first one. I found it one of the most motivational, inspiring, tear crying video I have seen since you posted the one with the youth group at church. 🙂 It really opened my eyes so much and help me realize what I need to find in my inner self to really accomplish not just my first triathlon, but all my goals in life. It is a video, that whenever I am done and feeling sorry for myself, I am sure will always open my eyes back up that when you desire and dream for something you you not only Faith in yourself but faith in God himself. I could go on and on with what this video did for me, but I think you get the point as well. Thanks so much for sharing these awesome videos. 🙂

  3. 4 RobFitness
    March 22, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Now onto this second video. After watching this one Which I have to say I watched before the first one. I said to myself. Hell No why would I ever what to do a Ironman and subject myself to so my pain. I said that after I saw that one guy on the ground and near death. That was so scary for me. Then when I saw this one guy helping him out I was so touched. Fast forward now… What I found extra motivation and again inspiring is that when he got back up, he just continued on and never gave it a second thought of quitting. Now that brought and still does give me chills. Plus even the medical staff continued to cheer him on and were just as supportive towards him and that was moving as well. It seemed that no one said OK give it up! That wasn’t an option and that is what has inspired me. That no mater how bad, how hard, or how sore it might be, giving up on yourself is not an option. You have to find what’s in your inner self to continue to push forward and conquer all that you have set to achieve in life. No matter how small or big it is!

  4. 6 Michelle
    March 23, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Whoa. Serious nose tingles after watching those videos!

    The first one was great, but I have to admit the second one really stirred the emotions in me. It was hauntingly motivational. And what a great message: I can!

    Thanks for sharing those, Jason! New videos to bookmark for sure.

    • 7 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 7:11 am

      Thanks Michelle. I have now watched the videos many times since posting them. HAHAHAHA They inspire me for life in general as well as my running. Who knows, maybe I will try the triatholon thing someday. 🙂

  5. March 23, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Hi Jason I cant watch the videos yet because Im at work but I have some very close friends who have finished the Ironman races. My wife will be competing in the New Orleans half Iron Man in 2 weeks. We have a good friend that will be doing the Florida Iron Man this year, this friend has loss over 200 pounds in the last 2 years competing in triathlons & is the person who inspired my wife to start doing tri’s infact I just yesterday finish my first duathlon yesterday with my wife. To see these people train for these races is unreal. I will be volunteering to work in the Florida Iron Man race this November.

    • 9 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 7:46 am

      Thanks 330. I love to see the finish line at endurance events. The straight fatigue combined with elated joy is just awesome to see on peoples face. Keep up your good work.


Leave a Reply

