09
Apr
09

Winning the biggest loser. How does one pull it off?

the-biggest-loserThe biggest loser is more dramatic as far as game play goes than I have ever seen it.  I was either totally enmeshed in the emotion of the contestants losing weight in previous seasons that I did not notice the game play or this season is over the top on this aspect.  It is highly interesting to me being a psychology graduate to see people evolve and show their true colors as the pressure builds.  I still have to say that I totally love Kristen because she seems to have the best strategy in mind:  LOSE WEIGHT AND STAY ABOVE THE YELLOW LINE.  Maybe she has deceived me into thinking this but it appears that her attitude is right one.

Wow!!  That is all I have to say about Ron and the cousins.  What a firey battle they were in over the week.  And although I just don’t like Tara, she STILL is proving to be the contestant with the most “fight” in her.  It is great to watch her determination.  I did have to laugh though when Tara’s partner was so wanting to have the power  but when the power came she was just not able to handle it because she seemed to forget that with authority and power comes a lot of responsiblity.  You call the shots, you get the blame. HAHAHA 

I am interested to see how it all works out.  What do you all think?

10 Responses to “Winning the biggest loser. How does one pull it off?”


  1. April 9, 2009 at 10:11 am

    The game play this week was definitely over the top, and you are right, Kristen was the smart one. Ron is a sleazebag. I’ve seen that from the start. Also Helen is a manipulator. I wish she had gone home this week. I still love Tara – we’re on opposing sides with that one. LOL. That’s okay, I still *heart* you, Jason. You rock. Hey, did you notice how “sugar drunk” Tara got after all those sugar calories? It was strange to watch. I think it’s really interesting to watch this all unfold. The bottom line is that if you work hard to lose weight and lose the most percentage of weight loss, you will win. That’s all that counts. Another blog I read interviewed Jillian Michaels and quoted her as saying this season was the “season from hell”. I think my favorite part of this episode was when the two trainers teamed together and pushed the heck out of all the contestants for them giving into all that temptation.

  2. April 9, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I think there is a lot of game play that goes on that they don’t show. I think it was worse, however, last season. I love Tara; sorry, I’m rooting for her. She has got drive, desire, and even if she doesn’t win, she has proven to be a strong person, not just competitor. My impression of Kirstin is that she’s not as great as she makes out to be (me thinks you’ve been deceived, in other words). There’s something about her that I would be on the look out for her. I’ve thought Ron needed to go weeks ago; I really wish they had sent him packing last week when they had the opportunity.

    I do think the kudos goes to the producers of the show in keeping the “game” out of the episodes as much as possible. I mean, really the episodes are focused around the healthy habits, lifestyle changes, and challenges; they do stay away, for the most part, from the alliances, backstabbing, etc… But I’m sure sometimes they can’t get away from it (like this week).

    • 4 run4change
      April 9, 2009 at 12:54 pm

      THanks Jennifer. It is funny how much flack I get about not liking Tara. I just don’t but as I have siad, she is a mighty strong one indeed. That is great. Maybe I am deceived about Kristen, but I hope not. 🙂 I imagine that the game play is far far more intense then they let on and they do always try to bring it back to the reality that health is key.

  3. 5 afatgirl
    April 9, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I hate the game play. It takes so much away from such a good thing.

  4. April 10, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Jason, it’s you and me both that don’t like Tara. I have not liked her from the beginning. She was very rude to her teammate and very demeaning and that is what turned me off. I thought the temptation was great. People were such idiots. Kristen had the right idea that the best way to have the power is to stay above the yellow line. I have and always will watch BL, but this one is a little hard to stomach. Although, I will never dislike a contestant as much as I disliked Vicki last season. I was so glad that she DID NOT win. Talk about the game playing. I think she was the worst and I would be interested to see if she really makes the change for good or if she is one of the ones that the weight creeps back up on. Here’s to next week’s show. Cheers.

    • 8 run4change
      April 10, 2009 at 11:25 am

      Meepa- Totally agree about Vicki. Eww she made me mad while I watched the show. Man!! That is also the same reason I don’t like Tara. I got turned off and there is nothing turning me back on now. I will also always watch the show. I looooooooooooooooooooooooooove it. 🙂

  5. 9 Kim
    April 10, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I finally pulled a Jason and sownloaded it onto ITUnes…(had a funeral thing Tues night). Still lov eKristen…I really would like to think that if I were ever on the show that I would focus more on being above the yellow line than what might happen if I fall below…but yet, don’t want to come across as crazy competetive as Tara…as much as I love Kristen…during the telling of what happened to Bob and Jillian, she came across as a little self-righteous…like…look what they did…still lvoe her, but wouldnt want to come across that way either….but what can you do when you dont control teh editing…I am sure they all have had their ugly moments that NBC capitalizes on!

    • 10 run4change
      April 10, 2009 at 6:38 pm

      You are right Kim, we ALL have our ugly moments. Thank God the camera isn’t there to catch mine. Just me and God.


Leave a Reply

