06
Apr
09

Weight watchers and running weekend recap.

Winston Churchill

Winston Churchill

I did not eat on program this weekend at all.  I did do my run though.  I am hoping that my run cancels out my bad eating for the last two days.  The past week at work has been stressful to the max and it really took a tool on me.  I was also stressed out about things I wanted to get done at home but felt that I did not have enough time to do them.

Now to the long run.  I had to go into work on Sunday which sucked but at least I just had to show up and open the building.  Then I got to take off on my run while stuff was getting done.  I ran 35 miles on Sunday.  It was not easy to do this run.  I woke up Sunday morning with sore legs and back from working in the fire pit for the last couple of days.  My legs were tired from the very start of the run.  I never gave up though and the run took me around 5 hrs and 45 minutes to finish.  I was happy with that.  Since I was running in the town were my work is I had to do a lot of repetitive loops and that made the run pretty difficult mentally.  It was not easy to keep passing up my truck and not just call it a day.  My foot gave me no problems either.  Overall it was a true ultra-running experience laden with lots of physical and mental challenges.

The day before I ate bad with the excuse that I was going to burn it all off in my long run the next day.  So what did I eat?  I went to my old evil stand by of some donuts and I also ate a fast food bacon cheeseburger.  I have not had one of those for about 2 years.  It hurt my stomach a lot once I was finish and it was kind of disappointing in the end.  Before my long run I ate 1 banana and some coffee.  That is all I ate until about 3:30 Sunday afternoon.  As soon as the run was over I went home and mowed the lawn and sprayed for weeds so I never really wanted to eat anything because I was focused on getting a job done that really really needed to be done.  When I finally did eat, I had Caesar salad, two bread sticks, a small cup of chili, one cornbread muffin, macaroni and cheese, and a bowl of ice cream with nuts on it.  Later Sunday night I had pizza and chocolate covered peanuts for dinner.  That was it for the day as far as eating went.

I slept like a baby.  I am a little sore today but not really to bad at all.  Hopefully I won’t be more sore tomorrow.  I am usually the most sore on day two after a hard workout.

8 Responses to “Weight watchers and running weekend recap.”


  1. 1 Kim
    April 6, 2009 at 5:53 am

    I am beyond impressed…have not been able to get the motivtion to go run for even one mile for a week now…the kicker is…if I owuld jsut stay on track,… tomorrows weigh in could be a milestone for me…half a pound from 50…and for some reason….grrrr

    • 2 run4change
      April 6, 2009 at 5:58 am

      Sometimes it is easy to get hung up at a milestone but you will break through I know it. 🙂

  2. April 6, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Good for your Jason! You know it’s funny you mention the loops because yesterday I absolutely refused to do a loop for the reasons you mentioned. I find that those loops sometimes are good, but mentally it is harder not to just stop and say good enough. Great job on the 35 miles! You’re awesome!

  3. April 6, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Wow great job on the run! Last week was a bad eating week for me too, but today is a new day. 🙂

    I’m always most sore 2 days after as well. Today my right quad is extra sore because I ran my first 5k Saturday and I ran it faster than expected. It’s a good sore feeling though. 😉

  4. 7 Lara
    April 6, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Awesome job on your 35 miler!

    I know what you mean about the cheeseburger. My son had a gift card to Wendys. I hadn’t had a bacon cheeseburger since going on plan so I figured, what the heck? Blech. Afterwards, I wondered why I had ever liked them.

    If only I could get my body to have that response to ice cream…

    • 8 run4change
      April 6, 2009 at 12:51 pm

      HAHAHAHA. That is funny Lara. I wish my body had that reaction to chips and donuts. When eat chips and donuts I actually feel good. HAHAHA 🙂


Leave a Reply

