23
Mar
09

Can I climb out of the pit of bad feelings and food?

So I am feeling like poooo today.  I was thinking that I usually don’t post about feeling like this but maybe I am always doing it but don’t realize it.  I did not really even do WW over the weekend.  I made the excuse that since my WW calculator broke and is not repairable that I just didn’t have to count.  Well, I could have done great without counting anyway but I chose to eat junk food quite a bit.  That had nothing to do with counting.  I did get my two longer runs in this weekend and feel that my marathon recovery is now over.  I am ready for a new week in training.  I am also ready for a new week in eating too.  I will buy a new calculator at my Tuesday WW meeting.

I am just feeling depressed.  Although my weekend was supposed to be fun and relaxing, it stressed me out a lot.  I do not do well at all when I am feeling torn in many directions while at the present I am limited on time to get it all done.  I tend to just give up.  There are several things I WON’T GIVE UP THOUGH!!  That is time with my wife, eating right, exercising, and keeping my house nice.  All other things must be side issues except this weekend those things were creeping into the forefront of my mind, time, life…..  I wonder if I will be able to crawl back out of the big sink hole of being torn.  This same thing happened when I was training for the 100 miler.  The great thing is that my wife backs me up all the way this time since our goals are much more aligned with each other.

Do you every feel torn between things that are not really that important and the things that you feel are most important?  Maybe the non-important things are being pressured on you by others, do you ever feel this way?

17 Responses to “Can I climb out of the pit of bad feelings and food?”


  1. March 23, 2009 at 9:19 am

    You are so not alone… I feel torn alot, between, exercise, cooking good food, my studies, my kids, my husband, and crafts and writing on my blog for relaxation.

    Last week, I was just darn tired of being someone so focused on losing and keeping off weight, I just want to be ‘normal’! Well really what the heck is that anyway?? Since moving to NY I just don’t have the support system locally like I once had, which makes it more challenging. I had friends that watched me transform so when I say, I really dont want to eat that, or eat there, they got it, because they SAW exactly how I was and what I would do, also where I came from. Don’t get me wrong sometimes it nice to not be that person that ‘lost all that weight’ however it usually inevitably gets me into trouble… thus I must tell the people in my life where I am at, and why I am here. This too shall pass.

    • 2 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 9:24 am

      “This too shall pass..” What a great line. I love it Carrie. Thanks for your comment and support.

  2. 3 the Ringmaster
    March 23, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Yes, I do! You know the analogy of the rubber balls and the glass balls? It says we’re all given a certain number of things to juggle–the key is to know which things, if we drop them, will bounce back and be okay, and which things, if we drop them, will break. This thinking was so helpful to me because in the end, if the laundry doesn’t all get folded but I read another book with my son, I’m okay with that–my relationship with him is a glass ball, and the laundry is entirely rubber.

    • 4 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 10:14 am

      I like it ringmaster. Thank you for sharing that with me. It makes very good sense and it is easy to put into visual for me.

  3. March 23, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I understand the depression you feel when everything and everyone is pulling you in so many different directions that you’re left feeling overwhelmed and confused about what you need to do.

    My advise is first of all to give yourself some grace and mercy knowing that you simply cannot do it all. Don’t feel bad about it, friend. We love you no matter what you do just because you are you. Second, that confusion that you’re probably feeling…that back and forth in your head stuff(should i do this, this or that) is for the birds.

    1 Corinthians 14:33 “For God is not a God of disorder, but of peace.”

    I know this scripture is talking about prophecy and speaking in tongues, however the principle is one that is constant throughout scripture – God is orderly and chaos is not of God. Therefore, if you’re feeling anxious and or your thoughts are chaos…it really does help when you stop and remember that the chaos isn’t from God and then backtrack to the pinpoint when you first started feeling so overwhelmed. Then ask yourself if it needs to be a priority, can it be delegated to someone else or does it need to be done at all? You’ve already stated your priorities are time with your wife, healthy eating, fitness and homeowner duties. Everything else is fluff, so say ‘no’ with a smile.

    I’m praying that you’ll have clarity of mind to be able to tackle and complete everything and that you’re spirit will be lifted up out of the fog of defeat and discouragement.

    ~amy

    • 6 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 10:18 am

      THank you very much Amy. That is very encouraging of you to make a comment like that. In the end, I need simplicity. A spree where I have God, wife, and me. Not always trying to get get get. He is a God of order and most certainly of peace. Thanks

  4. March 23, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Only every day of my life! Actually, I think my biggest problem is that I want to do everything, and be everything and I have a hard time setting the priority and sticking to it. This leaves me run ragged and with very little feeling of accomplishment and a lot of frustration.

    I was rereading a talk by one of the leaders of my church recently that addressed setting priorities when there are so many good things to choose from (distinguishing the “best” from the “good”) and this topic has been on my mind a lot lately. He basically stated that we need to recognize that just because something is good is not a sufficient reason for doing it. There are numberless choices of good things we can do and they far exceeds the time time we have available to accomplish them. Anyway, the gist I took away is that it is up to me to decide among all of these good thing those that are best and to focus on them, realizing that I just can do or be everything–and that I am the one responsible for deciding what is best and sticking to it.

    So hard to keep focus on the things that are best when there are so many good things clammoring for our attention.

  5. 9 athleticme
    March 23, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I really love these comments. I’m going to start thinking of my priorities in terms of glass balls and rubber balls. Thanks you guys!

  6. March 23, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I so understand this. I have nothing more to say, except I understand. No wisdom on how to pull through, no thought provoking comment, nothing. Simply I understand!

    • 11 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 1:37 pm

      Kim, that is all I needed to hear. Thank you so much just for understanding. It means a whole freakin lot. 🙂

  7. March 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    This past week or two has been just plain hell here as well. I hope you’re back on track :). I’m kicking myself in the ass to get myself back in line. I wish at home I had someone to just push me down my basement stairs to get me to go do my workout sometimes when I feel like I did last week. I’m certain I’d have felt better afterward but I just couldn’t get myself down there.

    Good luck at the meeting tomorrow :).

  8. 14 donna
    March 23, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Jason I think that you are probably very tired after working all weekend planting your beautiful trees.So when we are tired we seem to view things in a bad way so to speak,things that normally work for us dont seem to anymore,because we are tired and weary and we just want to get on with it and dont want to face counting points and hey we think to ourselves “we deserve to eat what we want because we are suffering and working”the mind is a dangerous place to be isnt it.But I know exactly where youre coming from,been there plenty and know I will return in the near future too.We’re only human right?!!

    • 15 run4change
      March 24, 2009 at 5:15 am

      Actually this weekend was not with the landscaping. It was a relaxation time in another town. Still very stressful to me.

  9. March 24, 2009 at 7:23 am

    i totally get this feeling. sick and tired. hang in there. the ww mobile site works good for points calculating. just saying

    • 17 run4change
      March 24, 2009 at 7:29 am

      Thanks dude. I will have to look into that mobile site thing. I got a black berry so it should work.


Leave a Reply

