01
Apr
09

My weigh-in results and a botched fire pit job!!

weigh-in-002As most of you know, yesterday was my day to weigh-in at weight watchers.  I didn’t want to go but I remembered what happened the last time I did not go to my meeting.  I compromised with myself and decided to go the meeting and just weigh-in but not stay.  I wanted to get home to work on my fire pit area really really bad.  I also did not watch the biggest loser this week.

Anyways, I went to my meeting hoping that I would at least stay the same since I have not been real great on program as far as counting goes but I have been eating healthy foods and exercising in significant amounts.  I stepped on the scale and it read 181.4 lbs.  I lost 3 pounds since my last weigh-in.  I was shocked, happy, and in a bit of disbelief.   Maybe I did good or maybe the scale was messed up.  HAHAHA.  Who knows!

After the weigh-in I went home to build the fire pit.  This was fun for me but somehow my 5 foot wide pit ended up only being 2 feet wide when I was finished.  Now I am going to dig it completely up and redo it all.  I wanted it to be 4 feet wide on the inside of the fire pit.  This made me extremely disappointed and overwhelmed with the amount of work I did and would have to do to redo it.  So I am pissed about my fire pit situation right now.  I am just glad that one day I will be sitting there enjoying the fruits of my labor without remembrance of putting it in and then digging it up.  Here are some pictures of the present fire pit before I dig it up.

Fire pit landscaping

This is the finished product and now I am digging it all up

This is the finished product and now I am digging it all up

33 Responses to “My weigh-in results and a botched fire pit job!!”


  1. April 1, 2009 at 9:49 am

    First – congrats on the weight loss! Awesome job!

    Bummer about the fire pit, but you’ll be glad you redid it to make it exactly how you want. And you won’t forget about all the hard work digging it up, that’ll just make it even more enjoyable. 😉

    Plus it’s just more calories you’ll burn off. lol

  2. April 1, 2009 at 10:31 am

    ooh, i love fire pits! i can’t wait to see it once you have it how you want it.

    good job on the weight loss – it’s so strange how our bodies work. they often don’t do what we want when we want it, but then surprise us other times.

    • 4 run4change
      April 1, 2009 at 10:36 am

      Yes the ‘ol bodies tend to give us a surprise now and then. Last night happened to be on the good side of surprises. HAHAHA 🙂

  3. 5 RobFitness
    April 1, 2009 at 11:13 am

    What a great job in both departments, my friend. I love the way your fire pit looks and you have to stop being so hard on yourself. You know it’s the perfectionist side of you that is saying that it doesn’t look good. The work that you are doing is awesome and it shows in your WI as well.

    • 6 run4change
      April 1, 2009 at 11:14 am

      HA! That is funny Rob. You are right. Not only does it show up in my yard but also at my weigh in. HAAHAHAHA

  4. 7 Kim
    April 1, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Dear Sir,

    I would like to acknowledge your weight loss! I am not surprised. Especially since I have been watching your landscaping efforts from afar andknowing your running schedule. Ummm you have been hefting/lifting/moving TREES, you moved and stacjed all those rocks for your bench…you dug a huge hole for a firepit and moved more giant rocks and now will be doing it again! Sir, you might not have been on point with eating….but dude…look at your activity level!

    • 8 run4change
      April 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm

      Thanks Kim. I appreciate it. It is a lot of activity and I since I never count the AP’s I get from yard work…… Thank you very much for being so kind.

  5. 9 afatgirl
    April 1, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Congrats on the weight loss!! It’s always nice to see those kinds of numbers; even more so when you aren’t expecting them!!!

    Big time bummer on the fire pit; but think about the calories you’ll burn redoing it! *lol*

    -Jacque

  6. 11 Chris
    April 1, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    What a great surprise! But to be honest I think that you can be proud of yourself. I mean not only are you building a very sweet looking fire pit, but all that manual labor paid off with a great weight loss. Pat your self on the back…counting isn’t the end all be all in the game :).

