09
Apr
09

100 miler. Think I am headed that way again.

rocky-raccoon-100

Well, after my wife told me that she thought I should try and achieve my dream of running 100 miles the other day, I started considering it again.  Things are going to be different this time though.  I have a great coach who is super encouraging.  He also uses research based training to get his runs to their goals.  The great part about this type of training is that it does not require the vast amount of miles and time that I had been doing previously.  So with that said……………….

I AM GOING TO PLAN ON RUNNING 100 MILES IN FEBRUARY.

I will run in the Rocky Raccon 100 Mile Trail Run.  It is a 20 mile loop that you do 5 times.  The cut-off time to be considered a finisher is 30 hours.  So I will be running from 6 am Saturday all the way to around 11  am on Sunday.  Pretty amazing huh!!!!  I know it may sound like pure lunacy to most of you, but this is a dream I have had for around 10 years or so.  It all started when I read in a running magazine about people who ran 50, 100, or more miles in one pop.  I had never heard of such a thing and thought that this would kill a person.  But it did not kill them.  It changed them forever because they did something that few people on earth will ever do nor even want to do.  RUN 100 MILES.  I gave it up last year to spend more time with my wife but now with the new training, I will only have to do really long runs once per month.  One weekend a month is for running and that only for the next 8 months starting in May.  The 40 miler will be a good base for me to start training so I will start as soon as the Strolling Jim 40 miler is over.

I just thought I would share this with you all

24 Responses to “100 miler. Think I am headed that way again.”


  1. 1 Shannon
    April 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    I think that is great Jason. I think you should go for it!! I have decided and will be doing the PM in October. I am also planning to do a trail marathon in Sept! I feel you only live once, and so go forward and conquer your dreams!! Good luck on your training for your 40 miler, you will do great!!

  2. April 9, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    I think I’d do an Ironman before I’d ever run 100 miles 😉 but what an incredible goal! Good luck! And wow, that is so sweet that your wife is supporting your dream of doing so! (I don’t know if kids are a part of all y’all’s future, but I highly recommend achieving time-intensive dreams like this one before, rather than after.)

    • 4 run4change
      April 9, 2009 at 5:56 pm

      YEs pubs, that is the main reason why she just said go for it now. We will be having kids just after

  3. 5 afatgirl
    April 9, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Wow. Simply wow.

    I have never heard of such an event! But it sounds like such an impressive feat! I have no doubt you can do it; especially if you train properly!!

    Makes me feel kind of like a slacker with my measely goal of a 5k! (Although I know my goal is still a great goal for me!!)

  4. April 9, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    I do think it’s crazy 🙂

    BUT – congrats on making the decision to do this! If it’s a dream of yours and this is the right time, I say go for it!

  5. April 9, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    You’re my hero Jason! I don’t think you are crazy. I think 100 miles is awesome! You can do it!

  6. 11 Kathy
    April 9, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I have decided I have a new addiction…..your blog!!! ha I check it often to see what you’ve added.

    Your 100 miles goal is so awesome! I’m so proud of you.

    Kathy

    • 12 run4change
      April 9, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      THank you Kathy, that is so nice of you. HAHAHA Sorry I had to bring into addiction though 🙂

  7. April 9, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I think that’s a great goal! Good luck!

    • 14 run4change
      April 9, 2009 at 7:29 pm

      Thanks just run. I checked out your blog and I really like it. Hopefully you will stop by more often. The readers here are great. Thanks for your encouragement. It means a lot. See ya later.

  8. April 9, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Wow! That is awesome, Jason!

  9. April 10, 2009 at 5:14 am

    I KNOW you will finish it and with a time that you’re pleased with too.

    Proud of you! And your wife is amazing to sacrifice precious time with you over the next 8 months!

    ~amy

  10. 19 geneticfreak
    April 10, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    This is awesome Jason. I will be lifting you up in prayer.

    • 20 run4change
      April 10, 2009 at 6:38 pm

      Thanks man. I really appreciate that you stopped by and left a comment. It means a lot to me.

  11. 21 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 10:08 am

    I just wanted to say that I am proud of you for taking on this next goal. I look forward to hearing how your training goes along with how the run goes, come February. So were is the 100 mile run. Hopefully some place warm. Cause February weather up your way can be quite nasty and not make for an easy run. I am sure that you’ll be quite prepared for this and I wish I could be there cheering you on all the way.
    By the way I also wanted to say how beautiful your fire pit area looks. It looks like a picture out of Home and Garden. That’s just another great accomplishment of yours. So what comes next with your yard projects?

    • 22 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 10:33 am

      Thanks Rob. The 1 miler is around Houston Texas and the weather is usually agreeable for the race. The night gets cold I hear and i will definitely be running during the night. I bet I will be grumpy after running for 28 or more hours. HAHA

      Thanks also about the fire pit. My next project, of which I am almost finished now, is the cross sculpture area. I have laid flagstone down for the area now. Today I hope to get three boulder and put them in this area too. After that I will figure out how I want the cross to look and put it in. So that is my next “thing” for the yard. Then after that I have several options.

  12. 23 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 11:01 am

    I guess I am now catching up on all those miss comments that I have made 🙂 Ha ha.. It sounds like a wonderful sanctuary your yard is going to be once it is done. This cross project sounds awesome and I look forward to seeing how it all turns out. Now remember just becasue your burning all those calories moving boulders it doesn’t mean you can splurge tonight. remember to count ALL your points. Just some friendly advice.
    This run still amazes me. How do you dress for a run like this, especially since it takes you well over 24 hours and the weather will sure change. if you get to cold how do you add clothes and vice versa… I am sure you’ll have it all figured out come race day.

    • 24 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 11:05 am

      Well Rob, I have not figured out all the details yet. But I know that I will have to bring different clothes to change into and also shoes. I will change my shoes probably at least on the 50 mile mark. There will be aid every 6 miles or so and at those stations will be a bag that I pack with all my necessities for clothing, blisters, food, etc. It is going to be a huge adventure and a big part of the training is dialing in all the energy management of running that long. Training will be a lot of experimenting with clothes, head lamps, flash lights, food, ways to eat food, drink and electrolytes.


Leave a Reply

