23
Mar
09

Why not go it alone……

I got a comment the other day that had a very cool quote in it.  I don’t think it is a famous quote, I think it actually just came from the persons heart.  It was impactful to me.  Why don’t we just go it alone on our weight loss journey?  I don’t think that it’s a good idea to try to do it all by ourselves.  Here is the quote:

“This journey is forever, better to all walk together!”

To go it alone for the rest of your life can get really lonely.  To go it alone forever keeps people out of your life who would have been able to help you and enrich your days.  To go it alone means that you don’t get a chance to impact others for good.  This healthy journey is forever.  I am very sorry if you don’t like this aspect of it, but if you think that reaching goal means that you don’t have to care anymore, you are wrong.   It is so much easier to care when we have others to care about and who will care for us too.

20 Responses to “Why not go it alone……”


  1. March 23, 2009 at 2:59 am

    I am seeing more and more how important and powerful support can be. I have been helped so much already by members of the blogging community. Thanks for the quote!

    • 2 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 4:09 am

      Going it alone is just not as good for us. It is so much harder to make it to the finish line alone.

  2. March 23, 2009 at 5:27 am

    Wow Jason. I am honored to be quoted like this!! Thank you for inspiring so many to not only to lose weight but to reach out and far to achieve goals. The only reason that I can stay focused (most days) is the support I feel and the fact that I am not afraid anymore, or should I say I don’t keep it inside, I find a way to push through and try things I didn’t know I could do.
    Keep on inspiring us. Life is so much more than our size, and the food we eat (or don’t eat)

    • 4 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 6:05 am

      Thank you Carrie. It was a fantastic quote. very perfect for our journey. Thanks for your comment.

  3. March 23, 2009 at 5:38 am

    I have tried for years to do it on my own because of embarrassment, but now that I am reaching out for help and have a support team in place I am having the most success I have ever had. You can not do it alone and if you are lurking around this blog and are trying to do it on your own it’s hard. we are hear for you. It’s ok to ask for help. Just ask Jason how many times I email him. 🙂 Thanks for reminding us we are not alone and shouldn’t have to go it alone. I appreciate you Jason. You are my hero!!

    • 6 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 6:06 am

      Thanks Melissa. Yes, to all lurkers, join in on the journey with us. We don’t bite and we all have wonderful experiences to share and encourage.

  4. 7 Kim
    March 23, 2009 at 6:13 am

    hmmmm…a man with many friends is rich indeed, if one falls down teh other can lift him up!
    My journey is becoming far more public (within my “real life” community) and in some ways that is harder, as I feel pressure to perform build up within me. I need to take the pressure off and look at my community for what it is and can be…support, not pressure.

  5. March 23, 2009 at 6:30 am

    That comment is right on. And, in the spirit of needing support and having regretted deleting my blog, I’ve started a new one. I hope you’ll visit. There’s not much to it yet, (stupid impetuous me and the delete key), but I’m back!

    Loved the ironman vidoes too.

    • 10 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 6:51 am

      Good to have you back with a blog. I am the same way you are and have even found myself with my finger on the delete button. 🙂

  6. March 23, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Kim, I have made my journey very public both online and in my “real world” and I too felt the pressure to perform and felt like I would let people down if I didn’t do well. I even talked to Jason about how I didn’t like when people said I was an inspiration to them. I felt like if I gained my weight back or what not they would be let down. I like how you said just see them as they are a support system and not a pressure. I was talking to a few people that said I am an inspiration to them and asked them what it was that they saw in me that inspired them. They said it was that I was so open with my journey through the good and the bad. I’m real life to them and that they love that about me and that I will succeed because of my attitude not because of the numbers on the scale. They told me even if I gain all my weight back I will still inspire them because they know I will get back up, dust myself off, and start over. So like you said no pressure. I’m just being myself, sharing my journey, and being supported along the way. We need support, but ultimately we are the ones that have to do the hard work.

  7. 12 maggieapril
    March 23, 2009 at 7:29 am

    That’s why online blogs and communities (by which I mean positive, supportive ones – not negative and critical ones) are so important! It’s nice to know that others face the same struggles and fears and obstacles that we do. We aren’t failures, we’re humans. And if others can succeed so can we!

    • 13 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 7:43 am

      So right maggieapril. If others struggle, we have permission so to speak to live with our own struggles and if others make it to the finish we have permission to believe we can too. 🙂

  8. March 23, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Melissa, I have not been so public with my family. And even amongst my great freinds, only about 20 people know about my blog and only about 3 have full permission to dig in and ask me hard questions about where I am REALLY at. THrough Facebook, well a ton know that I am doing something….but not exactly what.SO it is a mixed bag. I get teh question about what the heck is inspiring, especially when I feel so crazy at times. BUt what I have concluded is this…people, humans, are longing for intimate, real connections with people…and when they see someone living out there life that way, showing the good, teh bad, and the ugly, it inspires them that the kind of relationships they long for is possible…and maybe jsut maybe one day they will have the coursge to do the same. People want to be known…and they want to really know others.

    • 15 run4change
      March 23, 2009 at 7:57 am

      Kim, to add to what you are saying….. I think people (myself included) yearn for real stuff. We all know how to deal with the surface stuff. We know all kinds of people on the surface but people don’t tend to share “real”.

      “Hi! How are you today?” Tends to not be a real question nor is the answer that we give tend to be real. Even in this blog world where we really don’t “know” each other, we connect in the realm of “real” because it is deep calling out to deep. We have deep places and we want to know that others have those deep meaningful places to. I might post on this. HAHAHA

  9. March 23, 2009 at 8:09 am

    LOL…HA I was thinking the same! I am right there with you! Deep calling out to Deep….I like that!!!

  10. March 23, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Tell you what…I will think it through….put it to words…then send it to you…and you can decide!


Leave a Reply