  7. April 1, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Wahooooooo! Did you hear me all the way from Illinois? Now I’m doing a little happy dance for you. Go Jason, Go Jason, you rocked your weigh in, go Jason.

    Awesome yard work as well. I’m with Michelle on your redoing it cause if you don’t every time you sit there you will be thinking about how you wish it were bigger, so even though it will be pain in your patootey it will be well worth it.

    • 14 run4change
      April 2, 2009 at 5:11 am

      I am really getting frustrated about redoing the firepit. My wife wants it one way (a very difficult way) and my dream was to have it another way which luckily is easier. Conused, mad, etc… Thanks for the comment Melissa

  8. 15 cwcomment
    April 1, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Good for you for making it to your weigh in! I’ve always found it useful to use the power of small in my diet= take it one day at a time, one meeting at a time, one workout at a time. You just have to think about eating right from the time you start your day until that evening, you just have to be on that crazy treadmill for 30 minutes of your day!

    • 16 run4change
      April 2, 2009 at 5:12 am

      Nice comment CW. It is true that one step at a time will get us where we want to go. There is no other way 🙂

  9. April 1, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Great job on the loss. It sure looks like you are getting some great work done in the yard lately, so don’t be too hard on yourself about the botched fire pit.

    • 18 run4change
      April 2, 2009 at 5:17 am

      I don’t think I am being to hard on myself, I think that my wife is being hard on me about it. HAHAHA 🙂

  10. April 1, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Congrats on those three unexpected pounds! I love our firepit, it’s small though but we don’t need a permit where we are to use it. Some places make you buy a permit then only let you have it in use till 10pm. I love our area because they’re quite lenient on many of those issues of what you do in your own yard.

    I can’t wait to see the final pics!

    • 20 run4change
      April 2, 2009 at 5:14 am

      Forthelife- When I bought my house it had a HUGE fire pit but it was not located in the place that my plans calls for. It was also square. But it was like 8 feet by 4 feet or something like that.

  11. 21 donna
    April 1, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Yea Jason Im so proud of you for your ww loss!See you worry for nothing my friend.Now the fire pit thing I dont think that would be very good out here in this desert,but you sure did a great job and looks like you will have a really nice time sitting out there with it.

  12. April 1, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Great job on the loss!! It’s crazy how our bodies work sometimes 🙂

    Too bad about the fire pit, but it will look spectacular when you get it just the way you want it!!

    • 24 run4change
      April 2, 2009 at 5:15 am

      Yes it will Sara and thanks for your encouragement. Out bodies sometimes have a mind of their own

  13. April 2, 2009 at 4:53 am

    You are a quintessential DUDE! If I had done all that work, I would start roasting the marshmallows and get over it. Of course I would also be sitting there seething because the fire was so tiny, so you’re the smart one for sure. Chalk it up to more calories burned! Great loss this week, thumbs up bro!

  14. 27 Shannon
    April 2, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Great job on the weight loss!! That is fantastic! Your landscaping pictures are incredible, do you hire out? hahaha The fire pit will look great, just look at the redo as a small bump in the road..you know like our weight loss ups and downs!!

  15. 29 Sheila
    April 2, 2009 at 10:28 am

    As a “virtual friend” I have a severe case of “FOMO” (Fear of missing out)…Your fire pit will be worth every ounce of sweat you put into it and will be the site of many wonderful summer memories. Congrats on the surprise SV.

  16. 31 AmyJoGo
    April 2, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    man those rocks are big! lol for some reason I wasn’t expecting them to be so…what’s the word?…bulging. I can definitely see how your hole got smaller as you put the rocks in.

    Congrats on your weightloss!!!

    • 32 run4change
      April 3, 2009 at 4:20 am

      Thanks amy and the rocks are pretty good sized. My back muscles were sore after doing the wall the pit.


Leave a Reply

