25
Mar
09

A little late, but worth the read/look!

 This pic was taken last summer when I started my landscaping project.  As I have said before, I removed enough lawn to reduce my mowing time by 1.5 hours.  The pic below was taken after I used a sod cutter to remove the lawn and then I rolled it up.  After that, I had to load a tractor with the rolls and move it to another giant heep of landscape refuse.  I was all happy about removing the sod but once I got it to this point I got serverely over taken with anxiety because the job was just to huge.  I did it though.  The picture below is the former view of the screening bed on the property line between me and my neighboor.  Removing the sod gave the lawn and bed a very nice informal flowing shape.  By the way, those rolls weigh around 60 lbs each.  It took me about a week to remove all the rolls from all the sod that I cut.  This picture shows only about half of the sod that I removed but it is a great demonstration of the vast amount of rolled sod.

sod removal landscape

 So below is the pic I put up the other day.  This was taken from pretty much the same view point as the above pic.  What a difference it made.  Along with the beautiful trees I will plant several Osier Willows, Red and Yellow twig dogwoods, and lost of Spireas.  I will leave most of the shrub plantings to wait until fall because I have no way to easily water this area at the moment.  It is to far from the house to water by hand.  The trees will be fine but the shrubs would need more careful watering.

 

10 ft. cedars are now planted.

10 ft. cedars are now planted.

14 Responses to “A little late, but worth the read/look!”


  1. March 25, 2009 at 4:13 am

    Looks great!! Keep posting pics. Happy Wednesday!!

  2. 3 maggieapril
    March 25, 2009 at 4:37 am

    Holy Cow! That looks way too much like work to me. You must have a lot more hours in a day in your part of the country! We only get 24 where I live. 🙂

  3. March 25, 2009 at 5:06 am

    You are a busy busy boy!

  4. March 25, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Again – your yard is HUGE. And you know people here in Texas would wonder why the heck you’re getting rid of all that grass since most of the state struggles to keep their lawns green as it is. LOL That said, I really like your plans and it’s looking beautiful.

    I’d love to see what you’re planning for your stone cross. When I worked at a camp in Colorado, we had several outdoor chapels tucked away in the mountains. After I broke my foot, I couldn’t participate in the hiking so I spent many hours at the outdoor chapels(had a golf cart to get me around) planning lessons and getting in some much needed quiet time. I love your idea of having an outdoor chapel at home.

    • 8 run4change
      March 25, 2009 at 5:35 am

      Thanks Amy. I will have a before and after picture of the cross scupture area. It will be a neat transformation. I just wanted the cross there to remind me that I have been set free by Jesus from drugs, alcohol, food, etc.

  5. March 25, 2009 at 5:34 am

    First I have to say that I think your home is absolutely beautiful and I LOVE the land! Seeing these pictures reminds me of the beauty of NOT living in the city. Miss that! And way to go on all your hard work because that job alone of the sod is pretty huge.
    Also thanks for that video link that the kids from your old school did. I think WAY more people should see it! And I just wanted to say that I know I didn’t get my entry in on time for the Why I felt Great here contest but I finally decided on that moment and you if you are interested I added it to my blog.
    Have a great day!!!

    • 10 run4change
      March 25, 2009 at 5:37 am

      That is awesome Kari. If it is ok with you I would like to link to it so others can have the opportunity to see it.

  6. 11 ladlam
    March 25, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Wow Jason, I’m extremely jealous of your yard. So much open space, and such a lush lawn. It reminds me of the sort of old British estates you see in movies. Keep up the awesome work!

    • 12 run4change
      March 25, 2009 at 7:28 pm

      Thanks ladlam. That is about the best compliment that I could get about my yard. That really made me feel good. Thanks man.

  7. 13 athleticme
    March 25, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    I was thinking just the other day that I need to rent a sod cutter and make some more flower beds and hardscapes around my home. Yours looks great — but that also looks like a LOT of work! I’m going to have to see if I can bribe my brothers to help me.

    • 14 run4change
      March 26, 2009 at 4:51 am

      Let em tell you Athlete, using the sod cutter itself is a big chore. They are hard to stear. They work great and would beat the heck out of using a shovel to form your beds. The are just bulky


Leave a Reply

