07
Apr
09

Bit of a struggle on WW.

Caped MaxI have been having a hard time with my eating since Saturday.  I know it is because in my mind I have given myself permission in a way because of the 35 mile long run that I did.  However, this is no excuse for not counting or eating healthy.  I count really good all day until I get home.  When I get home I jump right into working and don’t eat anything.  Then, around 8 o’clock I eat.  I have been eating my kind of regular dinner stuff but also snacking on junky stuff too.  I have my weigh-in tonight and am not thinking that it is going to go very well. 

I am also going to where jeans at my weigh-in for the first time since I started Weight Watchers.  This freaks me out but I figure it is about time I stop worrying about what clothes I wear to my meeting.  Anyways, chocolate coverd peanuts have been the evil predetor to my healthy efforts these last couple of days.

16 Responses to “Bit of a struggle on WW.”


  1. April 7, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you have been having a hard time. Chocolate covered peanuts…yum! I always have to be wearing the same thing too to weigh in; good for you for deciding to get over it!

    I agree with you that exercising is not an excuse not to count or eat healthfully. I have been thinking the past few days about my first marathon coming up…in 2 weeks…and wondering how I will handle the eating. I know I will need fuel the night before, and I know I will be starving the day of the run, so do I go crazy with trying to stay inside my “weight-loss limits” in terms of calories? Or do I relax for those 2 days and just eat to fuel my body. I’m scared if I do that that I will just be giving myself permission to eat whatever I want because after all, I’m running 26.2 miles! Does that make any sense? I’m curious to know if you’ve run into that and how you handle that with all the miles you put in! 🙂

    • 2 run4change
      April 8, 2009 at 4:37 am

      Sara, there really is no need to eat a lot the day before. It is actually more important to make sure that you eat your normal routine meals so that your stomach is all good on race day. After the race you can eat more of what you want. You are making sense though. I go in waves, Now, though, most of the time I eat my normal stuff no matter what I do for running. It is just not good for me to have a free for all because I know that I eat more calories than I burn when I do, even if I have burned 4000 calories. My food choices in a “free for all” are very high in fat and calories.

  2. 3 donna
    April 7, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Good luck jason,see you have crossed another threshold in the weight loss world,you can now weigh with anything on that you want instead of getting naked like you use to,ha,ha.Please quit being so hard on yourself,youre not going to wake up tommorrow and be overweight again so dont worry,just be mindful of what you eat and it will all be ok.

    • 4 run4change
      April 8, 2009 at 4:38 am

      Sorry to say Donna that I did not even go to my WI. I just skipped it. My two partners for weight watchers did not go and I just decided to stay at home and work in my yard.

  3. April 8, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Hey Jason,

    I was just wanting to stop by and say hi. Even if you have a bad weigh in you know why and what you need to do. Remember it’s just a plot on your journey to quote a great blogger I know. 😉 Keep us posted. We’ve all been there and had the same feelings before a weigh in. I hope it went well. I still wear the same thing to weigh in every week, so I understand worrying about the jeans. You’ll just have to wear the same ones from now on, so don’t worry about it you’ll be fine. If not, you pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and get back in the game.

    We all care about you.
    Talk to you soon,
    Melissa

    • 6 run4change
      April 8, 2009 at 4:38 am

      THanks for your encouragement Melissa. i did not go to my meeting but I am ok with that since I am really supposed to be going once per month.

  4. April 8, 2009 at 5:27 am

    I feel your pain. After a great 5lb loss last week, it’s like I just lost all my willpower with the lbs and have had a super bad week. No exercise, no weekend journaling and no evening journaling. I don’t want to weigh in tomorrow but know that I will in the end. I want to say part of it has to do with my regular leader not being at the meeting last week (and won’t be there tomorrow night either) but in the end, it’s me. I don’t understand why I do this to myself.

    • 8 run4change
      April 8, 2009 at 5:42 am

      It is funny how that works. I don’t want or like to go when my normal leader is not there either. I ended up not going to my meeting after all.

  5. April 8, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I think I’ve decided that I’m just going to trick myself into believing that I gave myself this past week off so I don’t guilt myself into a binge. Do you ever binge out of guilt or trick yourself into thinking you’ve taken time off so you don’t feel as guilty?

  6. 11 afatgirl
    April 8, 2009 at 9:44 am

    I see in another comment that you did skip the WI? If it were me, I think I may have done the same. After all, you’ve come so far and to see a little bit of a slide back would probably bum me out!

    I really admire your honesty. That you show there are still struggles, despite your running. Despite your excellent loss. Despite all the healthy changes you’ve made. There’s still struggles.

    • 12 run4change
      April 8, 2009 at 10:00 am

      THere certainly is still struggles. I just put up my post about not making it to my meeting. I have been very busy lately so posting has been difficult. Thanks for your comment and I agree with you all the way.

  7. 13 donna
    April 8, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    You always tell me thats ok not to go sometimes,besides youre a lifer now and you just have to stay in your range.I hope to be a lifer someday.

    • 14 run4change
      April 8, 2009 at 7:55 pm

      THanks Donna. I really love the simplicity of your encouragement tonight. It was a great blessing. I feel good now after reading your comment.

  8. 15 SAM
    May 4, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Howdy Jason ~ Wanted to say hello. I have still be reading your blog…just havent be commenting. So much going on in my life right now…just thought I would say hello and keep posting ~ you really do help lots of people. Hugs from Texas. SAM


Leave a Reply

